• October 25, 2020, 07:27:28 PM
  • Welcome, Guest
Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

News:

This Forum Beta is ONLY for registered owners of D-Link products in the USA for which we have created boards at this time.

Author Topic: port 139&445  (Read 6495 times)

shoe

  • Level 2 Member
  • **
  • Posts: 43
port 139&445
« on: May 01, 2013, 01:29:28 PM »

How do I stealth 139 & 445 they show up as closed on GRC
Logged

FurryNutz

  • Poweruser
  •   ▲
    ▲ ▲
  • *****
  • Posts: 49284
  • D-Link Global Forum Moderator
    • Router Troubleshooting
Re: port 139&445
« Reply #1 on: May 01, 2013, 01:54:25 PM »

If this is the Rev A1 that you mentioned before, you could try loading this FW:
DIR601A1_FW104NAB02.bin

Be aware that some people have reported that GRC is not the best place for accurate results and recommend that you test at other sites as a 2nd opinion before applying the FW update.

If you choose to Update, please follow this:
FW Update Process
Logged
"Nothing Funny about It...." We are not here to Impress anyone! You have a be a COMPETENT user first to under stand COMPETENT help!

shoe

  • Level 2 Member
  • **
  • Posts: 43
Re: port 139&445
« Reply #2 on: May 02, 2013, 04:50:30 AM »

I am running 104NA
Logged

FurryNutz

  • Poweruser
  •   ▲
    ▲ ▲
  • *****
  • Posts: 49284
  • D-Link Global Forum Moderator
    • Router Troubleshooting
Re: port 139&445
« Reply #3 on: May 06, 2013, 10:13:04 AM »

Are you sure nothing on you network system is using those ports?
Logged
"Nothing Funny about It...." We are not here to Impress anyone! You have a be a COMPETENT user first to under stand COMPETENT help!

shoe

  • Level 2 Member
  • **
  • Posts: 43
Re: port 139&445
« Reply #4 on: May 06, 2013, 10:36:01 AM »

What could that be?
Logged

FurryNutz

  • Poweruser
  •   ▲
    ▲ ▲
  • *****
  • Posts: 49284
  • D-Link Global Forum Moderator
    • Router Troubleshooting
Re: port 139&445
« Reply #5 on: May 06, 2013, 10:43:18 AM »

Could be anything, security SW maybe. I would turn OFF everything, shut down any back ground running programs. Maybe start in Safe Mode w/Networking then try to test. If they are still being reported as non-stealth, then you might want to phone contact D-Link support and ask for level 2 or higher support and inquired about this. Check with other port testing sites as well.
Logged
"Nothing Funny about It...." We are not here to Impress anyone! You have a be a COMPETENT user first to under stand COMPETENT help!

shoe

  • Level 2 Member
  • **
  • Posts: 43
Re: port 139&445
« Reply #6 on: May 06, 2013, 11:09:26 AM »

I shut everything down re ran scan GRC still says those ports are closed so I ran a scan with Security Metrics and they say all ports Stealth so who do I believe
Logged

FurryNutz

  • Poweruser
  •   ▲
    ▲ ▲
  • *****
  • Posts: 49284
  • D-Link Global Forum Moderator
    • Router Troubleshooting
Re: port 139&445
« Reply #7 on: May 06, 2013, 11:12:15 AM »

You might contact both of those sites to inquire about there resulting information and if the results are being reported as accurately as possible. Again, how each site does testing for ports may vary and reports could differ.

I presume that for the most part, the 601 is working and is safe.
Logged
"Nothing Funny about It...." We are not here to Impress anyone! You have a be a COMPETENT user first to under stand COMPETENT help!