• November 21, 2019, 12:53:51 PM
  • Welcome, Guest
Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

News:

This Forum Beta is ONLY for registered owners of D-Link products in the USA for which we have created boards at this time.

Pages: 1 [2]

Author Topic: Gui and options  (Read 9583 times)

FurryNutz

  • Poweruser
  •   ▲
    ▲ ▲
  • *****
  • Posts: 47921
  • D-Link Global Forum Moderator
    • Router Troubleshooting
Re: Gui and options
« Reply #15 on: May 29, 2013, 07:36:06 AM »

Have you set the Download speed to 100Mb since you ISP speeds vary up to 55Mb?

Most ISP speeds wont vary. If your seeing varied speeds then I would contact the ISP and ensure that you are always getting the maximum speeds then set the routers accordingly.

What are you suppose to be getting that you pay for UP and Down? I pay for 50/2 and set my router manually to 50 and 3 to allow some over head on the up. I always see about 2.25Mb on speed tests.

Setting manual Speeds is good and does work. It all depends on your ISP speeds and the stability of them. If you pay for 55Mb then you should set the router to 100Mb and give it overhead and let the router and modem figure it out.
Logged
Cable:200mb/10Mb>NetGear C7800>DIR-882>DGS-1100>HP 24pt Gb Switch. COVR-3902/2202/1203,DIR-2680,890L,882,880L,868L,DNR-202L,DNS-345x2,DCS-933L,936L and 960L.
Go Here>Router Troubleshooting

icemankent

  • Level 2 Member
  • **
  • Posts: 93
Re: Gui and options
« Reply #16 on: May 29, 2013, 08:13:16 AM »

I pay for 28Mbps down, but the reality is that I get anywhere between that and around 55 Mbps (which is good).

I realize that I can set the router to 100Mbps down or manually enter 55Mbps, but then that would throw off the router's QoS calculations - depending on what the (actual) download speed would be at any point in time.

You know what I'd really like to know - is that apart from the user settings - for D-Link (and all manufacturers for that matter) - to publish a white paper that describes how they set their devices up to work.  That would enable the user to fully understand the capabilities (and expected behavior) of the various features and functions of the device.

I must admit, until I saw your tutorial on the QoS settings for these newer models, I was a bit disappointed that D-Link themselves did not provide as good of an explanation of how to configure QoS (properly).

Thank goodness for the resources available on this forum that help everyone figure it all out.
Logged
Ottawa, Ontario  (Canada)

madhatter01

  • Level 2 Member
  • **
  • Posts: 44
Re: Gui and options
« Reply #17 on: May 29, 2013, 08:15:34 AM »

I pay for 28Mbps down, but the reality is that I get anywhere between that and around 55 Mbps (which is good).

I realize that I can set the router to 100Mbps down or manually enter 55Mbps, but then that would throw off the router's QoS calculations - depending on what the (actual) download speed would be at any point in time.

You know what I'd really like to know - is that apart from the user settings - for D-Link (and all manufacturers for that matter) - to publish a white paper that describes how they set their devices up to work.  That would enable the user to fully understand the capabilities (and expected behavior) of the various features and functions of the device.

I must admit, until I saw your tutorial on the QoS settings for these newer models, I was a bit disappointed that D-Link themselves did not provide as good of an explanation of how to configure QoS (properly).

Thank goodness for the resources available on this forum that help everyone figure it all out.


You nailed it exactly.
Logged

FurryNutz

  • Poweruser
  •   ▲
    ▲ ▲
  • *****
  • Posts: 47921
  • D-Link Global Forum Moderator
    • Router Troubleshooting
Re: Gui and options
« Reply #18 on: May 29, 2013, 08:25:24 AM »

And you do realize that QoS is only effecting the LAN side from what I've been told while multiple devices are online and competing for bandwidth.

I haven't seen one router Mfr post any white papers or detailed set up information on how to use QoS or the processes it uses. Ya, I agree, I wish there was more official information on QoS on routers.   :-\
Logged
Cable:200mb/10Mb>NetGear C7800>DIR-882>DGS-1100>HP 24pt Gb Switch. COVR-3902/2202/1203,DIR-2680,890L,882,880L,868L,DNR-202L,DNS-345x2,DCS-933L,936L and 960L.
Go Here>Router Troubleshooting

icemankent

  • Level 2 Member
  • **
  • Posts: 93
Re: Gui and options
« Reply #19 on: May 29, 2013, 09:00:18 AM »

Sorry I must disagree.

QoS is only relevant for the WAN bandwidth.
Within a LAN environment, one could employ 802.1p to assist in prioritizing data, if you had switches that enabled you to do so.
On a router, the most precious bandwidth resource is the WAN bandwidth.
QoS is needed so that the high bandwidth LAN clients could more effectively/efficiently share the scarce WAN bandwidth.

I'm not sure where you heard that QoS was for the LAN side only - but they were definitely wrong.
Logged
Ottawa, Ontario  (Canada)

FurryNutz

  • Poweruser
  •   ▲
    ▲ ▲
  • *****
  • Posts: 47921
  • D-Link Global Forum Moderator
    • Router Troubleshooting
Re: Gui and options
« Reply #20 on: May 29, 2013, 09:16:45 AM »

http://forums.dlink.com/index.php?topic=52884.msg200630#msg200630

And if you think about it, QoS  is just what you said it was "QoS is needed so that the high bandwidth LAN clients could more effectively/efficiently share the scarce WAN bandwidth." More or less. These are the connections from the LAN side clients to WAN side connections, does not do anything beyond that. It does not effect any WAN side conditions from the router to the ISP modem or services.


Sorry I must disagree.

QoS is only relevant for the WAN bandwidth.
Within a LAN environment, one could employ 802.1p to assist in prioritizing data, if you had switches that enabled you to do so.
On a router, the most precious bandwidth resource is the WAN bandwidth.
QoS is needed so that the high bandwidth LAN clients could more effectively/efficiently share the scarce WAN bandwidth.

I'm not sure where you heard that QoS was for the LAN side only - but they were definitely wrong.
Logged
Cable:200mb/10Mb>NetGear C7800>DIR-882>DGS-1100>HP 24pt Gb Switch. COVR-3902/2202/1203,DIR-2680,890L,882,880L,868L,DNR-202L,DNS-345x2,DCS-933L,936L and 960L.
Go Here>Router Troubleshooting

madhatter01

  • Level 2 Member
  • **
  • Posts: 44
Re: Gui and options
« Reply #21 on: June 05, 2013, 10:04:14 AM »

Man, I really need a real time data usage meter on this router.
Logged

FurryNutz

  • Poweruser
  •   ▲
    ▲ ▲
  • *****
  • Posts: 47921
  • D-Link Global Forum Moderator
    • Router Troubleshooting
Re: Gui and options
« Reply #22 on: June 05, 2013, 11:32:25 AM »

Well, only thing you could try is DUMeter or Bit Meter on a PC. That would only track Pcs though. The stats on the router are mainly for generic numbers. I think one reason why D-Link doesn't put any usage or traffic counters on there routers would be a performance impact.  :-\
Logged
Cable:200mb/10Mb>NetGear C7800>DIR-882>DGS-1100>HP 24pt Gb Switch. COVR-3902/2202/1203,DIR-2680,890L,882,880L,868L,DNR-202L,DNS-345x2,DCS-933L,936L and 960L.
Go Here>Router Troubleshooting
Pages: 1 [2]