• December 07, 2019, 12:34:07 AM
  • Welcome, Guest
Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

News:

This Forum Beta is ONLY for registered owners of D-Link products in the USA for which we have created boards at this time.

Author Topic: 5gh not working  (Read 3482 times)

ColdH2Odvr

  • Level 1 Member
  • *
  • Posts: 3
5gh not working
« on: March 23, 2013, 09:27:36 AM »

 I have two issues. The first is I can't seem to get anything on the 5gh band. Dlink (2.4 gh shows up) but neither dlink-media nor dlink-media-guest are present) . The second issue is wireless performance.  Performance was horrid so I upgraded to 1.04. Not sure how to classify performance now... huge waits for pages to load on our two netbooks (intermittently reasonable but mostly one to ten minutes), Kindle Fires passable with occasional long loads, Panasonic Dvd player streams Netflix no problems. I live in the sticks so no other networks to interfere. Only other wireless device is a Brother printer that's not connected yet. Physical setup is Zoom modem -> switch -> house wiring (one Pc on lan) -> 857 in video room.

Any thoughts? TIA

Dave
Logged

FurryNutz

  • Poweruser
  •   ▲
    ▲ ▲
  • *****
  • Posts: 47961
  • D-Link Global Forum Moderator
    • Router Troubleshooting
Re: 5gh not working
« Reply #1 on: March 23, 2013, 09:42:19 AM »

Link>Welcome!

What region are you located?

Was a Factory Reset been performed before and after sending the FW file? Did you use IE to updating FW?

Need to rename the default SSID names to something new. Can be anything as default names could be used by other near by routers.

Any cordless house phones?
Any other WiFi routers in the area? Link> Use InSSIDer to find out. How many?

Ensure you have devices that support the 5Ghz radio. Refer to the devices Mfr support site for information on what your devices support. Not all devices support 5Ghz, only 2.4Ghz radios.
Logged
Cable:200mb/10Mb>NetGear C7800>DIR-882>DGS-1100>HP 24pt Gb Switch. COVR-3902/2202/1203,DIR-2680,890L,882,880L,868L,DNR-202L,DNS-345x2,DCS-933L,936L and 960L.
Go Here>Router Troubleshooting

ColdH2Odvr

  • Level 1 Member
  • *
  • Posts: 3
Re: 5gh not working
« Reply #2 on: March 23, 2013, 11:07:45 AM »

Region: US (NW)

Restart yes, factory reset no. Updated using Chrome.

I'll rename but nearest router has to be at least a mile away.

Cordless yes - 1.9gHz

Wi-fi Analyzer (Android) shows nothing but the 857.

Was sure the KF did 5gHz but a bit more googling and it appears the KF is 2.4 gHz only (bummer).
Logged

FurryNutz

  • Poweruser
  •   ▲
    ▲ ▲
  • *****
  • Posts: 47961
  • D-Link Global Forum Moderator
    • Router Troubleshooting
Re: 5gh not working
« Reply #3 on: March 23, 2013, 11:13:56 AM »

Check with a devices that supports 5Ghz radios to make sure the 5Ghz radio it working. I presume it is. If you don't have any devices using 5Ghz radio, then you can turn it off until you get get something that can use it.

Please use this for doing FW updates:
FW Update Process
Logged
Cable:200mb/10Mb>NetGear C7800>DIR-882>DGS-1100>HP 24pt Gb Switch. COVR-3902/2202/1203,DIR-2680,890L,882,880L,868L,DNR-202L,DNS-345x2,DCS-933L,936L and 960L.
Go Here>Router Troubleshooting

ColdH2Odvr

  • Level 1 Member
  • *
  • Posts: 3
Re: 5gh not working
« Reply #4 on: March 23, 2013, 12:18:35 PM »

"Check with a devices that supports 5Ghz radios to make sure the 5Ghz radio it working". As a rule I try not to be an idiot (at least not publicly)... sometimes it just doesn't work out that way.  Seriously thought the fire had 5gHz.

Out of curiosity, why the factory reset?

Thanks,

Dave
Logged

FurryNutz

  • Poweruser
  •   ▲
    ▲ ▲
  • *****
  • Posts: 47961
  • D-Link Global Forum Moderator
    • Router Troubleshooting
Re: 5gh not working
« Reply #5 on: March 23, 2013, 12:21:50 PM »

IF you don't have 5Ghz supporting devices, then you can turn that radio off until such time when you do get something. You'll be fine for now.

Doing a factory reset both before and after just ensures that the new FW has a clean slate to work on during this process.
Logged
Cable:200mb/10Mb>NetGear C7800>DIR-882>DGS-1100>HP 24pt Gb Switch. COVR-3902/2202/1203,DIR-2680,890L,882,880L,868L,DNR-202L,DNS-345x2,DCS-933L,936L and 960L.
Go Here>Router Troubleshooting