• August 17, 2019, 07:59:53 PM
  • Welcome, Guest
Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

News:

This Forum Beta is ONLY for registered owners of D-Link products in the USA for which we have created boards at this time.

Author Topic: Re: DIR-655 B1 connection get slow v2  (Read 7864 times)

Falathar

  • Level 1 Member
  • *
  • Posts: 9
Re: DIR-655 B1 connection get slow v2
« on: January 28, 2013, 10:38:12 AM »

Ok torrents are now off on everything, 4 machines in total on the network, around 150 connections active acording to the router and itīs chocking :(
Logged

FurryNutz

  • Poweruser
  •   ▲
    ▲ ▲
  • *****
  • Posts: 47679
  • D-Link Global Forum Moderator
    • Router Troubleshooting
Re: DIR-655 B1 connection get slow v2
« Reply #1 on: January 28, 2013, 10:44:45 AM »

Turn OFF the following?
SPI, QoS traffic shaping, WISH, WPS, Any rules you have set up. Save settings and reboot.

Check cable between Modem and Router, swap out to be sure. Link> Cat6 is recommended.

What applications are you running on these 4 PCs that are running in the back ground, if any?
How are you determining the router is choking?

Maybe someone can review your router settings with you using Link> teamviewer if your interested. Its safe and secure.
Logged
Cable:200mb/10Mb>NetGear C7800>DIR-882>DGS-1100>HP 24pt Gb Switch. COVR-3902/2202/1203,DIR-2680,890L,882,880L,868L,DNR-202L,DNS-345x2,DCS-933L,936L and 960L.
Go Here>Router Troubleshooting

Hard Harry

  • Guest
Re: DIR-655 B1 connection get slow v2
« Reply #2 on: January 28, 2013, 10:48:19 AM »

150 active connections? Thats kind of high if there is no heavy traffic. Could you send me me a screenshot? Or could you enable remote access? Im curious what that traffic is. Wonder if you could have some kind of bot on one of your computers.
Logged

Falathar

  • Level 1 Member
  • *
  • Posts: 9
Re: DIR-655 B1 connection get slow v2
« Reply #3 on: January 28, 2013, 11:01:02 AM »

Turn OFF the following?
SPI, QoS traffic shaping, WISH, WPS, Any rules you have set up. Save settings and reboot.

Check cable between Modem and Router, swap out to be sure. Link> Cat6 is recommended.

What applications are you running on these 4 PCs that are running in the back ground, if any?
How are you determining the router is choking?

Maybe someone can review your router settings with you using Link> teamviewer if your interested. Its safe and secure.


Yeah i have tried that both on and off in diffrent variations, right now itīs skype on 3 of them, some surfing, irc, streaming a game from the world cup in bandy, i determ it is starting to choking beacuse the stream is constantly buffering (it is streaming from a huge ass company so not bandwith problem from their side) and the net is generally slow, so is the router to access
Logged

Falathar

  • Level 1 Member
  • *
  • Posts: 9
Re: DIR-655 B1 connection get slow v2
« Reply #4 on: January 28, 2013, 11:03:54 AM »

and sure i have teamw installed on this laptop, (if you have skype you can contact med there "Falathar" Andreas Larsson Sweden, for the info needed, or a pm here)
Logged

Hard Harry

  • Guest
Re: DIR-655 B1 connection get slow v2
« Reply #5 on: January 28, 2013, 11:12:01 AM »

Well if you prefer. One sec
Logged

Hard Harry

  • Guest
Re: DIR-655 B1 connection get slow v2
« Reply #6 on: January 28, 2013, 11:19:25 AM »

Hmm, having a hard time contacting you on skype. Then again I havent used Skype in like forever. Gchat?
Logged

FurryNutz

  • Poweruser
  •   ▲
    ▲ ▲
  • *****
  • Posts: 47679
  • D-Link Global Forum Moderator
    • Router Troubleshooting
Re: DIR-655 B1 connection get slow v2
« Reply #7 on: January 28, 2013, 11:21:33 AM »

FYI, skype has been updated so you might want to download the newest version or send a PM.

Thank you Harry.  ;)
Logged
Cable:200mb/10Mb>NetGear C7800>DIR-882>DGS-1100>HP 24pt Gb Switch. COVR-3902/2202/1203,DIR-2680,890L,882,880L,868L,DNR-202L,DNS-345x2,DCS-933L,936L and 960L.
Go Here>Router Troubleshooting

Falathar

  • Level 1 Member
  • *
  • Posts: 9
Re: DIR-655 B1 connection get slow v2
« Reply #8 on: January 28, 2013, 11:25:11 AM »

sent a pm with info to you harry
Logged

Hard Harry

  • Guest
Re: DIR-655 B1 connection get slow v2
« Reply #9 on: January 28, 2013, 11:28:44 AM »

Updated. I can PM Furry, but not you. Are you online? Privacy setting set to allow? If you prefer you can PM me here on the forums with your TV info. Either/or
Logged

FurryNutz

  • Poweruser
  •   ▲
    ▲ ▲
  • *****
  • Posts: 47679
  • D-Link Global Forum Moderator
    • Router Troubleshooting
Re: DIR-655 B1 connection get slow v2
« Reply #10 on: February 07, 2013, 11:19:59 AM »

Any final status on this?  ???
Logged
Cable:200mb/10Mb>NetGear C7800>DIR-882>DGS-1100>HP 24pt Gb Switch. COVR-3902/2202/1203,DIR-2680,890L,882,880L,868L,DNR-202L,DNS-345x2,DCS-933L,936L and 960L.
Go Here>Router Troubleshooting

Falathar

  • Level 1 Member
  • *
  • Posts: 9
Re: DIR-655 B1 connection get slow v2
« Reply #11 on: February 14, 2013, 04:02:17 PM »

It seems to be working, have not have any problems with it "chocking" but it started to reboot itself rather randomly instead.

So 1 solved and 1 new to go, is not frequent enough for me to get really annoyed at it yet though
Logged

rutuag

  • Level 1 Member
  • *
  • Posts: 1
Re: DIR-655 B1 connection get slow v2
« Reply #12 on: May 09, 2013, 10:51:53 PM »

I have the exact same issue but I am not clear on which of the many suggestions seemed to have solved the problem.  Could someone please clarify that?
Logged

FurryNutz

  • Poweruser
  •   ▲
    ▲ ▲
  • *****
  • Posts: 47679
  • D-Link Global Forum Moderator
    • Router Troubleshooting
Re: DIR-655 B1 connection get slow v2
« Reply #13 on: May 10, 2013, 07:02:30 AM »

Link>Welcome!

What Hardware version is your router? Look at sticker under router.
Link>What Firmware version is currently loaded? Found on routers web page under status.
What region are you located?
Are you wired or wireless connected to the router?
Has a Factory Reset been performed?

What ISP Service do you have? Cable or DSL?
What ISP Modem Mfr. and model # do you have?

Check ISP MTU requirements, Cable is usually 1500, DSL is around 1492 down to 1472. Call the ISP and ask. Link>Checking MTU Values
For DSL/PPPoE connections on the router, ensure that "Always ON" option is enabled.

Some things to try: - Log into the routers web page at 192.168.0.1. Use IE, Opera or FF to manage the router.
Turn off ALL QoS or Disable Traffic Shaping (DIR only) GameFuel (DGL only and if ON.) options. Advanced/QoS or Gamefuel.
Turn off Advanced DNS Services if you have this option under Setup/Internet/Manual or under Setup/PARENTAL CONTROL/Set to>None: Static IP or Obtain Automatically From ISP.
Enable Use Unicasting (compatibility for some ISP DHCP Servers) under Setup/Internet/Manual.
Turn on DNS Relay under Setup/Networking. Link>Finding Faster DNS Addresses using Name Bench
Setup DHCP reserved IP addresses for all devices ON the router. Setup/Networking. This ensures each devices gets its own IP address when turned on and connected, eliminates IP address conflicts and helps in troubleshooting.
Ensure devices are set to auto obtain an IP address.
If IPv6 is an option on the router, select Local Connection Only or Disable IPv6 options under Setup/IPv6.
Set Firewall settings to Endpoint Independent for TCP and UDP under Advanced/Firewall.
Enable uPnP and Multi-cast Streaming under Advanced/Networking. Disable uPnP for testing Port Forwarding rules. Enable IPv6 Multi-cast Streaming for routers that have a Media Server option. Disable IPv6 Multi-cast Streaming if IPv6 or Media Server is not being used.
Turn off WISH, and WPS under Advanced.
WAN Port Speed set to Auto or specific speed? Some newer ISP modems support 1000Mb so manually setting to Gb speeds can be supported by the router. Advanced/Advanced Networking/WAN Port Speed
Set current Time Zone, Date and Time. Use an NTP Server feature. Tools/Time.

Turn off all anti virus and firewall programs on PC while testing. 3rd party firewalls are not generally needed when using routers as they are effective on blocking malicious inbound traffic.
Turn off all devices accept for one wired PC while testing.

Check cable between Modem and Router, swap out to be sure. Link> Cat6 is recommended.

Are you doing any Torrents?

I have the exact same issue but I am not clear on which of the many suggestions seemed to have solved the problem.  Could someone please clarify that?
Logged
Cable:200mb/10Mb>NetGear C7800>DIR-882>DGS-1100>HP 24pt Gb Switch. COVR-3902/2202/1203,DIR-2680,890L,882,880L,868L,DNR-202L,DNS-345x2,DCS-933L,936L and 960L.
Go Here>Router Troubleshooting