• October 14, 2019, 08:15:31 AM
  • Welcome, Guest
Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

News:

This Forum Beta is ONLY for registered owners of D-Link products in the USA for which we have created boards at this time.

Author Topic: DIR-655 revB subnet mapping  (Read 3345 times)

cioffaz

  • Level 1 Member
  • *
  • Posts: 4
DIR-655 revB subnet mapping
« on: June 04, 2013, 06:18:28 AM »

Hi all,
i'm trying to configure my home network via three powerlines and a DIR-655 router.

Here is my (desiderata) configuration:

- ISP internet (from room1) connected directly via powerline1
- pc directly connected to network via powerline2 in room2 (IP 10.68.x.y, given by ISP modem)
- DIR-655 router connected via powerline3 in room3 (IP 10.68.x.z, given by ISP modem)
- net media player, tv, bluray and a netdrive (western digital) connected via DIR-655 (IPs unknown at the moment, maybe something like 192.168....)

The question: is it possible to create a private subnet, created by the router, and nat all the devices in it (so the whole IPs range of the subnet) to the router's IP? I'd like to see all the devices from the pc.

Thanks for your advices and help!
« Last Edit: June 04, 2013, 06:32:18 AM by cioffaz »
Logged

FurryNutz

  • Poweruser
  •   ▲
    ▲ ▲
  • *****
  • Posts: 47834
  • D-Link Global Forum Moderator
    • Router Troubleshooting
Re: DIR-655 revB subnet mapping
« Reply #1 on: June 04, 2013, 06:50:31 AM »

I would set up your network as follows as a suggestion:
ISP Modem>DIR-655><All wired and wireless devices connected to the DIR-655. The DIR-655 will be your NAT and Subnet router using 192.168.0.100-199 pool of addresses. Connect your power line devices to the DIR-655 and everything will be on the same subnet and should see each other if configured correctly.
Logged
Cable:200mb/10Mb>NetGear C7800>DIR-882>DGS-1100>HP 24pt Gb Switch. COVR-3902/2202/1203,DIR-2680,890L,882,880L,868L,DNR-202L,DNS-345x2,DCS-933L,936L and 960L.
Go Here>Router Troubleshooting

cioffaz

  • Level 1 Member
  • *
  • Posts: 4
Re: DIR-655 revB subnet mapping
« Reply #2 on: June 04, 2013, 07:14:54 AM »

Thanks for the fast reply!

Your solution is the current network setup and it work flawlessly but i need to change it cause i don't want the router to stay in the same room where my baby (coming in July  :) ) will stay.

So i'm leaving only the ISP modem in that room and i'm trying to move the router in another room. My problem is that i don't know if the DIR-655 can do what i need, and how to do it (is possible).
Logged

FurryNutz

  • Poweruser
  •   ▲
    ▲ ▲
  • *****
  • Posts: 47834
  • D-Link Global Forum Moderator
    • Router Troubleshooting
Re: DIR-655 revB subnet mapping
« Reply #3 on: June 04, 2013, 07:17:19 AM »

Congrats on the new arrival.  ;)

Any chance on moving the ISP modem as well?
  • What ISP Modem Mfr. and model # do you have?
Logged
Cable:200mb/10Mb>NetGear C7800>DIR-882>DGS-1100>HP 24pt Gb Switch. COVR-3902/2202/1203,DIR-2680,890L,882,880L,868L,DNR-202L,DNS-345x2,DCS-933L,936L and 960L.
Go Here>Router Troubleshooting

cioffaz

  • Level 1 Member
  • *
  • Posts: 4
Re: DIR-655 revB subnet mapping
« Reply #4 on: June 04, 2013, 07:52:15 AM »

Moving the ISP modem is a chance, but the last one cause in that case i'll need to pass new cables...

ISP is Fastweb, an italian one, and modem is a Pirelli HAG A226M (very old, the ISP gave it to me in 2009). Router DIR-655 bought on eBay, firmware v2.05 (but i don't remember well, sorry but at work at the moment), very satisfied of it till now.

If the solution explained in the first post is not possible to be implemented, maybe anyone can suggest a different device that can implement what i'm looking for?

Thanks for your feedbacks!
Logged

FurryNutz

  • Poweruser
  •   ▲
    ▲ ▲
  • *****
  • Posts: 47834
  • D-Link Global Forum Moderator
    • Router Troubleshooting
Re: DIR-655 revB subnet mapping
« Reply #5 on: June 04, 2013, 08:06:39 AM »

The thing is that you in a idea set up right now, everything is working as you need it. I don't think subnetting is what is needed. I would possibly complicate or even break something on the network.

I presume that you would still be using the 655 as your main host router or would you be using the ISP modem? If you used the ISP modem as your main host router the you could use the 655 as an AP however it would still need to be wired.

You might review this as well and see if it might work, however it still needs to be wired:
How to extend network without AP Mode using a Router
Logged
Cable:200mb/10Mb>NetGear C7800>DIR-882>DGS-1100>HP 24pt Gb Switch. COVR-3902/2202/1203,DIR-2680,890L,882,880L,868L,DNR-202L,DNS-345x2,DCS-933L,936L and 960L.
Go Here>Router Troubleshooting

cioffaz

  • Level 1 Member
  • *
  • Posts: 4
Re: DIR-655 revB subnet mapping
« Reply #6 on: June 04, 2013, 02:39:21 PM »

I've discovered that the ISP can give only three distinct IPs from his modem, so the situation is the following:

- the first IP is for the pc, 10.68.17.x
- the second IP is for the router DIR-655, 10.68.17.z
- the third is currently occupied bye the modem (Pirelli hag) itself, 10.68.17.y

The router created a lan starting at 192.168.0.1 (itself), and all devices attached to it have the IPs in the range 192.168.0.1 -> 192.168.0.199 (wireless included). Is there a way to map all the lan network created this way to the router IP?

Maybe via advanced routing in the web interface? Has anyone tried?

And if not, is there any other D-Link device that can do it?  ;)

Thanks.
Logged