D-Link Forums

The Graveyard - Products No Longer Supported => Routers => DIR-868L => Topic started by: madhatter01 on May 22, 2013, 10:29:46 AM

Title: Gui and options
Post by: madhatter01 on May 22, 2013, 10:29:46 AM
Ok first off this is my first Dlink in 3 years. This thing is blazing fast, I had bought a Netgear r6250 which has the same chipset and just returned it. The netgear was horrible on 5Ghz and slow gui. So far I love this Dlink. I would just like to see some improvements. I had an Asus which had an amazing Gui. Over all this is an amazing unit.

1. Update Gui, its over 3 years old. Would like to see more interactive things, not so much text.
2. Add better Bandwidth monitoring. Would love to have option to reset on the 1st. Would like to have a bar graph or something easy to read.
3. Better QOS, would like it to detect your internet speeds.
Title: Re: Gui and options
Post by: FurryNutz on May 22, 2013, 10:34:50 AM
What is your ISP speed UP and Down?
These new routers have a new QoS section so you can select your ISP speed UP and down that best fits your ISP speeds that you pay for. Some other routers did not have this feature and were limited by a 2Mb Uplink cap. There has been some debate on weather that needs to be raised or not and D-Link is aware of that. I've seen in newer series that they've dealt with this by letting the user of the router select the best speeds for there ISP services.
Please review my post about XBL setup for examples and Up and Downlink settings:
DIR-645/865L/826L/835 Gaming and Gamefuel for XBL (http://forums.dlink.com/index.php?topic=44869.0)

D-Link has not had any sort of bandwidth monitoring in there routers. I think the DIR-600L does however it's limited. Not sure why D-Link doesn't support or design something that does. Could be not cost effective or would have to compete with other products or would impact router performance.

Thank you for posting.
Title: Re: Gui and options
Post by: madhatter01 on May 22, 2013, 10:46:23 AM
Its more me being lazy. Im just comparing it to my Asus. Under QOS you would just hit detect and it would put in your exact speeds. It would be nice on the bandwidth monitoring because I do have a 300Gb cap after that I get a warning. So when you got a 6 year old who loves Netflix, you got to keep an eye on it.

Have you heard any plans to upgrade the Gui at all? Its just the same one used for over 3 years and is a little dated. Thanks for your help.


Internet Speeds
30 down
4 up
Title: Re: Gui and options
Post by: FurryNutz on May 22, 2013, 10:51:50 AM
Understand about keeping track. I've had to do the same thing. You probably need to keep track using the ISP web site services.

As for any UI updates, WYSIWYG...
The only UI update we are probably going to see in the near future is the DGL-5500 which has a new UI from what I've been told.

For 30/4 just select 1 value higher for each one. You'll be good. I'm on a 50/2 and use 50/3 for mine. Works great.
Title: Re: Gui and options
Post by: madhatter01 on May 22, 2013, 10:54:33 AM
Wow, I just looked up the Gui on it and its really nice. Do you think we will get that on ours or is it tied to the Qualcomm chipset in there.
Title: Re: Gui and options
Post by: FurryNutz on May 22, 2013, 11:00:45 AM
I don't think so...thats a gaming router with different HW and architecture.
Title: Re: Gui and options
Post by: madhatter01 on May 22, 2013, 11:11:27 AM
I don't think so...thats a gaming router with different HW and architecture.

The Dir-868L is higher bandwidth and cpu wise (Dual core Arm cpu). It would be nice to see it as I would assume that the Dir-868L is D-Link's highest end unit. I guess it might be DD-WRT time when it is available.
Title: Re: Gui and options
Post by: FurryNutz on May 22, 2013, 11:23:44 AM
If D-Link has a GNU source for it. I don't see one for it at the moment.  ::)

Title: Re: Gui and options
Post by: slakkr on May 22, 2013, 11:46:24 AM
What processor does it have and how much memory? I can't find any info on it.
Title: Re: Gui and options
Post by: madhatter01 on May 22, 2013, 11:48:59 AM
What processor does it have and how much memory? I can't find any info on it.

A broadcom Dual Core Arm cpu. I dont know if it is clocked at 800mhz or 1Ghz. It is 10 times faster then any other router cpu out there.

http://www.anandtech.com/show/5925/broadcom-announces-bcm4708x-and-bcm5301x-socs-for-80211ac-routers

http://wikidevi.com/wiki/D-Link_DIR-868L_rev_A1
Title: Re: Gui and options
Post by: slakkr on May 22, 2013, 11:57:33 AM
That's interesting. Although, I don't know how 800 Mhz or 1 Ghz Cpu would be 10x faster then say 600 Mhz used in R6300, but I didn't notice any difference in the router speed and as I mentioned in my other thread R6300 offered more bandwidth. Maybe Dlink didn't optimize 868 to utilize all this CPU power yet...
Title: Re: Gui and options
Post by: madhatter01 on May 22, 2013, 12:17:29 PM
That's interesting. Although, I don't know how 800 Mhz or 1 Ghz Cpu would be 10x faster then say 600 Mhz used in R6300, but I didn't notice any difference in the router speed and as I mentioned in my other thread R6300 offered more bandwidth. Maybe Dlink didn't optimize 868 to utilize all this CPU power yet...

Arm vs Mips. Mips is really slow compared to Arm. Why do you think we dont use mips in our phones. Mips also is not as good with power.
Title: Re: Gui and options
Post by: slakkr on May 22, 2013, 12:25:51 PM
I see. Well that sure does sound impressive on paper, but in actual usage I didn't really feel like it was "10x faster".
Title: Re: Gui and options
Post by: madhatter01 on May 22, 2013, 12:49:28 PM
I see. Well that sure does sound impressive on paper, but in actual usage I didn't really feel like it was "10x faster".
Im sure you would see it more in Data transfer on usb 3.0. Also better through put when multiple device connected and using lots of data.
Title: Re: Gui and options
Post by: icemankent on May 29, 2013, 07:16:08 AM
Regarding QoS:

I am not a fan of having to hard-select a speed for upstream and downstream bandwidth.
The reason for this is that on my dir-865L, when I do so, the router actually CAPS its speed to what I set it to.

***Please note I have tested this thoroughly and it is definitely what is happening***

This is an issue if your ISP download speeds VARY - (and mine does).

Typically, my speeds can range from 28Mbps to 55Mbps.
If I hard-select 30Mbps, then the router will ONLY let that much data through - (even if my current "possible speed" from my ISP is higher).
This means that I am limiting my download speed as a direct result of configuring QoS.
That is not good.

The same is true for my UPload configuration - however my upload speed rarely goes over 1Mbps, so that one is not as much of an issue.

In any event, it is too bad that D-link chose to force the user to define the download speed - as in doing so, you now are your own worst enemy.
I wish they would have written their code to periodically check download speed capability, and adapt to it automatically.  That, or at least give the user an option to select this, or to manually define it.

I also have a DGL-4500 (which I love for many reasons) - and its QoS works very well.
I like being able to give a specific device a 1-255 level priority (very granular).
I like being able to see the QoS in action - (internet session tab) where all traffic also displays its priority.
I like being able to auto-detect or manually configure my Upstream speed.
I like NOT being forced to define my Downstream speed.  (it must already employ some sort of automatic functionality in this regard).

In any event, it is what it is.
I can't wait to see what fancy QoS UI capabilities the new dgl-5500 will bring to the table.

Title: Re: Gui and options
Post by: FurryNutz on May 29, 2013, 07:36:06 AM
Have you set the Download speed to 100Mb since you ISP speeds vary up to 55Mb?

Most ISP speeds wont vary. If your seeing varied speeds then I would contact the ISP and ensure that you are always getting the maximum speeds then set the routers accordingly.

What are you suppose to be getting that you pay for UP and Down? I pay for 50/2 and set my router manually to 50 and 3 to allow some over head on the up. I always see about 2.25Mb on speed tests.

Setting manual Speeds is good and does work. It all depends on your ISP speeds and the stability of them. If you pay for 55Mb then you should set the router to 100Mb and give it overhead and let the router and modem figure it out.
Title: Re: Gui and options
Post by: icemankent on May 29, 2013, 08:13:16 AM
I pay for 28Mbps down, but the reality is that I get anywhere between that and around 55 Mbps (which is good).

I realize that I can set the router to 100Mbps down or manually enter 55Mbps, but then that would throw off the router's QoS calculations - depending on what the (actual) download speed would be at any point in time.

You know what I'd really like to know - is that apart from the user settings - for D-Link (and all manufacturers for that matter) - to publish a white paper that describes how they set their devices up to work.  That would enable the user to fully understand the capabilities (and expected behavior) of the various features and functions of the device.

I must admit, until I saw your tutorial on the QoS settings for these newer models, I was a bit disappointed that D-Link themselves did not provide as good of an explanation of how to configure QoS (properly).

Thank goodness for the resources available on this forum that help everyone figure it all out.
Title: Re: Gui and options
Post by: madhatter01 on May 29, 2013, 08:15:34 AM
I pay for 28Mbps down, but the reality is that I get anywhere between that and around 55 Mbps (which is good).

I realize that I can set the router to 100Mbps down or manually enter 55Mbps, but then that would throw off the router's QoS calculations - depending on what the (actual) download speed would be at any point in time.

You know what I'd really like to know - is that apart from the user settings - for D-Link (and all manufacturers for that matter) - to publish a white paper that describes how they set their devices up to work.  That would enable the user to fully understand the capabilities (and expected behavior) of the various features and functions of the device.

I must admit, until I saw your tutorial on the QoS settings for these newer models, I was a bit disappointed that D-Link themselves did not provide as good of an explanation of how to configure QoS (properly).

Thank goodness for the resources available on this forum that help everyone figure it all out.


You nailed it exactly.
Title: Re: Gui and options
Post by: FurryNutz on May 29, 2013, 08:25:24 AM
And you do realize that QoS is only effecting the LAN side from what I've been told while multiple devices are online and competing for bandwidth.

I haven't seen one router Mfr post any white papers or detailed set up information on how to use QoS or the processes it uses. Ya, I agree, I wish there was more official information on QoS on routers.   :-\
Title: Re: Gui and options
Post by: icemankent on May 29, 2013, 09:00:18 AM
Sorry I must disagree.

QoS is only relevant for the WAN bandwidth.
Within a LAN environment, one could employ 802.1p to assist in prioritizing data, if you had switches that enabled you to do so.
On a router, the most precious bandwidth resource is the WAN bandwidth.
QoS is needed so that the high bandwidth LAN clients could more effectively/efficiently share the scarce WAN bandwidth.

I'm not sure where you heard that QoS was for the LAN side only - but they were definitely wrong.
Title: Re: Gui and options
Post by: FurryNutz on May 29, 2013, 09:16:45 AM
http://forums.dlink.com/index.php?topic=52884.msg200630#msg200630 (http://forums.dlink.com/index.php?topic=52884.msg200630#msg200630)

And if you think about it, QoS (http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Quality_of_service)  is just what you said it was "QoS is needed so that the high bandwidth LAN clients could more effectively/efficiently share the scarce WAN bandwidth." More or less. These are the connections from the LAN side clients to WAN side connections, does not do anything beyond that. It does not effect any WAN side conditions from the router to the ISP modem or services.


Sorry I must disagree.

QoS is only relevant for the WAN bandwidth.
Within a LAN environment, one could employ 802.1p to assist in prioritizing data, if you had switches that enabled you to do so.
On a router, the most precious bandwidth resource is the WAN bandwidth.
QoS is needed so that the high bandwidth LAN clients could more effectively/efficiently share the scarce WAN bandwidth.

I'm not sure where you heard that QoS was for the LAN side only - but they were definitely wrong.
Title: Re: Gui and options
Post by: madhatter01 on June 05, 2013, 10:04:14 AM
Man, I really need a real time data usage meter on this router.
Title: Re: Gui and options
Post by: FurryNutz on June 05, 2013, 11:32:25 AM
Well, only thing you could try is DUMeter or Bit Meter on a PC. That would only track Pcs though. The stats on the router are mainly for generic numbers. I think one reason why D-Link doesn't put any usage or traffic counters on there routers would be a performance impact.  :-\