• September 15, 2019, 10:03:43 AM
  • Welcome, Guest
Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

News:

This Forum Beta is ONLY for registered owners of D-Link products in the USA for which we have created boards at this time.

Author Topic: Dir 857 europe hw vers a1 firmware vers 1.03 wmm enable problem  (Read 6567 times)

Thomaqz

  • Level 1 Member
  • *
  • Posts: 5

I have a new dir 857 and i need to unable "wmm"
But i cant because its grey and i cant do anything with it...Can somebady help.
The reason why i have to take it off is because my up speed is slow and i know that because i have a dir router fom d-link before.
Logged

FurryNutz

  • Poweruser
  •   ▲
    ▲ ▲
  • *****
  • Posts: 47749
  • D-Link Global Forum Moderator
    • Router Troubleshooting
Re: Dir 857 europe hw vers a1 firmware vers 1.03 wmm enable problem
« Reply #1 on: May 23, 2013, 06:16:33 PM »

Link>Welcome!

What region are you located?

It's recommended to leave WMM enabled and it provides best performance on WiFi.

Only v1.01 FW is available for the EU region, using any other version from the NA region is not recommended as there are differences between regions.
Logged
Cable:200mb/10Mb>NetGear C7800>DIR-882>DGS-1100>HP 24pt Gb Switch. COVR-3902/2202/1203,DIR-2680,890L,882,880L,868L,DNR-202L,DNS-345x2,DCS-933L,936L and 960L.
Go Here>Router Troubleshooting

Thomaqz

  • Level 1 Member
  • *
  • Posts: 5
Re: Dir 857 europe hw vers a1 firmware vers 1.03 wmm enable problem
« Reply #2 on: May 23, 2013, 06:19:32 PM »

i just pushed the update button , and the program downloaded the 1.03 soft ware...and i uptate it....is that wrong?
Logged

Thomaqz

  • Level 1 Member
  • *
  • Posts: 5
Re: Dir 857 europe hw vers a1 firmware vers 1.03 wmm enable problem
« Reply #3 on: May 23, 2013, 06:20:00 PM »

im in Norway  :)
Logged

FurryNutz

  • Poweruser
  •   ▲
    ▲ ▲
  • *****
  • Posts: 47749
  • D-Link Global Forum Moderator
    • Router Troubleshooting
Re: Dir 857 europe hw vers a1 firmware vers 1.03 wmm enable problem
« Reply #4 on: May 23, 2013, 06:25:50 PM »

I suppose so...hope it downloaded the EU version. You might do a factory reset and then set the router up from scratch.

Some things to try: - Log into the routers web page at 192.168.0.1. Use IE, Opera or FF to manage the router.
Turn off ALL QoS or Disable Traffic Shaping (DIR only) GameFuel (DGL only and if ON.) options. Advanced/QoS or Gamefuel.
Turn off Advanced DNS Services if you have this option under Setup/Internet/Manual or under Setup/PARENTAL CONTROL/Set to>None: Static IP or Obtain Automatically From ISP.
Enable Use Unicasting (compatibility for some ISP DHCP Servers) under Setup/Internet/Manual.
Turn on DNS Relay under Setup/Networking. Link>Finding Faster DNS Addresses using Name Bench
Setup DHCP reserved IP addresses for all devices ON the router. Setup/Networking. This ensures each devices gets its own IP address when turned on and connected, eliminates IP address conflicts and helps in troubleshooting.
Ensure devices are set to auto obtain an IP address.
If IPv6 is an option on the router, select Local Connection Only or Disable IPv6 options under Setup/IPv6.
Set Firewall settings to Endpoint Independent for TCP and UDP under Advanced/Firewall.
Enable uPnP and Multi-cast Streaming under Advanced/Networking. Disable uPnP for testing Port Forwarding rules. Enable IPv6 Multi-cast Streaming for routers that have a Media Server option. Disable IPv6 Multi-cast Streaming if IPv6 or Media Server is not being used.
Turn off WISH, and WPS under Advanced.
WAN Port Speed set to Auto or specific speed? Some newer ISP modems support 1000Mb so manually setting to Gb speeds can be supported by the router. Advanced/Advanced Networking/WAN Port Speed
Set current Time Zone, Date and Time. Use an NTP Server feature. Tools/Time.
 
Links>Wireless Installation Considerations and Managing Signal Congestion
Ensure the default (dlink) SSID name is changed. Can be anything and not something thats already in use by any neighboring WiFi routers. Under Setup/Wireless/Manual.
What wireless modes are you using?
2.4Ghz and 5Ghz routers: Try single mode G or mixed G and N on 2.4Ghz and single mode N on 5Ghz?
Channel Width set for Auto 20/40Mhz or try 20Mhz only.
Try setting a manual channel to a open or unused channel. 1, 6 or 11. 11 for single mode N if the channel is clear.
What security mode are you using? Preferred security is WPA-Personal. WPA2/AES Only. Some WiFi adapters don't support AES, so you might want to try TPIK only or Auto.
What wireless devices do you have connected?
Any cordless house phones?
Any other WiFi routers in the area? Link> Use InSSIDer to find out. How many?
Try turning off Short GI, WLAN Partition,and Extra Wireless Protection if you have it. Under Advanced/Advanced Wireless.
Enable WMM Enable Under Advanced/Advanced Wireless.

Turn off all anti virus and firewall programs on PC while testing. 3rd party firewalls are not generally needed when using routers as they are effective on blocking malicious inbound traffic.
Turn off all devices accept for one wired PC while testing.

Logged
Cable:200mb/10Mb>NetGear C7800>DIR-882>DGS-1100>HP 24pt Gb Switch. COVR-3902/2202/1203,DIR-2680,890L,882,880L,868L,DNR-202L,DNS-345x2,DCS-933L,936L and 960L.
Go Here>Router Troubleshooting

Thomaqz

  • Level 1 Member
  • *
  • Posts: 5
Re: Dir 857 europe hw vers a1 firmware vers 1.03 wmm enable problem
« Reply #5 on: May 23, 2013, 06:47:46 PM »

Now i have verson 1.01 , but the wmm enable is still grey , and thats not work for me......Why is it like that , is there somthing wrong with the ruter?
Logged

FurryNutz

  • Poweruser
  •   ▲
    ▲ ▲
  • *****
  • Posts: 47749
  • D-Link Global Forum Moderator
    • Router Troubleshooting
Re: Dir 857 europe hw vers a1 firmware vers 1.03 wmm enable problem
« Reply #6 on: May 23, 2013, 06:50:44 PM »

We think either there is a configuration that might be needed to enable the selection or DLink has programmed it to be this way. We dont know. I would phone contact DLink support and ask about this.
Logged
Cable:200mb/10Mb>NetGear C7800>DIR-882>DGS-1100>HP 24pt Gb Switch. COVR-3902/2202/1203,DIR-2680,890L,882,880L,868L,DNR-202L,DNS-345x2,DCS-933L,936L and 960L.
Go Here>Router Troubleshooting