• October 21, 2020, 01:27:53 AM
  • Welcome, Guest
Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

News:

This Forum Beta is ONLY for registered owners of D-Link products in the USA for which we have created boards at this time.

Author Topic: DAP-1360 Access Control  (Read 5981 times)

KE2QR

  • Level 1 Member
  • *
  • Posts: 19
DAP-1360 Access Control
« on: January 05, 2013, 08:09:38 AM »

Is there a way to grant access to ONLY wireless clients listed in the MAC FILTER LIST?  It says, ... The DAP-1360 can be setup to deny or only allow access to wireless clients with the listed MAC addresses. I don't understand how to set it up for ONLY ALLOW ACCESS.
Thank you.
Logged
DIR-655 Hardware Version A2, Firmware 1.35NA
DAP-1360 Hardware Rev A, Firmware V1.10 Purchased 7/2011

FurryNutz

  • Poweruser
  •   ▲
    ▲ ▲
  • *****
  • Posts: 49273
  • D-Link Global Forum Moderator
    • Router Troubleshooting
Re: DAP-1360 Access Control
« Reply #1 on: January 05, 2013, 10:01:58 AM »

What mode is the 1360 in?
Probably need to be on AP mode.
Logged
"Nothing Funny about It...." We are not here to Impress anyone! You have a be a COMPETENT user first to under stand COMPETENT help!

KE2QR

  • Level 1 Member
  • *
  • Posts: 19
Re: DAP-1360 Access Control
« Reply #2 on: January 05, 2013, 10:23:43 AM »

In am operating in repeater mode. I think it would work in this mode.
Since there is not an ENABLE switch, I was thinking, if you had at least one entry in the table (Allow Access) then the facility is turned on. Then again, it may not work; i.e., an update is required. Have you come across documentation for this? How does it work with other DLink routers?
Logged
DIR-655 Hardware Version A2, Firmware 1.35NA
DAP-1360 Hardware Rev A, Firmware V1.10 Purchased 7/2011

FurryNutz

  • Poweruser
  •   ▲
    ▲ ▲
  • *****
  • Posts: 49273
  • D-Link Global Forum Moderator
    • Router Troubleshooting
Re: DAP-1360 Access Control
« Reply #3 on: January 05, 2013, 10:29:13 AM »

Not sure if it would work in this mode since repeater mode is just repeating whats coming from the main host router. Can you still access the DAPs UI in repeater mode and see if the options are available?
Logged
"Nothing Funny about It...." We are not here to Impress anyone! You have a be a COMPETENT user first to under stand COMPETENT help!

KE2QR

  • Level 1 Member
  • *
  • Posts: 19
Re: DAP-1360 Access Control
« Reply #4 on: January 05, 2013, 10:50:42 AM »

Yes,  I am operating in repeater mode and able to access the UI.
The notes say ... Wireless Access Settings:
Create a list of MAC addresses that you would either like to accept or reject access to your network.

This is not clear. If you setup a list, must all of them be ACCEPT or all of them be REJECT? If I have a list of ACCEPT Macs then no other devices should be allowed. Therefore, you don't have to list them with the REJECT attribute. I am very confused about the intent of this option.
Logged
DIR-655 Hardware Version A2, Firmware 1.35NA
DAP-1360 Hardware Rev A, Firmware V1.10 Purchased 7/2011

FurryNutz

  • Poweruser
  •   ▲
    ▲ ▲
  • *****
  • Posts: 49273
  • D-Link Global Forum Moderator
    • Router Troubleshooting
Re: DAP-1360 Access Control
« Reply #5 on: January 05, 2013, 11:15:24 AM »

I believe that for any DLINK product with Access Control you can either do one or the other, you cannot have mixed list. So you have to either figure out if you want to allow a list of MACs or deny a list of MACs.
Logged
"Nothing Funny about It...." We are not here to Impress anyone! You have a be a COMPETENT user first to under stand COMPETENT help!

LarryNOTtheCableGuy

  • Level 2 Member
  • **
  • Posts: 54
Re: DAP-1360 Access Control
« Reply #6 on: January 05, 2013, 02:37:27 PM »

On my DAP1360, which I'm operating in AP mode, Wireless Access Settings gives the following three options:

Turn MAC Filtering OFF
Turn MAC Filtering ON and ALLOW computers listed to access the network
Turn MAC Filtering ON and DENY computers listed to access the network

I'm unable to enter any MAC addresses (i.e, the fields are greyed out) until the second or third option has been selected. So you can either ALLOW a number of computers access, or DENY a number of computers access, but not both. You have to make a choice. Although I haven't used this feature on my DAP-1360, this is exactly the way it works on the DIR-655, and I suspect most, if not all, D-Link products.

Although I haven't tested this, I agree with FuzzyNutz, in that this feature probably doesn't work in Repeater mode, and is certainly not necessary, as the DAP should simply mirror the router settings.

Larry ....
Logged
DSL-520B  HW:T2 FW:1.12NA
DIR-885L  HW:A1  FW:1.21B03
DGS-108  HW:B1
DCS-5020L  HW:A1  FW:1.16.01

KE2QR

  • Level 1 Member
  • *
  • Posts: 19
Re: DAP-1360 Access Control
« Reply #7 on: January 07, 2013, 02:34:01 PM »

You are correct in how to set the Mode - thank you for clarifying that. Although it may be surperfluous, it does work in Repeater mode!
Logged
DIR-655 Hardware Version A2, Firmware 1.35NA
DAP-1360 Hardware Rev A, Firmware V1.10 Purchased 7/2011

FurryNutz

  • Poweruser
  •   ▲
    ▲ ▲
  • *****
  • Posts: 49273
  • D-Link Global Forum Moderator
    • Router Troubleshooting
Re: DAP-1360 Access Control
« Reply #8 on: January 07, 2013, 02:36:13 PM »

Ok, also just making sure that the this YEAR date isn't limited on the DAP. If it goes beyond 2012 as a selection in the drop down, then you should be ok.
Logged
"Nothing Funny about It...." We are not here to Impress anyone! You have a be a COMPETENT user first to under stand COMPETENT help!

KE2QR

  • Level 1 Member
  • *
  • Posts: 19
Re: DAP-1360 Access Control
« Reply #9 on: January 07, 2013, 02:46:50 PM »

I just checked the dropdown box - what a surprise! the entry following 2012 is 2002 followed by 2014. Very interesting. Perhaps while they fix that bug they can get the time function to work. Happy New Year - 2002 again.
Logged
DIR-655 Hardware Version A2, Firmware 1.35NA
DAP-1360 Hardware Rev A, Firmware V1.10 Purchased 7/2011

FurryNutz

  • Poweruser
  •   ▲
    ▲ ▲
  • *****
  • Posts: 49273
  • D-Link Global Forum Moderator
    • Router Troubleshooting
Re: DAP-1360 Access Control
« Reply #10 on: January 07, 2013, 03:57:44 PM »

I recommend that you phone contact DLink support with this information. Maybe they can give you some information on it or maybe get you and RMA unit, Rev B?  ::) Worth a call to see.

Keep us posted.
Logged
"Nothing Funny about It...." We are not here to Impress anyone! You have a be a COMPETENT user first to under stand COMPETENT help!

KE2QR

  • Level 1 Member
  • *
  • Posts: 19
Re: DAP-1360 Access Control
« Reply #11 on: January 07, 2013, 08:11:30 PM »

The last two entries are 2032.
Logged
DIR-655 Hardware Version A2, Firmware 1.35NA
DAP-1360 Hardware Rev A, Firmware V1.10 Purchased 7/2011

FurryNutz

  • Poweruser
  •   ▲
    ▲ ▲
  • *****
  • Posts: 49273
  • D-Link Global Forum Moderator
    • Router Troubleshooting
Re: DAP-1360 Access Control
« Reply #12 on: January 07, 2013, 08:34:10 PM »

 ???
Logged
"Nothing Funny about It...." We are not here to Impress anyone! You have a be a COMPETENT user first to under stand COMPETENT help!