• July 22, 2019, 04:53:30 AM
  • Welcome, Guest
Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

News:

This Forum Beta is ONLY for registered owners of D-Link products in the USA for which we have created boards at this time.

Pages: [1] 2

Author Topic: MyDlink account and cameras in different regions  (Read 14377 times)

mvsetecka

  • Level 1 Member
  • *
  • Posts: 2
MyDlink account and cameras in different regions
« on: January 30, 2013, 06:54:57 AM »

Hey guys,

do you have any idea if it is somehow possible to have cameras from different regions (Europe + Middle East) under one account?
I have 5x DCS-942L in different EU countries assigned to one mydlink account and working perfectly.
I have recently installed 2 other cams in Dubai and just because of these 2 I am forced to have another mydlink account.

Is there a way to have all of them in one account?

Thank you
Regards,
Martin
« Last Edit: January 30, 2013, 07:05:54 AM by mvsetecka »
Logged

happyhere

  • Level 3 Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 173
Re: MyDlink account and cameras in different regions
« Reply #1 on: February 03, 2013, 04:41:55 AM »

mine is working fine under 1 mydlink account
country1- 1 dcs942 and 932
country2- 1 dcs942
Logged

JavaLawyer

  • BETA Tester
  • Level 15 Member
  • *
  • Posts: 12190
  • D-Link Global Forum Moderator
    • FoundFootageCritic
Re: MyDlink account and cameras in different regions
« Reply #2 on: February 03, 2013, 11:39:27 AM »

mine is working fine under 1 mydlink account
country1- 1 dcs942 and 932
country2- 1 dcs942

Are the countries geographically adjacent or near each other? This is pure conjecture, but it's possible traffic is routed to different data centers (and different mydlink databases) based on the general geographic region of each camera installed.
Logged
Find answers here: D-Link ShareCenter FAQ I D-Link Network Camera FAQ
There's no such thing as too many backups FFC

leeregan

  • Level 1 Member
  • *
  • Posts: 2
Re: MyDlink account and cameras in different regions
« Reply #3 on: February 03, 2013, 06:38:11 PM »

I am having the same trouble. I purchased 2 cameras in Singapore and another in the UK.
I want to use the UK purchased camera in singapore with my existing account but i keep getting errors when i try to add to mydlink account.

Can someone please help us with this?
Logged

happyhere

  • Level 3 Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 173
Re: MyDlink account and cameras in different regions
« Reply #4 on: February 06, 2013, 09:36:17 PM »

I take back what I said last Feb 3.

Now, I am unable to see the other 2 camera outside my country.. both in asia

DCS Camera1 - countryB - green status on iphone but getting error 2802F2200
DCS Camera2 - countryB - green status on iphone but getting error 2802F2200
DCS Camera3 - countryA - my country, can view on iphone

I am on countryA and now getting error message when I tried to view Cam1 and Cam2
ERROR = "Please Check Your Network Settings and Try Again. (2802F2200)"

The Cam1 and Cam2 have "GREEN" status, but somehow their description is greyed out.

Is there a mydlink "clause" that we should use the mydlink account in one country only? 
Actually, I am just testing the Cam3 and eventually move it  along with Cam1/2 in same country.
Logged

JavaLawyer

  • BETA Tester
  • Level 15 Member
  • *
  • Posts: 12190
  • D-Link Global Forum Moderator
    • FoundFootageCritic
Re: MyDlink account and cameras in different regions
« Reply #5 on: February 07, 2013, 05:18:28 AM »

I made a query to D-Link to see whether mydlink accounts are segmented by region or whether a single account can accept all cameras globally. Will post back when I have more information.
:-\  ???
Logged
Find answers here: D-Link ShareCenter FAQ I D-Link Network Camera FAQ
There's no such thing as too many backups FFC

mvsetecka

  • Level 1 Member
  • *
  • Posts: 2
Re: MyDlink account and cameras in different regions
« Reply #6 on: February 11, 2013, 06:13:17 AM »

This is the answer I got from Dlink support:

Quote
Dear customer,
unfortunately the cameras in Dubai will be register at the myDlink Server for Asia and not at the myDlink Server for the EU.

You need for every Server a mydlink account.

A workaround is to buy the cameras in Europe and set them up in Dubai, then they will register at the EU mydlink Server.

The issue with the workaround is the performance every request to the myDlink cams in Dubai will run through the EU mydlink Server.
Logged

JavaLawyer

  • BETA Tester
  • Level 15 Member
  • *
  • Posts: 12190
  • D-Link Global Forum Moderator
    • FoundFootageCritic
Re: MyDlink account and cameras in different regions
« Reply #7 on: February 11, 2013, 06:24:48 AM »

So the camera hardware determines the server not the location? That's my read, although the wording is a bit cryptic.  ???  :-\
Logged
Find answers here: D-Link ShareCenter FAQ I D-Link Network Camera FAQ
There's no such thing as too many backups FFC

JavaLawyer

  • BETA Tester
  • Level 15 Member
  • *
  • Posts: 12190
  • D-Link Global Forum Moderator
    • FoundFootageCritic
Re: MyDlink account and cameras in different regions
« Reply #8 on: February 14, 2013, 05:25:57 PM »

I have a definitive response from D-Link regarding device association with mydlink accounts and geography. Please see the following sticky post: mydlink.com - Rules for Device Association with Regional mydlink.com Accounts
« Last Edit: February 14, 2013, 05:31:05 PM by JavaLawyer »
Logged
Find answers here: D-Link ShareCenter FAQ I D-Link Network Camera FAQ
There's no such thing as too many backups FFC

JavaLawyer

  • BETA Tester
  • Level 15 Member
  • *
  • Posts: 12190
  • D-Link Global Forum Moderator
    • FoundFootageCritic
Re: MyDlink account and cameras in different regions
« Reply #9 on: February 22, 2013, 02:26:00 PM »

Please see this link: mydlink.com - Rules for Device Association with Regional mydlink.com Accounts

It is possible that the inability to associate particular D-Link cameras with a mydlink account may be due to the camera's region of origin. I just became aware of this information a few days ago and posted the above referenced sticky post.

Please visit the sticky post above and make sure the region(s) where you purchased your cameras are within the same "site" as the mydlink account you are attempting to associate.

Please post back and share your findings.

As of this posting, I am unaware of any special code or marks on the camera hardware or web UI that can identify the camera as belonging to a particular "site".
.
« Last Edit: February 22, 2013, 02:29:19 PM by JavaLawyer »
Logged
Find answers here: D-Link ShareCenter FAQ I D-Link Network Camera FAQ
There's no such thing as too many backups FFC

happyhere

  • Level 3 Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 173
Re: MyDlink account and cameras in different regions
« Reply #10 on: March 08, 2013, 08:07:58 PM »

Hi Javalawyer, many thanks on your research and update. At least now we know :)
Logged

Martijn

  • Level 1 Member
  • *
  • Posts: 9
Re: MyDlink account and cameras in different regions
« Reply #11 on: February 26, 2014, 11:57:10 PM »

It's been a while, any news on this? Latest was that DLink was working on one global platform, this was early 2013, we;re one year later now?
Logged
DCS-932K -> wireless connected to DIR-601 -> ethernet connected to Thomson TG789vn (custom KPN firmware)

JavaLawyer

  • BETA Tester
  • Level 15 Member
  • *
  • Posts: 12190
  • D-Link Global Forum Moderator
    • FoundFootageCritic
Re: MyDlink account and cameras in different regions
« Reply #12 on: March 04, 2014, 05:24:53 AM »

I believe everything is still status quo. I'll ask for an update from D-Link and post back if I hear anything new.
Logged
Find answers here: D-Link ShareCenter FAQ I D-Link Network Camera FAQ
There's no such thing as too many backups FFC

santhy

  • Level 2 Member
  • **
  • Posts: 26
Re: MyDlink account and cameras in different regions
« Reply #13 on: March 21, 2014, 07:02:30 AM »

Yes, would love to see this finally working.
Moved from Europe to Australia, and he really annoys me that I can't I need 2 mydlink accounts to view my 3 cameras (2 Europe / 1 Australia).

This is the opposite of a "cloud" service really :-)

Hope Dlink fixes this everlasting issue soon...

Santhy.
Logged

JavaLawyer

  • BETA Tester
  • Level 15 Member
  • *
  • Posts: 12190
  • D-Link Global Forum Moderator
    • FoundFootageCritic
Re: MyDlink account and cameras in different regions
« Reply #14 on: March 21, 2014, 08:06:55 AM »

Yes, would love to see this finally working.
Moved from Europe to Australia, and he really annoys me that I can't I need 2 mydlink accounts to view my 3 cameras (2 Europe / 1 Australia).

This is the opposite of a "cloud" service really :-)

Hope Dlink fixes this everlasting issue soon...

Santhy.

Many mydlink service users share your sentiment.

While posting issues in this forum is a great means of sharing information with other members and notifying D-Link of issues, D-Link escalates issues for resolution based on the volume of calls received through the official D-Link support desk. If D-Link receives a large number of calls pertaining to the same issue, that issue is more likely to be escalated as a problem for investigation and resolution. As such, in addition to posting issues in this forum, forum members are encouraged to call the toll free D-Link support desk to report their issue: 1-888-851-6464.
Logged
Find answers here: D-Link ShareCenter FAQ I D-Link Network Camera FAQ
There's no such thing as too many backups FFC
Pages: [1] 2