• August 03, 2020, 11:26:47 AM
  • Welcome, Guest
Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

News:

This Forum Beta is ONLY for registered owners of D-Link products in the USA for which we have created boards at this time.

Pages: [1] 2 3

Author Topic: Port Forwarding DIR-815  (Read 18934 times)

TickTickBoom43

  • Level 1 Member
  • *
  • Posts: 22
Port Forwarding DIR-815
« on: July 28, 2013, 01:11:41 PM »

Hello everyone. I know there are probably thousands of topics about this but i need some help. I am trying to port forward cube world and as far as i know i am doing it correctly. Here is a picture of the ports i have forwarded.
https://fbcdn-sphotos-h-a.akamaihd.net/hphotos-ak-prn1/558472_303894916423993_1201335668_n.jpg


The ip is my ipv4 address from ip config. i have the schedule set to always and set to all and port 12345. I also have these ports allowed through windows firewall so i really dont know whats going on. please help!
Logged

FurryNutz

  • Poweruser
  •   ▲
    ▲ ▲
  • *****
  • Posts: 49027
  • D-Link Global Forum Moderator
    • Router Troubleshooting
Re: Port Forwarding DIR-815
« Reply #1 on: July 29, 2013, 07:23:01 AM »

Link>Welcome!
  • What Hardware version is your router? Look at sticker under router.
  • Link>What Firmware version is currently loaded? Found on the routers web page under status.
  • What region are you located?

Internet Service Provider and Modem Configurations
  • What ISP Service do you have? Cable or DSL?
  • What ISP Modem Mfr. and model # do you have?
  • What ISP Modem service link speeds UP and Down do you have?
  • Check ISP MTU requirements, Cable is usually 1500, DSL is around 1492 down to 1472. Call the ISP and ask. Link>Checking MTU Values
  • For DSL/PPPoE connections on the router, ensure that "Always ON" option is enabled.

Router and Wired Configurations
Some things to try: - Log into the routers web page at 192.168.0.1. Use IE, Opera or FF to manage the router.
  • Turn off ALL QoS or Disable Traffic Shaping (DIR only) GameFuel (DGL only and if ON.) options, Advanced/QoS or Gamefuel.
  • Turn off Advanced DNS Services if you have this option under Setup/Internet/Manual or under Setup/PARENTAL CONTROL/Set to>None: Static IP or Obtain Automatically From ISP.
  • Enable Use Unicasting (compatibility for some ISP DHCP Servers) under Setup/Internet/Manual.
  • Turn on DNS Relay under Setup/Networking. Link>Finding Faster DNS Addresses using Name Bench
  • Setup DHCP reserved IP addresses for all devices ON the router. Setup/Networking. This ensures each devices gets its own IP address when turned on and connected, eliminates IP address conflicts and helps in troubleshooting.
  • Ensure devices are set to auto obtain an IP address.
  • If IPv6 is an option on the router, select Local Connection Only or Disable IPv6 options under Setup/IPv6.
  • Set Firewall settings to Endpoint Independent for TCP and UDP under Advanced/Firewall.
  • Enable uPnP and Multi-cast Streaming under Advanced/Networking. Disable uPnP for testing Port Forwarding rules. Enable IPv6 Multi-cast Streaming for routers that have a Media Server option. Disable IPv6 Multi-cast Streaming if IPv6 or Media Server is not being used.
  • Turn off WISH, and WPS under Advanced.
  • WAN Port Speed set to Auto or specific speed? Some newer ISP modems support 1000Mb so manually setting to Gb speeds can be supported by the router. Advanced/Advanced Networking/WAN Port Speed
  • Set current Time Zone, Date and Time. Use an NTP Server feature. Tools/Time.



Ensure when you are testing ports that they are actively being used while you scan for port status or you can get false negatives.
Logged
"Nothing Funny about It...." We are not here to Impress anyone! You have a be a COMPETENT user first to under stand COMPETENT help!

TickTickBoom43

  • Level 1 Member
  • *
  • Posts: 22
Re: Port Forwarding DIR-815
« Reply #2 on: July 29, 2013, 10:48:23 AM »

My hardware version is A1 and my firmare version is 1.00 and i am in canada.

I believe i have DSL.
My up and down speed are in this pic: https://fbcdn-sphotos-c-a.akamaihd.net/hphotos-ak-frc1/998750_304394133040738_1986570607_n.jpg

i was using google chrome to manage the router, is that a problem?  let me try just going in in firefox.
WAN port speed set to auto.
i did disabe upnp for testing and still nothing

I am running my server while testing to see if the ports are open. Any other ideas? if you need any other pics just tell me.
Logged

FurryNutz

  • Poweruser
  •   ▲
    ▲ ▲
  • *****
  • Posts: 49027
  • D-Link Global Forum Moderator
    • Router Troubleshooting
Re: Port Forwarding DIR-815
« Reply #3 on: July 29, 2013, 11:13:24 AM »

What ISP Modem Mfr. and model # do you have?
Logged
"Nothing Funny about It...." We are not here to Impress anyone! You have a be a COMPETENT user first to under stand COMPETENT help!

TickTickBoom43

  • Level 1 Member
  • *
  • Posts: 22
Re: Port Forwarding DIR-815
« Reply #4 on: July 29, 2013, 11:22:54 AM »

Sorry to ask but how do i find this out?
Logged

TickTickBoom43

  • Level 1 Member
  • *
  • Posts: 22
Re: Port Forwarding DIR-815
« Reply #5 on: July 29, 2013, 11:28:52 AM »

my internet service provider is Xplornet communications i dont know how to find out my mfr and i dont know the model number sorry if i am annoying D:
Logged

FurryNutz

  • Poweruser
  •   ▲
    ▲ ▲
  • *****
  • Posts: 49027
  • D-Link Global Forum Moderator
    • Router Troubleshooting
Re: Port Forwarding DIR-815
« Reply #6 on: July 29, 2013, 11:31:39 AM »

Do you have the 815 connected to a modem unit next to the router or is there a modem box some place? We are attempting to find out the model number so we can determine if your DSL service and modem has a built in router already. This can and does effect how external routers and Port Forwarding work.
Logged
"Nothing Funny about It...." We are not here to Impress anyone! You have a be a COMPETENT user first to under stand COMPETENT help!

TickTickBoom43

  • Level 1 Member
  • *
  • Posts: 22
Re: Port Forwarding DIR-815
« Reply #7 on: July 29, 2013, 11:32:57 AM »

No its not connected to a modem only the router.
Logged

FurryNutz

  • Poweruser
  •   ▲
    ▲ ▲
  • *****
  • Posts: 49027
  • D-Link Global Forum Moderator
    • Router Troubleshooting
Re: Port Forwarding DIR-815
« Reply #8 on: July 29, 2013, 11:41:57 AM »

So the 815 is connected to a wall out let then?
Can you look at the routers web page, Status/Device Info/Wan Section, is there is a 192.168.0.# address in the WAN IP address field or something different? ie. ##.##.###.###?
Logged
"Nothing Funny about It...." We are not here to Impress anyone! You have a be a COMPETENT user first to under stand COMPETENT help!

TickTickBoom43

  • Level 1 Member
  • *
  • Posts: 22
Logged

TickTickBoom43

  • Level 1 Member
  • *
  • Posts: 22
Re: Port Forwarding DIR-815
« Reply #10 on: July 29, 2013, 11:50:10 AM »

yes it is in a wall outlet
Logged

FurryNutz

  • Poweruser
  •   ▲
    ▲ ▲
  • *****
  • Posts: 49027
  • D-Link Global Forum Moderator
    • Router Troubleshooting
Re: Port Forwarding DIR-815
« Reply #11 on: July 29, 2013, 12:02:13 PM »

Ok, I was affraid of that, your IP address ON the router is a private 192.168 address string this is why PF is NOT working. You need to get a hold of your ISP and see if they can help you get a public IP address, ##.##.###.### on the 815.

You are in a Link>Double NAT condition currently and PF will not work correctly. How NAT Works.
Logged
"Nothing Funny about It...." We are not here to Impress anyone! You have a be a COMPETENT user first to under stand COMPETENT help!

TickTickBoom43

  • Level 1 Member
  • *
  • Posts: 22
Re: Port Forwarding DIR-815
« Reply #12 on: July 29, 2013, 12:09:17 PM »

so what do i say to them? lol sorry but i am very new at this. how do i go about doing this?
Logged

TickTickBoom43

  • Level 1 Member
  • *
  • Posts: 22
Re: Port Forwarding DIR-815
« Reply #13 on: July 29, 2013, 12:39:44 PM »

Ok, I was affraid of that, your IP address ON the router is a private 192.168 address string this is why PF is NOT working. You need to get a hold of your ISP and see if they can help you get a public IP address, ##.##.###.### on the 815.

You are in a Link>Double NAT condition currently and PF will not work correctly. How NAT Works.

well looks like i'm screwed. The ony way to fix this is to purchase an extra $9.98 to get a static ip on my router thus negating the double NAT. Is there anything i can do about this??? please?
Logged

FurryNutz

  • Poweruser
  •   ▲
    ▲ ▲
  • *****
  • Posts: 49027
  • D-Link Global Forum Moderator
    • Router Troubleshooting
Re: Port Forwarding DIR-815
« Reply #14 on: July 29, 2013, 12:46:16 PM »

You'll need that public IP address to make PF work with this router.
Logged
"Nothing Funny about It...." We are not here to Impress anyone! You have a be a COMPETENT user first to under stand COMPETENT help!
Pages: [1] 2 3