• October 29, 2020, 03:29:09 PM
  • Welcome, Guest
Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

News:

This Forum Beta is ONLY for registered owners of D-Link products in the USA for which we have created boards at this time.

Author Topic: Extend my wireless range via wire  (Read 4611 times)

jgrove

  • Level 1 Member
  • *
  • Posts: 22
Extend my wireless range via wire
« on: May 05, 2009, 01:08:54 AM »

Hope this makes some sense, i have a DIR-655 in my office connect to my cable modem. I use both the wired and wireless ports on this.

I need to further my wireless and wired coverage to other parts of the building, i have run a cable from one of the ports on the back of the DIR-655 to another room which is where i need more wired and wireless coverage.

Is there a product that will do this? Will the DAP-1522 work?

Any help appreciated,

Thanks
Logged

anon

  • Level 3 Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 263
Re: Extend my wireless range via wire
« Reply #1 on: May 05, 2009, 09:16:06 AM »

Yes it can.

http://www.dlink.com/products/?sec=1&pid=663
Logged

KGB7

  • Level 1 Member
  • *
  • Posts: 23
Re: Extend my wireless range via wire
« Reply #2 on: May 07, 2009, 01:54:03 PM »

Or you can use another DIR655 for the same price and more features.

Logged

Fatman

  • Level 9 Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 1675
Re: Extend my wireless range via wire
« Reply #3 on: May 07, 2009, 02:13:31 PM »

I don't think there are any features that you keep if you hook it up as an AP.  That said an argument can always be made.
Logged
non progredi est regredi

KGB7

  • Level 1 Member
  • *
  • Posts: 23
Re: Extend my wireless range via wire
« Reply #4 on: May 07, 2009, 03:11:12 PM »

You might not keep ALL features, but if you were to use it as a Router on its own later on, it will be more useful then a stand alone AP.

Logged

jgrove

  • Level 1 Member
  • *
  • Posts: 22
Re: Extend my wireless range via wire
« Reply #5 on: May 08, 2009, 01:06:54 AM »

Thanks for all your comments, the DIR-655 and DAP-1522 and 1353 are pounds 100 UK Pounds, so by comparison they are expensive.

While i know this is a D-Link forum i thought i would share what i have done.

My DIR-655 is in my office, its has wired and wireless connections, a wire from this router goes around my house to my living room, where i wanted the new connections to be available. I went to a local store (Argos) and bought a Buffalo WHR-G300N Access Point and Bridge for 38 UK Pounds. It was a long shot as i didnt think it would work. After setting the Buffalo's IP to the same as the existing network and providing it with the gateway ip (DIR-655) is was up and running.

Now i haven't extended my wireless range, just created a new wireless access point, so i have 2 wireless points in my house with different SSID's. The good thing about this is that i can also use the wired ports on the back of the Buffalo unit as well.

Many thanks for your help and comments, hope my information is helpful to someone,

Cheers
Logged