Pages: [1]
  Print  
Author Topic: DLINK DIR 600 router does not connect to Internet  (Read 9827 times)
jigneshjain25
Level 1 Member
*
Posts: 3


« on: June 19, 2013, 11:11:52 AM »

I have a DSL cable connection and a dlink wifi router. The problem is that though the internet is available, the router is not connecting to the internet. I tried running wireless broadband by putting Internet wire in a LAN port on the wifi router, and then I am able to connect to Internet, But the router cannot connect on wifi, that is when i plugg Internet wire in the input port of the router.


I also checked the router settings on  192.168.0.1 and everything is correct.

Thank You
Logged
FurryNutz
Poweruser
  ▲
▲ ▲
*****
Posts: 27803


D-Link Global Forum Moderator


WWW
« Reply #1 on: June 19, 2013, 11:35:57 AM »

Link>Welcome!
  • What Hardware version is your router? Look at sticker under router.
  • Link>What Firmware version is currently loaded? Found on routers web page under status.
  • What region are you located?


Internet Service Provider and Modem Configurations
  • What ISP Service do you have? Cable or DSL?
  • What ISP Modem Mfr. and model # do you have?

Router and Wired Configurations
Some things to try: - Log into the routers web page at 192.168.0.1. Use IE, Opera or FF to manage the router.
  • Turn off ALL QoS or Disable Traffic Shaping (DIR only) GameFuel (DGL only and if ON.) options, Advanced/QoS or Gamefuel.
  • Turn off Advanced DNS Services if you have this option under Setup/Internet/Manual or under Setup/PARENTAL CONTROL/Set to>None: Static IP or Obtain Automatically From ISP.
  • Enable Use Unicasting (compatibility for some ISP DHCP Servers) under Setup/Internet/Manual.
  • Turn on DNS Relay under Setup/Networking. Link>Finding Faster DNS Addresses using Name Bench
  • Setup DHCP reserved IP addresses for all devices ON the router. Setup/Networking. This ensures each devices gets its own IP address when turned on and connected, eliminates IP address conflicts and helps in troubleshooting.
  • Ensure devices are set to auto obtain an IP address.
  • If IPv6 is an option on the router, select Local Connection Only or Disable IPv6 options under Setup/IPv6.
  • Set Firewall settings to Endpoint Independent for TCP and UDP under Advanced/Firewall.
  • Enable uPnP and Multi-cast Streaming under Advanced/Networking. Disable uPnP for testing Port Forwarding rules. Enable IPv6 Multi-cast Streaming for routers that have a Media Server option. Disable IPv6 Multi-cast Streaming if IPv6 or Media Server is not being used.
  • Turn off WISH, and WPS under Advanced.
  • WAN Port Speed set to Auto or specific speed? Some newer ISP modems support 1000Mb so manually setting to Gb speeds can be supported by the router. Advanced/Advanced Networking/WAN Port Speed
  • Set current Time Zone, Date and Time. Use an NTP Server feature. Tools/Time.
  • Check cable between Modem and Router, swap out to be sure. Link> Cat6 is recommended.

Wireless Configurations
Links>Wireless Installation Considerations and Managing Signal Congestion
  • Ensure the default (dlink) SSID name is changed. Can be anything and not something thats already in use by any neighboring WiFi routers. Under Setup/Wireless/Manual.
  • What wireless modes are you using?
  • 2.4Ghz Routers only: Try single mode G or N or mixed G and N?
  • Channel Width set for Auto 20/40Mhz or try 20Mhz only.
  • Try setting a manual Channel to a open or unused channel. 1, 6 or 11. 11 for single mode N if the channel is clear.
  • What security mode are you using? Preferred security is WPA-Personal. WPA2/AES Only. Some WiFi adapters don't support AES, so you might want to try TPIK only or Auto TPIK and AES.
  • What wireless devices do you have connected?
  • Any cordless house phones?
  • Any other WiFi routers in the area? Link> Use InSSIDer to find out. How many?
  • If you have any of theese options, Try turning off Short GI, WLAN Partition, HT 20/40 Co-exhistance and Extra Wireless Protection if you have it. Under Advanced/Advanced Wireless.
  • Enable WMM Enable Under Advanced/Advanced Wireless.

3rd Party Security Software Configurations
  • Turn off all anti virus and firewall programs on PC while testing. 3rd party firewalls are not generally needed when using routers as they are effective on blocking malicious inbound traffic.
  • Turn off all devices accept for one wired PC while testing.

Logged

Cable:50mb/3Mb>Motorola SB6180>DIR-815>HP 24pt Gb Switch. 3x4500s,DGL-5500,DIR-857,835,827,815,880L,868L,865L,826L,810L,685,657,3x655,645,601,DNS-345,DCS-933L and a Boxee.
Go Here>Router Troubleshooting
FurryNutz
Poweruser
  ▲
▲ ▲
*****
Posts: 27803


D-Link Global Forum Moderator


WWW
« Reply #2 on: July 01, 2013, 09:27:06 AM »

Any status on this?  Huh
Logged

Cable:50mb/3Mb>Motorola SB6180>DIR-815>HP 24pt Gb Switch. 3x4500s,DGL-5500,DIR-857,835,827,815,880L,868L,865L,826L,810L,685,657,3x655,645,601,DNS-345,DCS-933L and a Boxee.
Go Here>Router Troubleshooting
jigneshjain25
Level 1 Member
*
Posts: 3


« Reply #3 on: July 01, 2013, 10:09:13 PM »

hey sorry, I couldnt check the forums, as I was having problems connnecting to the Internet. My problem with router is still same,
WAN Port does not work, but LAN ports do. I am using Internet wirelessly through LAN Port, as the wan port does not connect to the internet,

Logged
FurryNutz
Poweruser
  ▲
▲ ▲
*****
Posts: 27803


D-Link Global Forum Moderator


WWW
« Reply #4 on: July 02, 2013, 07:46:58 AM »

If you can fill in some of the questions asked, maybe we can get a better idea if your situation and where to proceed from there.
Logged

Cable:50mb/3Mb>Motorola SB6180>DIR-815>HP 24pt Gb Switch. 3x4500s,DGL-5500,DIR-857,835,827,815,880L,868L,865L,826L,810L,685,657,3x655,645,601,DNS-345,DCS-933L and a Boxee.
Go Here>Router Troubleshooting
jigneshjain25
Level 1 Member
*
Posts: 3


« Reply #5 on: July 02, 2013, 08:47:10 AM »

DLINK DIR 600 wifi router

-> H/W version A1
-> Current Firmware version : 1.13
-> Region: Mumbai, India.
-> Internet through DSL Cable

What else should I post ?
Logged
FurryNutz
Poweruser
  ▲
▲ ▲
*****
Posts: 27803


D-Link Global Forum Moderator


WWW
« Reply #6 on: July 02, 2013, 09:15:29 AM »


  • What ISP Modem Mfr. and model # do you have?
  • If this modem has a built in router, it's best to bridge the modem. Having 2 routers on the same line can cause connection problems: Link>Double NAT and How NAT Works. To tell if the modem is bridged or not, look at the routers web page, Status/Device Info/Wan Section, if there is a 192.168.0.# address in the WAN IP address field, then the modem is not bridged. If the modem can't be bridged then see if the modem has a DMZ option and input the IP address the router gets from the modem and put that into the modems DMZ.
  • Check ISP MTU requirements, Cable is usually 1500, DSL is around 1492 down to 1472. Call the ISP and ask. Link>Checking MTU Values
  • For DSL/PPPoE connections on the router, ensure that "Always ON" option is enabled.
Logged

Cable:50mb/3Mb>Motorola SB6180>DIR-815>HP 24pt Gb Switch. 3x4500s,DGL-5500,DIR-857,835,827,815,880L,868L,865L,826L,810L,685,657,3x655,645,601,DNS-345,DCS-933L and a Boxee.
Go Here>Router Troubleshooting
Pages: [1]
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Theme by webtechnica.com.