• October 15, 2019, 06:33:53 AM
  • Welcome, Guest
Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

News:

This Forum Beta is ONLY for registered owners of D-Link products in the USA for which we have created boards at this time.

Pages: [1] 2 3

Author Topic: Slow Wired speeds  (Read 15032 times)

BiGxChucK

  • Level 2 Member
  • **
  • Posts: 65
  • Really Bro?!! Come at me!!
Slow Wired speeds
« on: April 15, 2013, 07:08:18 PM »

I just bought the 857 this past Friday, coming from the Belkin N600 DB. I have my PC, Xbox and one WiiU wired to the LAN ports, I'm connected to my Zoom Docsis3 modem. I run my speed test using a Shaper Probe test and I'm only getting maybe 2.0 Mbps Up at the most and 18 Mbps Down at the most wired to the LAN ports.

I use at least Cat5e cable to my wired devices. I have the new Blast plan from Comcast, 50 Mbps Down/10 Mbps Up. When I'm wired directly to my modem I get 50-57 Mbps Down/10-12 Mbps Up. I've tried disconnecting the QoS, changing the MTUs and numerous other things. I have 1.03 firmware installed if that matters. I've had Comcast send many refresh signals and I've rebooted many times trying to fix issue, no dice!

Help!! I'm about to return this dang router and get something else!
Logged
Xbox One/360:BiGxChucK
Battlefield Bad Company 2, Battlefield 3 & 4 recovering competitive player.

FurryNutz

  • Poweruser
  •   ▲
    ▲ ▲
  • *****
  • Posts: 47834
  • D-Link Global Forum Moderator
    • Router Troubleshooting
Re: Slow Wired speeds
« Reply #1 on: April 15, 2013, 09:06:51 PM »

Link>Welcome!

What region are you located?

Has a Factory Reset been performed and set up from scratch?

What ISP Modem Mfr model # do you have?

Some things to try: - Log into the routers web page at 192.168.0.1. Use IE, Opera or FF to manage the router.
Turn off ALL QoS or Disable Traffic Shaping (DIR only) GameFuel (DGL only and if ON.) options. Advanced/QoS or Gamefuel.
Turn off Advanced DNS Services if you have this option under Setup/Internet/Manual or under Setup/PARENTAL CONTROL/Set to>None: Static IP or Obtain Automatically From ISP.
Enable Use Unicasting (compatibility for some ISP DHCP Servers) under Setup/Internet/Manual.
Turn on DNS Relay under Setup/Networking. You can try this as well: http://forums.dlink.com/index.php?topic=53222.0
Setup DHCP reserved IP addresses for all devices ON the router. Setup/Networking. This ensures each devices gets its own IP address when turned on and connected, eliminates IP address conflicts and helps in troubleshooting.
Ensure devices are set to auto obtain an IP address.
If IPv6 is an option on the router, select Local Connection Only or Disable IPv6 options under Setup/IPv6.
Set Firewall settings to Endpoint Independent for TCP and UDP under Advanced/Firewall.
Enable uPnP and Multi-cast Streaming under Advanced/Networking.
Turn off WISH, and WPS under Advanced.
WAN Port Speed set to Auto or specific speed? Some newer ISP modems support 1000Mb so manually setting to Gb speeds can be supported by the router. Advanced/Advanced Networking/WAN Port Speed
Set current Time Zone, Date and Time. Use an NTP server feature. Tools/Time.

Are you affected by this by chance?
http://forums.dlink.com/index.php?topic=50751.0

Turn off all anti virus and firewall programs on PC while testing. 3rd party firewalls are not generally needed when using routers as they are effective on blocking malicious inbound traffic.

Turn off all devices accept for one wired PC while testing.
Logged
Cable:200mb/10Mb>NetGear C7800>DIR-882>DGS-1100>HP 24pt Gb Switch. COVR-3902/2202/1203,DIR-2680,890L,882,880L,868L,DNR-202L,DNS-345x2,DCS-933L,936L and 960L.
Go Here>Router Troubleshooting

BiGxChucK

  • Level 2 Member
  • **
  • Posts: 65
  • Really Bro?!! Come at me!!
Re: Slow Wired speeds
« Reply #2 on: April 16, 2013, 07:28:23 AM »

This sucks that I have to do all these things just to get my router to work right, possibly! I will try all these things as soon as I can. I dont know if im affected by the comcast thing.

My modem is a Zoom dosis 3 cable modem. Im not sure of the model as im on the road for work. Its the model that can handle up to 300+mbps
Logged
Xbox One/360:BiGxChucK
Battlefield Bad Company 2, Battlefield 3 & 4 recovering competitive player.

FurryNutz

  • Poweruser
  •   ▲
    ▲ ▲
  • *****
  • Posts: 47834
  • D-Link Global Forum Moderator
    • Router Troubleshooting
Re: Slow Wired speeds
« Reply #3 on: April 16, 2013, 07:31:29 AM »

It does work well out of the box too, however these are troubleshooting steps that I use and come to use mainly when setting up this router manually. These settings work well too.

Check cable between Modem and Router and Devices, swap out to be sure. Link> Cat6 is recommended.

Do you know if your modem is a stand alone mode or does it have a built in router that you know of? This is the reason why we are asking for model information on the ISP modem. So we can help you determine this. Zoom has several different models.  ::)
« Last Edit: April 16, 2013, 07:33:11 AM by FurryNutz »
Logged
Cable:200mb/10Mb>NetGear C7800>DIR-882>DGS-1100>HP 24pt Gb Switch. COVR-3902/2202/1203,DIR-2680,890L,882,880L,868L,DNR-202L,DNS-345x2,DCS-933L,936L and 960L.
Go Here>Router Troubleshooting

BiGxChucK

  • Level 2 Member
  • **
  • Posts: 65
  • Really Bro?!! Come at me!!
Re: Slow Wired speeds
« Reply #4 on: April 16, 2013, 09:18:08 AM »

At a minimum I run Cat5e cables. My Zoom modem does not have wireless built-in. I have messed with the settings prior to this thread, should I restore to factory out of the box settings before we go into the trouble shooting steps?

Edit. All cables between modem and router are new. Cables from router to devices are less than 6 monthes old. I have 2 50' cat6 cables in stock if you think I should replace cabled
« Last Edit: April 16, 2013, 09:20:24 AM by BiGxChucK »
Logged
Xbox One/360:BiGxChucK
Battlefield Bad Company 2, Battlefield 3 & 4 recovering competitive player.

FurryNutz

  • Poweruser
  •   ▲
    ▲ ▲
  • *****
  • Posts: 47834
  • D-Link Global Forum Moderator
    • Router Troubleshooting
Re: Slow Wired speeds
« Reply #5 on: April 16, 2013, 09:28:26 AM »

Wireless doesn't mean the the ISP Modem doesn't have a built in router. I'd like to help identify the ISP modem model so we can officially determine what your ISP Modem has.
If this modem has a built in router, it's best to bridge the modem. Having 2 routers on the same line can cause connection problems.
Double NAT
To tell if the modem is bridged or not, look at the routers web page, Status/Device Info/Wan Section, if there is a 192.168.0.# address in the WAN IP address field, then the modem is not bridged.
If the modem can't be bridged then see if the modem has a DMZ option and input the IP address the router gets from the modem and put that into the modems DMZ.
Check ISP MTU requirements, Cable is usually 1500, DSL is around 1492 down to 1472. Call the ISP and ask. Link>Checking MTU Values

Yes, Let's start over, clean and out of the box settings. Turn OFF ALL devices accept for 1 wired LAN PC. do some speed tests at various sites:
http://forums.dlink.com/index.php?topic=48352.0

Maybe someone can review your router settings with you using Link> teamviewer if your interested. Its safe and secure.


Keep us posted.



Logged
Cable:200mb/10Mb>NetGear C7800>DIR-882>DGS-1100>HP 24pt Gb Switch. COVR-3902/2202/1203,DIR-2680,890L,882,880L,868L,DNR-202L,DNS-345x2,DCS-933L,936L and 960L.
Go Here>Router Troubleshooting

BiGxChucK

  • Level 2 Member
  • **
  • Posts: 65
  • Really Bro?!! Come at me!!
Re: Slow Wired speeds
« Reply #6 on: April 16, 2013, 09:46:11 AM »

Zoom docsis 3 cable modem Model 5341J. It doesnt say it has built in router capabilities. I will check what MTUs comcast is at.
Logged
Xbox One/360:BiGxChucK
Battlefield Bad Company 2, Battlefield 3 & 4 recovering competitive player.

FurryNutz

  • Poweruser
  •   ▲
    ▲ ▲
  • *****
  • Posts: 47834
  • D-Link Global Forum Moderator
    • Router Troubleshooting
Re: Slow Wired speeds
« Reply #7 on: April 16, 2013, 10:25:43 AM »

http://www.zoomtel.com/products/5341J.html

Ok, this is a stand alone modem.  ;) This is good.

Logged
Cable:200mb/10Mb>NetGear C7800>DIR-882>DGS-1100>HP 24pt Gb Switch. COVR-3902/2202/1203,DIR-2680,890L,882,880L,868L,DNR-202L,DNS-345x2,DCS-933L,936L and 960L.
Go Here>Router Troubleshooting

BiGxChucK

  • Level 2 Member
  • **
  • Posts: 65
  • Really Bro?!! Come at me!!
Re: Slow Wired speeds
« Reply #8 on: April 16, 2013, 10:55:43 AM »

I reset to factory settings and bazinga! All is good in the world of BiGxChucK! Now how can I enable QoS to help with flow of data to Xbox so I dont have to hard wire straight to my Modem to get best possible speed?
Logged
Xbox One/360:BiGxChucK
Battlefield Bad Company 2, Battlefield 3 & 4 recovering competitive player.

FurryNutz

  • Poweruser
  •   ▲
    ▲ ▲
  • *****
  • Posts: 47834
  • D-Link Global Forum Moderator
    • Router Troubleshooting
Re: Slow Wired speeds
« Reply #9 on: April 16, 2013, 11:05:17 AM »

How many xboxes do you have that game online at one time and how many other devices are online when gaming, if any?
Logged
Cable:200mb/10Mb>NetGear C7800>DIR-882>DGS-1100>HP 24pt Gb Switch. COVR-3902/2202/1203,DIR-2680,890L,882,880L,868L,DNR-202L,DNS-345x2,DCS-933L,936L and 960L.
Go Here>Router Troubleshooting

BiGxChucK

  • Level 2 Member
  • **
  • Posts: 65
  • Really Bro?!! Come at me!!
Re: Slow Wired speeds
« Reply #10 on: April 16, 2013, 11:15:22 AM »

I have one Xbox360, WiiU and PC hard wired to router. We have one WiiU and one Wii, iPad, and 2 cell phones wireless. Only the PC, my cell phone and Xbox are running as we speak
Logged
Xbox One/360:BiGxChucK
Battlefield Bad Company 2, Battlefield 3 & 4 recovering competitive player.

BiGxChucK

  • Level 2 Member
  • **
  • Posts: 65
  • Really Bro?!! Come at me!!
Re: Slow Wired speeds
« Reply #11 on: April 16, 2013, 11:18:27 AM »

Right now im playing BF3 on Xbox and i'm getting all kinds of lag. Its enough to notice and get pwnd because of it. I'm a 2.75 KD+ player
Logged
Xbox One/360:BiGxChucK
Battlefield Bad Company 2, Battlefield 3 & 4 recovering competitive player.

FurryNutz

  • Poweruser
  •   ▲
    ▲ ▲
  • *****
  • Posts: 47834
  • D-Link Global Forum Moderator
    • Router Troubleshooting
Re: Slow Wired speeds
« Reply #12 on: April 16, 2013, 11:23:47 AM »

I recommend the following:
http://forums.dlink.com/index.php?topic=47344.0

Use the Single XboxSpecificPT rule example for your 1 xbox and Multi PC or Device example rule for setting a QoS rule for all other devices. Set the priority to 50 for the xbox and 128 for the Other devices.

Let us know if you have questions or need more help.

Logged
Cable:200mb/10Mb>NetGear C7800>DIR-882>DGS-1100>HP 24pt Gb Switch. COVR-3902/2202/1203,DIR-2680,890L,882,880L,868L,DNR-202L,DNS-345x2,DCS-933L,936L and 960L.
Go Here>Router Troubleshooting

BiGxChucK

  • Level 2 Member
  • **
  • Posts: 65
  • Really Bro?!! Come at me!!
Re: Slow Wired speeds
« Reply #13 on: April 16, 2013, 02:08:31 PM »

I only added the xbox to the rule list for now. Do I need to add the other devices for the qos to work properly? My speed is dtill good and fast btw

Edit: I use a ShaperProbe Test to test my speed.
« Last Edit: April 16, 2013, 02:13:01 PM by BiGxChucK »
Logged
Xbox One/360:BiGxChucK
Battlefield Bad Company 2, Battlefield 3 & 4 recovering competitive player.

FurryNutz

  • Poweruser
  •   ▲
    ▲ ▲
  • *****
  • Posts: 47834
  • D-Link Global Forum Moderator
    • Router Troubleshooting
Re: Slow Wired speeds
« Reply #14 on: April 16, 2013, 02:11:00 PM »

You only need to add the Other Devices rule if you are gaming while other devices are online at the same time you are gaming, like streaming video, audio or movies.

Keep us posted.
Logged
Cable:200mb/10Mb>NetGear C7800>DIR-882>DGS-1100>HP 24pt Gb Switch. COVR-3902/2202/1203,DIR-2680,890L,882,880L,868L,DNR-202L,DNS-345x2,DCS-933L,936L and 960L.
Go Here>Router Troubleshooting
Pages: [1] 2 3