• October 28, 2020, 08:14:49 PM
  • Welcome, Guest
Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

News:

This Forum Beta is ONLY for registered owners of D-Link products in the USA for which we have created boards at this time.

Pages: [1] 2

Author Topic: Time Not Setting correctly on DAP-1533  (Read 20456 times)

lancemoreland

  • Level 1 Member
  • *
  • Posts: 13
Time Not Setting correctly on DAP-1533
« on: January 19, 2013, 07:00:17 AM »

This appears to be a different issue than the one described in the sticky above. I have two DAP-1533's.  Both are running firmware 1.02 from the Taiwan website.  I am running both in Bridge mode at 5 GHz only.  They both exhibit the same problem.  If you go to "Maintanence > Time and enable NTP it never updates to the correct time.  Also, after "saving" the time gets set to the same time as shown grayed out in the "Set the time manually" window.  I am using this time server: ntp1.dlink.com and tried  others and have tried time server ip address in case it was a DNS issue.  Also, why is there no DAP-1533 section on the forum?
Logged

FurryNutz

  • Poweruser
  •   ▲
    ▲ ▲
  • *****
  • Posts: 49296
  • D-Link Global Forum Moderator
    • Router Troubleshooting
Re: Time Not Setting correctly on DAP-1533
« Reply #1 on: January 19, 2013, 01:18:42 PM »

It's possible running in Bridge mode that NTP services are not enabled on the 1533 and should be passed thru by the DAP and come directly from the Main host router.

Does the NTP services work if running in AP mode?

Most DAPs are about the same, just some have some minor differences in features and the 1533 is the only DAP model to connect at 450Mb. Other then that, most DAPs are the same.
Logged
"Nothing Funny about It...." We are not here to Impress anyone! You have a be a COMPETENT user first to under stand COMPETENT help!

lancemoreland

  • Level 1 Member
  • *
  • Posts: 13
Re: Time Not Setting correctly on DAP-1533
« Reply #2 on: January 19, 2013, 02:11:56 PM »



Does the NTP services work if running in AP mode?

Most DAPs are about the same, just some have some minor differences in features and the 1533 is the only DAP model to connect at 450Mb. Other then that, most DAPs are the same.

I am not sure if it works in AP mode or not as I only use them to get 5 GHz wireless to my Roku's.  I read that the DAP-1522's had the same issue though and it was later fixed through a firmware update.  I have filled out a support ticket on the D-link website.
Logged

FurryNutz

  • Poweruser
  •   ▲
    ▲ ▲
  • *****
  • Posts: 49296
  • D-Link Global Forum Moderator
    • Router Troubleshooting
Re: Time Not Setting correctly on DAP-1533
« Reply #3 on: January 19, 2013, 02:13:26 PM »

Keep us posted. If you get a chance, check AP mode to see if NTP services work.
Logged
"Nothing Funny about It...." We are not here to Impress anyone! You have a be a COMPETENT user first to under stand COMPETENT help!

lancemoreland

  • Level 1 Member
  • *
  • Posts: 13
Re: Time Not Setting correctly on DAP-1533
« Reply #4 on: January 25, 2013, 03:33:57 PM »

It has now been almost a week and no response from D-Link regarding the support ticket that I filled out.  Very disappointing.
Logged

FurryNutz

  • Poweruser
  •   ▲
    ▲ ▲
  • *****
  • Posts: 49296
  • D-Link Global Forum Moderator
    • Router Troubleshooting
Re: Time Not Setting correctly on DAP-1533
« Reply #5 on: January 25, 2013, 03:35:15 PM »

Have you phone contacted DLink yet?
Logged
"Nothing Funny about It...." We are not here to Impress anyone! You have a be a COMPETENT user first to under stand COMPETENT help!

lancemoreland

  • Level 1 Member
  • *
  • Posts: 13
Re: Time Not Setting correctly on DAP-1533
« Reply #6 on: January 27, 2013, 12:33:47 PM »

Have you phone contacted DLink yet?

I did albeit on the weekend and was just disconnected without being able to talk to anyone.  I'll try during the week but what is needed here is a firmware fix.
Logged

FurryNutz

  • Poweruser
  •   ▲
    ▲ ▲
  • *****
  • Posts: 49296
  • D-Link Global Forum Moderator
    • Router Troubleshooting
Re: Time Not Setting correctly on DAP-1533
« Reply #7 on: January 27, 2013, 12:37:43 PM »

You'll need to confirm with DLink support and see if they can help resolve this and if they'll need to reproduce this in there labs and take appropriate action if there is a fix needed.

Keep us posted.
Logged
"Nothing Funny about It...." We are not here to Impress anyone! You have a be a COMPETENT user first to under stand COMPETENT help!

lancemoreland

  • Level 1 Member
  • *
  • Posts: 13
Re: Time Not Setting correctly on DAP-1533
« Reply #8 on: January 29, 2013, 09:20:01 AM »

I ended up dealing with Level 3 support.  They wanted to log on to my network to see first hand what was going on.  I was reluctant to do that so I sent them screen shots.  Basically the units will not update to the correct time via an NTP server and after a reboot the units revert to whatever time is in the update the time manually box even if automatic update via NTP server is selected.
Logged

FurryNutz

  • Poweruser
  •   ▲
    ▲ ▲
  • *****
  • Posts: 49296
  • D-Link Global Forum Moderator
    • Router Troubleshooting
Re: Time Not Setting correctly on DAP-1533
« Reply #9 on: January 29, 2013, 09:25:54 AM »

I usually work with other users and use teamviewer to help others out. It's safe and secure. I do recommend if you dealing with level 3, to let them have a look remotely.

Keep us posted on how it goes.
Logged
"Nothing Funny about It...." We are not here to Impress anyone! You have a be a COMPETENT user first to under stand COMPETENT help!

FurryNutz

  • Poweruser
  •   ▲
    ▲ ▲
  • *****
  • Posts: 49296
  • D-Link Global Forum Moderator
    • Router Troubleshooting
Re: Time Not Setting correctly on DAP-1533
« Reply #10 on: July 16, 2013, 11:00:34 AM »

How goes it with your DAP-1533? I recently bought one for myself. Nice little unit. I have been able to get TIME to set correctly with mine.

Let us know hows it's going.
Logged
"Nothing Funny about It...." We are not here to Impress anyone! You have a be a COMPETENT user first to under stand COMPETENT help!

AMPatrick

  • Level 2 Member
  • **
  • Posts: 43
Re: Time Not Setting correctly on DAP-1533
« Reply #11 on: September 06, 2013, 08:56:46 PM »

I have the same issue with my DAP-1533s.  Upgrading to firmware version 1.02 dated 14 March 2012 solved the problem of not being able to enable DST (daylight savings time).  However, when in Bridge mode, the DAP-1533 still does not automatically update the time.  You need to go to the Maintenance -> Time page and then do a "Save Settings" in order to get the time to update.  You do NOT have to reboot (even though it asks you to). 

Because the bridge mode does not support scheduling, the time is not an issue - which is probably why nobody in D-Link caught the problem during testing.  It just looks funny after a power cycle to see the wrong date and time but that doesn't seem to cause any harm when operating in bridge mode.

I have the identical issue on my older DAP-1522s, so I suspect the Firmware for both units is programmed by the same group at D-Link.  The DAP-1522's have been around for quiet a while and I'm surprised that this issue has never been corrected.  But of course, it is a D-Link product  ;)
Logged

FurryNutz

  • Poweruser
  •   ▲
    ▲ ▲
  • *****
  • Posts: 49296
  • D-Link Global Forum Moderator
    • Router Troubleshooting
Re: Time Not Setting correctly on DAP-1533
« Reply #12 on: September 07, 2013, 03:50:38 PM »

Well I think as for AP mode, Time should work. It's been working for my 1533. However in bridge mode, I don't think thats a major issue as theres probably not real need to capture time or keep time. Most clients connected to it would and should get correct time from the main host router or ISP services and beyond. Have Time on APs would be only needed form some logging I guess. I don't feel that Time on APs or Bridges is that important on a technical level and really isn't needed. Just my 2 cents.
Logged
"Nothing Funny about It...." We are not here to Impress anyone! You have a be a COMPETENT user first to under stand COMPETENT help!

AMPatrick

  • Level 2 Member
  • **
  • Posts: 43
Re: Time Not Setting correctly on DAP-1533
« Reply #13 on: September 08, 2013, 12:43:02 PM »

On devices that support scheduling, having the correct time is extremely important - otherwise the scheduling won't turn on and off at the right times.  Note that the DAP-1533 only supports scheduling when in AP mode.  Hence having the correct time in bridge mode would only be for aesthetic purposes.   :-\
« Last Edit: September 10, 2013, 09:55:37 AM by AMPatrick »
Logged

FurryNutz

  • Poweruser
  •   ▲
    ▲ ▲
  • *****
  • Posts: 49296
  • D-Link Global Forum Moderator
    • Router Troubleshooting
Re: Time Not Setting correctly on DAP-1533
« Reply #14 on: September 11, 2013, 11:20:01 AM »

Thats true, forgot about scheduling. Well it should be working in AP mode at least. Bridge mode it probably should to however I don't know what the behavior should be for that. I can run some tests and see what mine is doing.
Logged
"Nothing Funny about It...." We are not here to Impress anyone! You have a be a COMPETENT user first to under stand COMPETENT help!
Pages: [1] 2