• September 19, 2020, 06:27:53 AM
  • Welcome, Guest
Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

News:

This Forum Beta is ONLY for registered owners of D-Link products in the USA for which we have created boards at this time.

Author Topic: help  (Read 2813 times)

shortie2cu

  • Level 1 Member
  • *
  • Posts: 3
help
« on: May 30, 2013, 09:05:03 AM »

Last night during a storm my 4500 went into offline mode and will not connect using the pin or the pbc...My teenager is none to pleased that he is out of school and can't play cod!
Logged

FurryNutz

  • Poweruser
  •   ▲
    ▲ ▲
  • *****
  • Posts: 49182
  • D-Link Global Forum Moderator
    • Router Troubleshooting
Re: help
« Reply #1 on: May 30, 2013, 10:28:10 AM »

Link>Welcome!
  • What Hardware version is your router? Look at sticker under router.
  • Link>What Firmware version is currently loaded? Found on routers web page under status.
  • What region are you located?

Internet Service Provider and Modem Configurations
  • What ISP Service do you have? Cable or DSL?
  • What ISP Modem Mfr. and model # do you have?

Have you pulled the power adapter from the wall and moved it to a different location.
Power OFF both ISP MODEM and 4500 router for 1 minute and then turn ON the ISP modem first, then teh 4500.
Check the voltage output of the DGL-4500 power adapter and make sure it's getting 12v 2Amps.

Test at different location, family, friend or neighbors place to see if router will come to ready and connect on there network.

Does a PC connected to the ISP modem get internet? I presume it does.
« Last Edit: May 30, 2013, 10:43:25 AM by FurryNutz »
Logged
"Nothing Funny about It...." We are not here to Impress anyone! You have a be a COMPETENT user first to under stand COMPETENT help!

shortie2cu

  • Level 1 Member
  • *
  • Posts: 3
Re: help
« Reply #2 on: May 30, 2013, 10:54:02 AM »

I have the Dlink dgl 4500 a2 the firmware shows the latest version I have service with Time warner cable. I left it unplugged last night and reset it with time warner via the phone. I don't really have a different place to test it and have reset it with a pin several times.
Logged

FurryNutz

  • Poweruser
  •   ▲
    ▲ ▲
  • *****
  • Posts: 49182
  • D-Link Global Forum Moderator
    • Router Troubleshooting
Re: help
« Reply #3 on: May 30, 2013, 11:00:59 AM »

What ISP Modem Mfr. and model # do you have?
Swap LAN cables between router and ISP modem to make sure the connection is good.
Can you still access the 4500's web page at 192.168.0.1 if you connect 1 PC via wired LAN cable?

You need to find a way to have someone check the voltage on the put put plug of the power adapter.
Also a way to verify that the 4500 works in a different location or place.

Need someone to have a in person look at the 4500 to see if it's now bad due to the storm outage or if the power adapter could be bad. Know anyone with some technical expertise? Is there a local electronics repair shop in town that you know of?

You might run to a local store like Best Buy or Frys, stables or office max to see if they have a different router that you can test out. Usually they have refund return policies. I recommend trying a DIR-836L, 826L out if there in stock locally.

I'm hoping the damage is to the power adapter and not the router itself however I've seen routers go bad in a storm.


« Last Edit: May 30, 2013, 11:16:43 AM by FurryNutz »
Logged
"Nothing Funny about It...." We are not here to Impress anyone! You have a be a COMPETENT user first to under stand COMPETENT help!

shortie2cu

  • Level 1 Member
  • *
  • Posts: 3
Re: help
« Reply #4 on: May 31, 2013, 06:04:30 PM »

I got it working! Had to change the IP address to something other than 192.168.0.2
« Last Edit: May 31, 2013, 08:01:37 PM by shortie2cu »
Logged

FurryNutz

  • Poweruser
  •   ▲
    ▲ ▲
  • *****
  • Posts: 49182
  • D-Link Global Forum Moderator
    • Router Troubleshooting
Re: help
« Reply #5 on: June 01, 2013, 07:53:53 PM »

Glad u fot it working. Enjoy.   :)
Logged
"Nothing Funny about It...." We are not here to Impress anyone! You have a be a COMPETENT user first to under stand COMPETENT help!