• August 23, 2019, 06:57:59 AM
  • Welcome, Guest
Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

News:

This Forum Beta is ONLY for registered owners of D-Link products in the USA for which we have created boards at this time.

Author Topic: Router keeps powering down & rebooting  (Read 7846 times)

pesi

  • Level 1 Member
  • *
  • Posts: 6
Router keeps powering down & rebooting
« on: April 29, 2013, 01:02:14 PM »

I stream webcast videos online during events and my DIR-827 (firmware 1.01) recently caused me a whole lot of grief!

It has been working great for the last 6 months without a hitch, but last week, right in the middle of a webcast, it started powering down and then after 10-15 seconds powering up again. This would happen every 10 minutes or so, causing me to shut down and restart the webcast, which REALLY upset my client, who now wants a refund!!!

The setup is pretty simple...
Router connected to a hotel's broadband modem connection (they register the router's mac address on their system).
3 computers (laptops) all connected to the router's switch (all wired connections only).
2 Video cameras connected to the main computer by firewire.
and that's it...

The hotel has DSL (as have all the other event venues in the past) and I always register my router's MAC address with their system and it has worked smoothly - till now.

Does anyone have any idea what may have caused this problem and how I can avoid it in the future? Any help would be greatly appreciated.

Thanks,
Pesi
Logged

FurryNutz

  • Poweruser
  •   ▲
    ▲ ▲
  • *****
  • Posts: 47706
  • D-Link Global Forum Moderator
    • Router Troubleshooting
Re: Router keeps powering down & rebooting
« Reply #1 on: April 29, 2013, 01:25:05 PM »

Link>Welcome!

What region are you located?
Are you wired or wireless connected to the router?

What ISP Modem Mfr. and model # do you have?
If this modem has a built in router, it's best to bridge the modem. Having 2 routers on the same line can cause connection problems: Link>Double NAT
To tell if the modem is bridged or not, look at the routers web page, Status/Device Info/Wan Section, if there is a 192.168.0.# address in the WAN IP address field, then the modem is not bridged.
If the modem can't be bridged then see if the modem has a DMZ option and input the IP address the router gets from the modem and put that into the modems DMZ.
Check ISP MTU requirements, Cable is usually 1500, DSL is around 1492 down to 1472. Call the ISP and ask. Link>Checking MTU Values
For DSL/PPPoE connections on the router, ensure that "Always ON" option is enabled.


Some things to try: - Log into the routers web page at 192.168.0.1. Use IE, Opera or FF to manage the router.
Turn off ALL QoS or Disable Traffic Shaping (DIR only) GameFuel (DGL only and if ON.) options. Advanced/QoS or Gamefuel.
Turn off Advanced DNS Services if you have this option under Setup/Internet/Manual or under Setup/PARENTAL CONTROL/Set to>None: Static IP or Obtain Automatically From ISP.
Enable Use Unicasting (compatibility for some ISP DHCP Servers) under Setup/Internet/Manual.
Turn on DNS Relay under Setup/Networking. Link>Finding Faster DNS Addresses using Name Bench
Setup DHCP reserved IP addresses for all devices ON the router. Setup/Networking. This ensures each devices gets its own IP address when turned on and connected, eliminates IP address conflicts and helps in troubleshooting.
Ensure devices are set to auto obtain an IP address.
If IPv6 is an option on the router, select Local Connection Only or Disable IPv6 options under Setup/IPv6.
Set Firewall settings to Endpoint Independent for TCP and UDP under Advanced/Firewall.
Enable uPnP and Multi-cast Streaming under Advanced/Networking. Disable uPnP for testing Port Forwarding rules. Enable IPv6 Multi-cast Streaming for routers that have a Media Server option. Disable IPv6 Multi-cast Streaming if IPv6 or Media Server is not being used.
Turn off WISH, and WPS under Advanced.
WAN Port Speed set to Auto or specific speed? Some newer ISP modems support 1000Mb so manually setting to Gb speeds can be supported by the router. Advanced/Advanced Networking/WAN Port Speed
Set current Time Zone, Date and Time. Use an NTP server feature. Tools/Time.
 
Links>Wireless Installation Considerations and Managing Signal Congestion
Ensure the default (dlink) SSID name is changed. Can be anything and not something thats already in use by any neighboring WiFi routers. Under Setup/Wireless/Manual.
What wireless modes are you using?
2.4Ghz and 5Ghz routers: Try single mode G or mixed G and N on 2.4Ghz and single mode N on 5Ghz?
Channel Width set for Auto 20/40Mhz or try 20Mhz only.
Try setting a manual channel to a open or unused channel. 1, 6 or 11. 11 for single mode N if the channel is clear.
What security mode are you using? Preferred security is WPA-Personal. WPA2/AES Only. Some WiFi adapters don't support AES, so you might want to try TPIK only or Auto.
What wireless devices do you have connected?
Any cordless house phones?
Any other WiFi routers in the area? Link> Use InSSIDer to find out. How many?

Try turning off Short GI, WLAN Partition,and Extra Wireless Protection if you have it. Under Advanced/Advanced Wireless.
Enable WMM Enable Under Advanced/Advanced Wireless.

Turn off all anti virus and firewall programs on PC while testing. 3rd party firewalls are not generally needed when using routers as they are effective on blocking malicious inbound traffic.
Turn off all devices accept for one wired PC while testing.
Logged
Cable:200mb/10Mb>NetGear C7800>DIR-882>DGS-1100>HP 24pt Gb Switch. COVR-3902/2202/1203,DIR-2680,890L,882,880L,868L,DNR-202L,DNS-345x2,DCS-933L,936L and 960L.
Go Here>Router Troubleshooting

pesi

  • Level 1 Member
  • *
  • Posts: 6
Re: Router keeps powering down & rebooting
« Reply #2 on: April 29, 2013, 01:39:12 PM »

Link>Welcome!

What region are you located?
Vancouver, Canada

Are you wired or wireless connected to the router?
Wired only.

What ISP Modem Mfr. and model # do you have?
Telus   Model: 3Ve.A201212 Make unknown

If this modem has a built in router...
No

Its difficult for me to try your suggestions, since this router is used during webcast events at hotels and right now I'm at home. Would the same checks apply for different locations?

btw - the modem worked OK all this time but has started this on/off problem just recently - what usually causes this?
« Last Edit: April 29, 2013, 01:39:43 PM by FurryNutz »
Logged

FurryNutz

  • Poweruser
  •   ▲
    ▲ ▲
  • *****
  • Posts: 47706
  • D-Link Global Forum Moderator
    • Router Troubleshooting
Re: Router keeps powering down & rebooting
« Reply #3 on: April 29, 2013, 01:43:45 PM »

Link>Welcome!

What region are you located?
Vancouver, Canada

Are you wired or wireless connected to the router?
Wired only.

What ISP Modem Mfr. and model # do you have?
Telus   Model: 3Ve.A201212 Make unknown
Can you take a picture of this modem? I'm not finding any thing about this model modem. There should be a sticker under the modem or a badge giving Mfr name and or model info.
How old is this modem?


If this modem has a built in router...
No

Its difficult for me to try your suggestions, since this router is used during webcast events at hotels and right now I'm at home. Would the same checks apply for different locations?
You might get a 2ndary router or another 827 to put into place for back up while you attempt to do some of the suggestions. These needs to be checked at the hotel as well. You need to find a time when you can test and configure the router.

Is the 827 servicing the hotel entirely or just the hotel service staff?

btw - the modem worked OK all this time but has started this on/off problem just recently - what usually causes this?

Need to test and answer some of the questions mentioned if you can. There can be some external conditions effecting the surrounding area on the WiFi. Could be issues with the ISP as well.
We need more information.


« Last Edit: April 29, 2013, 01:46:42 PM by FurryNutz »
Logged
Cable:200mb/10Mb>NetGear C7800>DIR-882>DGS-1100>HP 24pt Gb Switch. COVR-3902/2202/1203,DIR-2680,890L,882,880L,868L,DNR-202L,DNS-345x2,DCS-933L,936L and 960L.
Go Here>Router Troubleshooting

pesi

  • Level 1 Member
  • *
  • Posts: 6
Re: Router keeps powering down & rebooting
« Reply #4 on: April 29, 2013, 01:48:01 PM »

Trouble with checking at hotels is - events are one-day events which are held at different hotels every time and conditions can always vary.

This router is supposed to service only the webcast (no other hotel staff, etc.) and is only wired (never wireless).

Cannot be an ISP issue since the ISP is usually the same (Telus) at 99% of hotels in the area.

I read somewhere that the latest firmware version corrected the "lockup" issue - is this what I am experiencing? And why now, all of a sudden?
« Last Edit: April 29, 2013, 01:49:47 PM by pesi »
Logged

FurryNutz

  • Poweruser
  •   ▲
    ▲ ▲
  • *****
  • Posts: 47706
  • D-Link Global Forum Moderator
    • Router Troubleshooting
Re: Router keeps powering down & rebooting
« Reply #5 on: April 29, 2013, 01:51:09 PM »

And are the hotels running the same 827 model router?

It can be part of the ISP problem, modems not working right, cable/phone lines connecting to the modems as well and configuration of the router.

You need to run thru some of the suggestions when you can get time with the router to check and test it. Even if it's after hours.  ::)

I'm hoping that this is just a configuration of the router that is needed and what I suggested will help.
Logged
Cable:200mb/10Mb>NetGear C7800>DIR-882>DGS-1100>HP 24pt Gb Switch. COVR-3902/2202/1203,DIR-2680,890L,882,880L,868L,DNR-202L,DNS-345x2,DCS-933L,936L and 960L.
Go Here>Router Troubleshooting

pesi

  • Level 1 Member
  • *
  • Posts: 6
Re: Router keeps powering down & rebooting
« Reply #6 on: April 29, 2013, 01:58:16 PM »

No the router is my own - I have to take it with me to each event since the hotels don't provide one.
I simply give them my router's MAC address and they enter it into their system.

There is nothing else connected to the router except - the wan connection from their modem to my router and patch cables from my router's switch to the 3 laptops.

Other connections to their modem(s) - I wouldn't know and no way to determine that.

I will check the router config as you've suggested though.
Could it be the firmware also?
Logged

FurryNutz

  • Poweruser
  •   ▲
    ▲ ▲
  • *****
  • Posts: 47706
  • D-Link Global Forum Moderator
    • Router Troubleshooting
Re: Router keeps powering down & rebooting
« Reply #7 on: April 29, 2013, 02:14:21 PM »

Does the router get a public IP address or a private IP address on the WAN status page?
Does this happen at any other hotels you visit or just this particular one?

Possible that FW could be however if it works at other locations and not at this one particular, then possible problem is else where.

If you can do some of the configurations when your not at the hotel, then find some time when you don't need to be on web cast to test it out. I presume finding time will be important and understand that.

There is newer FW however this might not resolve it until you can do some configuration changes and test them.

If you decide to upgrade, then you can download FW here: Use v1.04
http://www.dlink.com/ca/en/support/product/dir-827-hd-media-router-2000
There is a beta however it's up to you if you want to load it or v1.04.

Please follow this for updating FW:
FW Update Process

Logged
Cable:200mb/10Mb>NetGear C7800>DIR-882>DGS-1100>HP 24pt Gb Switch. COVR-3902/2202/1203,DIR-2680,890L,882,880L,868L,DNR-202L,DNS-345x2,DCS-933L,936L and 960L.
Go Here>Router Troubleshooting

pesi

  • Level 1 Member
  • *
  • Posts: 6
Re: Router keeps powering down & rebooting
« Reply #8 on: April 29, 2013, 02:38:27 PM »

It was a public IP address.
This was the first hotel where I had this experience.
I'll do your list as well as the FW (not beta for sure! :-) and I've decided to get another router as a standby (possibly a Cisco business grade router).

Though I guess if the hotel(s) were always to give me a private IP address for my streaming computer, and I used that instead of a router that would bypass all router problems???
Logged

FurryNutz

  • Poweruser
  •   ▲
    ▲ ▲
  • *****
  • Posts: 47706
  • D-Link Global Forum Moderator
    • Router Troubleshooting
Re: Router keeps powering down & rebooting
« Reply #9 on: April 29, 2013, 04:35:46 PM »

That would be best. I don't see any need for a router if you can work directly with the hotels network system. These routers are best if working with a stand alone ISP modem and letting the router handle the NAT, DHCP and WiFi. For a hotel system, I presume they already have a router in place that doesn't all this I presume. I would think if you need any sort of connection, either a wireless AP or a direct connection to there network would be all thats needed. I think having another router in this mix might be complicating things.
Logged
Cable:200mb/10Mb>NetGear C7800>DIR-882>DGS-1100>HP 24pt Gb Switch. COVR-3902/2202/1203,DIR-2680,890L,882,880L,868L,DNR-202L,DNS-345x2,DCS-933L,936L and 960L.
Go Here>Router Troubleshooting

pesi

  • Level 1 Member
  • *
  • Posts: 6
Re: Router keeps powering down & rebooting
« Reply #10 on: April 29, 2013, 04:47:51 PM »

Thanks so much for all your help and advice - greatly appreciated!!!
Pesi
Logged

FurryNutz

  • Poweruser
  •   ▲
    ▲ ▲
  • *****
  • Posts: 47706
  • D-Link Global Forum Moderator
    • Router Troubleshooting
Re: Router keeps powering down & rebooting
« Reply #11 on: April 29, 2013, 05:40:15 PM »

Good Luck.  ;)
Logged
Cable:200mb/10Mb>NetGear C7800>DIR-882>DGS-1100>HP 24pt Gb Switch. COVR-3902/2202/1203,DIR-2680,890L,882,880L,868L,DNR-202L,DNS-345x2,DCS-933L,936L and 960L.
Go Here>Router Troubleshooting