• February 28, 2021, 04:45:44 AM
  • Welcome, Guest
Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

News:

This Forum Beta is ONLY for registered owners of D-Link products in the USA for which we have created boards at this time.

Author Topic: DSL-2740R and DSL-2780 as AP's?  (Read 7978 times)

Hyflexx

  • Level 1 Member
  • *
  • Posts: 3
DSL-2740R and DSL-2780 as AP's?
« on: March 18, 2013, 11:14:48 AM »

Hey,

I'm wondering if anyone can help me change my current network slightly to replace a wireless acesss point which only supports wireless B/G with a DSL router coverted to be a wireless AP...

I have a DSL-2740R and a DSL-2780 sitting in the corner of my room doing nothing and would love it if they can both be turned into wireless access points.

Any help would be much appreciated.

Current Network Layout
Main Router: Huawei HG533

Huawei HG533
LAN 1 = PC
LAN 1 = PC
LAN 1 = PC
LAN 4 = Linksys EZXS55W (5 Port Switch)

Linksys EZXS55W
LAN 1 = PC
LAN 2 = PC
LAN 3 = PC
LAN 4 = PC
LAN 5 = Linksys WAP54G (Wireless AP)
Logged

FurryNutz

  • Poweruser
  •   ▲
    ▲ ▲
  • *****
  • Posts: 49522
  • D-Link Global Forum Moderator
    • Router Troubleshooting
Re: DSL-2740R and DSL-2780 as AP's?
« Reply #1 on: March 18, 2013, 11:24:41 AM »

You can try this however be aware that some DLink products do not support any form form or bridging or converting into an AP: Bridge Mode vs Relay vs Acess Point (AP) / Routers vs Dedicated Access Points (AP)

Modems maybe particular in this as well
Logged
Cable: 1Gb/50Mb>NetGear CAX80>DIR-882>HP 24pt Gb Switch. COVR-1202/2202/3902,DIR-2660/80,3xDGL-4500s,DIR-857,835,827,815,890L,880L,868L,836L,810L,685,657,3x655s,645,628,601,DNR-202L,DNS-345,DCS-933L,936L,960L and 8000LH.

Hyflexx

  • Level 1 Member
  • *
  • Posts: 3
Re: DSL-2740R and DSL-2780 as AP's?
« Reply #2 on: March 18, 2013, 12:13:25 PM »

Thanks for your reply.

I tried the link http://forums.dlink.com/index.php?topic=40856.0 but on the irst router I tried I wasn't totally sure if I did it correct because the router is a fair bit different to how it is explained, is it possible for me to provide a series of screenshots or something to see what you make of it, maybe I'm doing stuff wrong.

Note my routers are all 192.168.1.1

Thanks in advance
Logged

FurryNutz

  • Poweruser
  •   ▲
    ▲ ▲
  • *****
  • Posts: 49522
  • D-Link Global Forum Moderator
    • Router Troubleshooting
Re: DSL-2740R and DSL-2780 as AP's?
« Reply #3 on: March 18, 2013, 12:56:14 PM »

Each dsl modem needs to have a different IP address from the default one, so on the 2740, set it for 192.168.1.50 and for the 2780 set it to 192.168.1.51 if 192.168.1.1 is the address of the main host router. If the main host router is 192.168.0.1, then just change the 3rd number to 0. Subnet mask should be the same as the main host router.

DHCP, uPnP, firewall and any other options like filters, WPS, and such, need to be turned OFF or disabled. If this works, and after you have set up the addresses and disabled everything, just connect the LAN cable to the LAN port of the modems to the LAN port of the main host router.
Logged
Cable: 1Gb/50Mb>NetGear CAX80>DIR-882>HP 24pt Gb Switch. COVR-1202/2202/3902,DIR-2660/80,3xDGL-4500s,DIR-857,835,827,815,890L,880L,868L,836L,810L,685,657,3x655s,645,628,601,DNR-202L,DNS-345,DCS-933L,936L,960L and 8000LH.

Hyflexx

  • Level 1 Member
  • *
  • Posts: 3
Re: DSL-2740R and DSL-2780 as AP's?
« Reply #4 on: March 18, 2013, 02:47:46 PM »

Each dsl modem needs to have a different IP address from the default one, so on the 2740, set it for 192.168.1.50 and for the 2780 set it to 192.168.1.51 if 192.168.1.1 is the address of the main host router. If the main host router is 192.168.0.1, then just change the 3rd number to 0. Subnet mask should be the same as the main host router.

DHCP, uPnP, firewall and any other options like filters, WPS, and such, need to be turned OFF or disabled. If this works, and after you have set up the addresses and disabled everything, just connect the LAN cable to the LAN port of the modems to the LAN port of the main host router.

Awesome that worked that time, if I have two fairly close to eachother should one be on G and one be on N (there is 2 devices in the house what can only do max of G)
Logged

FurryNutz

  • Poweruser
  •   ▲
    ▲ ▲
  • *****
  • Posts: 49522
  • D-Link Global Forum Moderator
    • Router Troubleshooting
Re: DSL-2740R and DSL-2780 as AP's?
« Reply #5 on: March 18, 2013, 03:16:13 PM »

I would keep them a far apart as possible. They ca see same modes, SSID name and passwords, just make sure they are using different channels, So if you main host router is on 11, put on AP on 6 and the other on 1.
Logged
Cable: 1Gb/50Mb>NetGear CAX80>DIR-882>HP 24pt Gb Switch. COVR-1202/2202/3902,DIR-2660/80,3xDGL-4500s,DIR-857,835,827,815,890L,880L,868L,836L,810L,685,657,3x655s,645,628,601,DNR-202L,DNS-345,DCS-933L,936L,960L and 8000LH.