• October 25, 2020, 07:10:24 PM
  • Welcome, Guest
Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

News:

This Forum Beta is ONLY for registered owners of D-Link products in the USA for which we have created boards at this time.

Author Topic: Is there any way to get the DAP-1360 to work properly as a repeater?  (Read 3117 times)

ctothill

  • Level 1 Member
  • *
  • Posts: 1

Let me start out by saying that I have been in IT for many years now.

The issues I have with this piece of equipment have nothing to do with user error.

I have spent the better part of 6 months trying to make this thing work the way it should but it would appear (based on my experience and others) that this is just nearly useless and D-Link has no interest in trying to fix it.

I, like so many other, am trying to make it work as a repeater to try and extend the wireless signal throughout my home.  The issue is that after powering up, it will work for a few minutes, exactly as it should, but then ceases to work until it it unplugged, left for a while and then plugged back in.  It will then work for a few minutes and stop again.  What happens when it stops working is that devices can connect to the DAP-1360, the wireless signal is strong, but devices are not given an IP address and so obviously do not work properly on the network.  As soon as I unplug the DAP-1360, when it is not working, devices within range of the main router will connect to it and get an IP right away.  The IPs are leased from my main wireless router (Trendnet).  The DAP-1360 is within line of sight of the main router, maybe 40-50 feet away.

The DAP-1360 is being used with a variety of equipment that are G and N.  All devices exhibit the same problem with the DAP-1360.  There are almost no other wireless networks within range of our house and what are, have very low signal.  We do have wireless phones but they are all  DECT 6 (at 1.9 MHz).

I have tried every possible combination of settings (channels, 20/40, security, etc) and nothing changes the fact that after a few minutes the DAP-1360 stops working properly.

I have been using the stock 2.11 firmware until I read about 2.13 that was available from the Russian D-Link site.  That too made no difference.

I am not sure if this is a heat related issue or not (as the unit does get quite warm).

Has anyone that has had this problem been able to resolve it???

Do I just throw this thing away and never buy/recommend another D-Link product again?
Logged

FurryNutz

  • Poweruser
  •   ▲
    ▲ ▲
  • *****
  • Posts: 49284
  • D-Link Global Forum Moderator
    • Router Troubleshooting
Re: Is there any way to get the DAP-1360 to work properly as a repeater?
« Reply #1 on: January 07, 2013, 07:46:46 AM »

Does the 1360 work in a wired AP mode configuration. I would turn OFF the host routers WiFi as a test and see if the 1360 will work as a stand along wireless AP. Does it do the same thing?

Are you using the wizard when setting up the 1360 for Repeater mode?

Try moving the 1360 closer to the main host router and test.

Try single mode G or N or mixed G and N?
Channel Width set for Auto 20/40Mhz or try 20Mhz only.
Try setting a manual channel to a open or unused channel. 1, 6 or 11. 11 for single mode N if the channel is clear.
What security mode are you using? Preferred security is WPA-Personal. WPA2/AES Only. Some WiFi adapters don't support AES, so you might want to try TPIK only or Auto.
Logged
"Nothing Funny about It...." We are not here to Impress anyone! You have a be a COMPETENT user first to under stand COMPETENT help!

KE2QR

  • Level 1 Member
  • *
  • Posts: 19
Re: Is there any way to get the DAP-1360 to work properly as a repeater?
« Reply #2 on: January 07, 2013, 11:26:37 AM »

CTOHill:
I see you are also losing sleep! I had the same symptoms you describe (Rev A Hardware stuck with v1.10 firmware) and D-Link swapped out my unit. It works well - for the most part. You will never be able to trouble shoot the problem using the log because when the unit reboots the log is destroyed. I also could not set the time or get the watchdog to work properly. The agents at D-Link are clueless. I documented my problems in excruciating detail and got responses like - reboot the unit and try again! Have them change it out for you and if it still doesn't work call it a day! Look at all the problems that people are reporting and yet there are so few firmware revisions from D-Link. I do love my DIR-655 but would never by another D-Link product because of the lack of support. Hey D-LINK, don't you think someone from engineering should be monitoring this FORUM? Do you ever think this FORUM will leave Beta? Good luck.
Logged
DIR-655 Hardware Version A2, Firmware 1.35NA
DAP-1360 Hardware Rev A, Firmware V1.10 Purchased 7/2011

FurryNutz

  • Poweruser
  •   ▲
    ▲ ▲
  • *****
  • Posts: 49284
  • D-Link Global Forum Moderator
    • Router Troubleshooting
Re: Is there any way to get the DAP-1360 to work properly as a repeater?
« Reply #3 on: January 07, 2013, 11:48:53 AM »

We have reported a YEAR date issue with DLink and wonder if maybe this could be an issue with your Rev A products. I verified that Rev B1 655 doesn't have this bug. DLink is working on it.

Which unit was swapped out? the DAP or the 655?
Logged
"Nothing Funny about It...." We are not here to Impress anyone! You have a be a COMPETENT user first to under stand COMPETENT help!