• January 29, 2020, 06:55:15 AM
  • Welcome, Guest
Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

News:

This Forum Beta is ONLY for registered owners of D-Link products in the USA for which we have created boards at this time.

Author Topic: Base Station  (Read 3798 times)

brwebster614

  • Level 1 Member
  • *
  • Posts: 3
Base Station
« on: August 31, 2013, 09:03:57 PM »

Hey Guys,

I was recently given a DGL 4500 from my pops. I had an idea to use it as a base station and turn my previous router (Netgear WNR2000v3) in to a wireless repeater.

Do you guys know if this is possible?
Logged

FurryNutz

  • Poweruser
  •   ▲
    ▲ ▲
  • *****
  • Posts: 48252
  • D-Link Global Forum Moderator
    • Router Troubleshooting
Re: Base Station
« Reply #1 on: September 01, 2013, 08:58:53 AM »

You mean as a wired access point to a main host router?
If so, yes it can be:
Turning a router into an AP.

Also:
Bridge Mode vs Relay vs Acess Point (AP) / Routers vs Dedicated Access Points (AP)
Logged
Cable:200mb/10Mb>NetGear C7800>DIR-882>DGS-1100>HP 24pt Gb Switch. COVR-3902/2202/1203,DIR-2680,890L,882,880L,868L,DNR-202L,DNS-345x2,DCS-933L,936L and 960L.
Go Here>Router Troubleshooting

brwebster614

  • Level 1 Member
  • *
  • Posts: 3
Re: Base Station
« Reply #2 on: September 01, 2013, 09:05:58 AM »

No I don't want to the Netgear router to be wired to the DLink router. I was hoping there was a way to have it receive a wireless feed from the Dlink router, and kick out either wireless acces/wired access in another room. I don't have the ability to wire the two routers together.
Logged

FurryNutz

  • Poweruser
  •   ▲
    ▲ ▲
  • *****
  • Posts: 48252
  • D-Link Global Forum Moderator
    • Router Troubleshooting
Re: Base Station
« Reply #3 on: September 01, 2013, 09:21:55 AM »

Is the 4500 your main host router?
You'll need to contact NetGear support and find out if that unit supports repeating, if it does, they'll have the info.
If it does, then you'll just need to configure the NG to connect to the wireless SSID name that comes from the 4500 is all I presume.
Logged
Cable:200mb/10Mb>NetGear C7800>DIR-882>DGS-1100>HP 24pt Gb Switch. COVR-3902/2202/1203,DIR-2680,890L,882,880L,868L,DNR-202L,DNS-345x2,DCS-933L,936L and 960L.
Go Here>Router Troubleshooting

brwebster614

  • Level 1 Member
  • *
  • Posts: 3
Re: Base Station
« Reply #4 on: September 01, 2013, 09:33:09 AM »

Yea the Netgear router works as a repeater.

Thanks for the info/help.
Logged

FurryNutz

  • Poweruser
  •   ▲
    ▲ ▲
  • *****
  • Posts: 48252
  • D-Link Global Forum Moderator
    • Router Troubleshooting
Re: Base Station
« Reply #5 on: September 01, 2013, 09:40:12 AM »

Let us know if you get it going. Good luck.
The 4500 is a great router man.
Logged
Cable:200mb/10Mb>NetGear C7800>DIR-882>DGS-1100>HP 24pt Gb Switch. COVR-3902/2202/1203,DIR-2680,890L,882,880L,868L,DNR-202L,DNS-345x2,DCS-933L,936L and 960L.
Go Here>Router Troubleshooting