Pages: [1] 2 3
  Print  
Author Topic: How to connect a modem to a DIR-815 router?  (Read 4431 times)
php111
Level 2 Member
**
Posts: 30


« on: January 12, 2013, 12:27:03 PM »


Hey everyone,

I am new to setting up routers since I never bought a router before. This is the first time I actually bought one. I ordered the D-link DIR-815 router online at Walmart.com, and I'll be receiving it this Monday which is the 14th, so I am asking my questions on here now, so I could be prepared. Please let me know what questions everyone has one for me.

1.) I don't have a wireless card in my PC, so I will be connecting wired to get WiFi via WAN and LAN ports, right? First before I forget, I have a Windows 7 32-bit desktop PC if that helps. We are working with a DSL modem residential line without phone line using a coaxial cable, and Ethernet cable from modem into the PC. May someone please provide step by step walk through instructions by connecting this D-link router to my modem and WiFi, and for me to use the WPA2 security?

2.) I have an iPhone 4 with Verizon. If I want to use my iPhone to get WiFi from the router, and turn off the Internet, and use WiFi only on my phone, how would this work?

Thank you if someone could provide info!
Logged
FurryNutz
Poweruser
  ▲
▲ ▲
*****
Posts: 27616


D-Link Global Forum Moderator


WWW
« Reply #1 on: January 12, 2013, 12:59:12 PM »

Link>Welcome!
What Hardware version is your router? Look at sticker under router.
Link>What Firmware version is currently loaded? Found on routers web page under status.
What region are you located?

You'll need to connect up one wired PC to the lan ports or use DLink QRS application on apples store. Its free and you can use that on your iphone to set up the routers wireless and probably get the router connected to the cable modem. I highly recommend connecting a wired PC to the LAN port of the router to set it up initially though.

What make and model cable modem do you have?
What ISP service do you have?
« Last Edit: January 12, 2013, 01:02:07 PM by FurryNutz » Logged

Cable:50mb/3Mb>Motorola SB6180>DGL-5500>HP 24pt Gb Switch. 3x4500s,DGL-5500,DIR-857,835,827,880L,868L,865L,826L,810L,685,657,3x655,645,601,DNS-345,DCS-933L and a Boxee.
Go Here>Router Troubleshooting
php111
Level 2 Member
**
Posts: 30


« Reply #2 on: January 12, 2013, 01:10:56 PM »

Thank you for your reply. So, my modem is already connected to my PC, so I would need to disconnect from the PC, and where do I need to connect it to the router? Do I need to connect the router to the PC, and what LAN/WAN port on the router should it be connected too from my PC?

My modem is a SURFboard SB5101, and my ISP is Service Electric.
Logged
FurryNutz
Poweruser
  ▲
▲ ▲
*****
Posts: 27616


D-Link Global Forum Moderator


WWW
« Reply #3 on: January 12, 2013, 01:17:07 PM »

You setup should look like this:

SB 5101 ISP modem>connected to WAN port on 815>DIR-815<>PC Connected to LAN port on router.
Logged

Cable:50mb/3Mb>Motorola SB6180>DGL-5500>HP 24pt Gb Switch. 3x4500s,DGL-5500,DIR-857,835,827,880L,868L,865L,826L,810L,685,657,3x655,645,601,DNS-345,DCS-933L and a Boxee.
Go Here>Router Troubleshooting
php111
Level 2 Member
**
Posts: 30


« Reply #4 on: January 12, 2013, 01:24:41 PM »

Thank you. That's easy enough for connecting. I hope so. Thank you for the welcome! Will this be already configured to get wireless? Or would I need to manually configure? If manual is required, what would be the settings, and I also would like to use WPA2?
Logged
FurryNutz
Poweruser
  ▲
▲ ▲
*****
Posts: 27616


D-Link Global Forum Moderator


WWW
« Reply #5 on: January 12, 2013, 01:32:25 PM »

It will have wireless enabled however you'll need to configure it for being secure as the wireless security is disabled out of the box. You could use either the iphone or PC to do this.

Recommended Settings:
Try single mode G or mixed G and N on 2.4Ghz and single mode N on 5Ghz.
Channel Width set for Auto 20/40Mhz or try 20Mhz only.
Try setting a manual channel to a open or unused channel. 1, 6 or 11. 11 for single mode N if the channel is clear.
What security mode are you using? Preferred security is WPA-Personal. WPA2/AES Only. Some WiFi adapters don't support AES, so you might want to try TPIK only or Auto.
Logged

Cable:50mb/3Mb>Motorola SB6180>DGL-5500>HP 24pt Gb Switch. 3x4500s,DGL-5500,DIR-857,835,827,880L,868L,865L,826L,810L,685,657,3x655,645,601,DNS-345,DCS-933L and a Boxee.
Go Here>Router Troubleshooting
joebedford
Level 2 Member
**
Posts: 42


« Reply #6 on: January 12, 2013, 01:38:07 PM »

1.) I don't have a wireless card in my PC, so I will be connecting wired to get WiFi via WAN and LAN ports, right? First before I forget, I have a Windows 7 32-bit desktop PC if that helps. We are working with a DSL modem residential line without phone line using a coaxial cable, and Ethernet cable from modem into the PC. May someone please provide step by step walk through instructions by connecting this D-link router to my modem and WiFi, and for me to use the WPA2 security?
I'm really confused by your statements:

"I don't have a wireless card in my PC, so I will be connecting wired to get WiFi "

If you don't have a wireless card in your PC you will not be able to access WiFi at all. Do you mean "connecting wired to get 'internet access'"?

"We are working with a DSL modem residential line without phone line using a coaxial cable"

Sounds like you have a CABLE modem, not a DSL modem??
Logged
FurryNutz
Poweruser
  ▲
▲ ▲
*****
Posts: 27616


D-Link Global Forum Moderator


WWW
« Reply #7 on: January 12, 2013, 01:53:36 PM »

Hold on, lets not get this person confused. Thave have mentioned that they have a SB 5 series cable modem so there ISP is cable, not DSL.

There just a bit unlearned about how to connect the ISP modem, router and PC together.

Lets not go beyond that right now. They should have all the info they need for now to get it connected. One step at a time please.
Logged

Cable:50mb/3Mb>Motorola SB6180>DGL-5500>HP 24pt Gb Switch. 3x4500s,DGL-5500,DIR-857,835,827,880L,868L,865L,826L,810L,685,657,3x655,645,601,DNS-345,DCS-933L and a Boxee.
Go Here>Router Troubleshooting
php111
Level 2 Member
**
Posts: 30


« Reply #8 on: January 12, 2013, 01:58:30 PM »

Without a wireless card in my PC I won't be able to use WiFi? I'll be receiving the router this Monday.
Logged
FurryNutz
Poweruser
  ▲
▲ ▲
*****
Posts: 27616


D-Link Global Forum Moderator


WWW
« Reply #9 on: January 12, 2013, 02:02:03 PM »

No, only wired LAN. Now if your PC as a PCI slot or a USB slot, you could add wireless to the PC if you want to using one of DLinks DWA model wifi adapters.
Logged

Cable:50mb/3Mb>Motorola SB6180>DGL-5500>HP 24pt Gb Switch. 3x4500s,DGL-5500,DIR-857,835,827,880L,868L,865L,826L,810L,685,657,3x655,645,601,DNS-345,DCS-933L and a Boxee.
Go Here>Router Troubleshooting
php111
Level 2 Member
**
Posts: 30


« Reply #10 on: January 12, 2013, 02:09:10 PM »

I have an eMachines EL 1200-07w desktop PC, and could you please get some info on this PC to see if it has a built in wireless card? I never used a wireless card, so I was only guessing it doesn't have one, but I could be wrong.
« Last Edit: January 12, 2013, 02:11:39 PM by php111 » Logged
FurryNutz
Poweruser
  ▲
▲ ▲
*****
Posts: 27616


D-Link Global Forum Moderator


WWW
« Reply #11 on: January 12, 2013, 02:14:36 PM »

I'll refer you to eMachines support and services for information on this PC as I don't have this kind of information. I would presume from my experience that most DESKTOP PCs don't come with WiFi unless a customer requests this. Most LAPTOPS do come with one built in. For desktops, adding WiFi is fairly easy. The easiest way would be to get a DLink DWA model USB adapter that you can just plug into a open USB port on the DESKTOP PC, front or back of the PC. Occasionally I connect up a DWA-160 to my tower for testing routers out.
Logged

Cable:50mb/3Mb>Motorola SB6180>DGL-5500>HP 24pt Gb Switch. 3x4500s,DGL-5500,DIR-857,835,827,880L,868L,865L,826L,810L,685,657,3x655,645,601,DNS-345,DCS-933L and a Boxee.
Go Here>Router Troubleshooting
ima420r
Level 1 Member
*
Posts: 21


« Reply #12 on: January 12, 2013, 10:26:05 PM »

I have an eMachines EL 1200-07w desktop PC, and could you please get some info on this PC to see if it has a built in wireless card? I never used a wireless card, so I was only guessing it doesn't have one, but I could be wrong.

Unless you put in a wireless card, you don't have one. Turn off all the devices, then just unplug your modem from your computer and plug it into the router. Then plug an ethernet cable from the router to your PC and turn everything back on: modem first, then router, last PC.

The directions that come with the router are very good and should explain everything well enough for you to hook everything up.

Logged
FurryNutz
Poweruser
  ▲
▲ ▲
*****
Posts: 27616


D-Link Global Forum Moderator


WWW
« Reply #13 on: January 15, 2013, 09:24:12 AM »

Any status on this? Hope you were able to get it going. Let us know.
Logged

Cable:50mb/3Mb>Motorola SB6180>DGL-5500>HP 24pt Gb Switch. 3x4500s,DGL-5500,DIR-857,835,827,880L,868L,865L,826L,810L,685,657,3x655,645,601,DNS-345,DCS-933L and a Boxee.
Go Here>Router Troubleshooting
php111
Level 2 Member
**
Posts: 30


« Reply #14 on: January 15, 2013, 03:02:30 PM »

Any status on this? Hope you were able to get it going. Let us know.

Never received the package, and the tracking hasn't updated since the 10th at 2103hrs. It's like 5 days and still hasn't updated. It's coming from USPS. I'll share the results on the tracking.



YOUR LABEL NUMBER
SERVICE
STATUS OF YOUR ITEM
DATE & TIME
LOCATION
FEATURES

Package Services
Shipment Accepted
January 10, 2013, 9:03 pm
LEHIGH VALLEY, PA 18002 
Expected Delivery By:
January 14, 2013
Delivery Confirmation™
Electronic Shipping Info Received
January 10, 2013
Logged
Pages: [1] 2 3
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Theme by webtechnica.com.