• December 07, 2019, 07:12:02 PM
  • Welcome, Guest
Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

News:

This Forum Beta is ONLY for registered owners of D-Link products in the USA for which we have created boards at this time.

Author Topic: My DHCP clients are unable to get an IP on the boot up.  (Read 19583 times)

ddywz

  • Level 1 Member
  • *
  • Posts: 12
My DHCP clients are unable to get an IP on the boot up.
« on: January 02, 2013, 12:21:47 PM »

Here is another comment on my DSR-250N.  I'm about to return this router as the list of negative things is growing on me.  I have a popcorn media player a xbox360 and a windows 7 machine that when booted they are not able to get an IP from DHCP server served from this router.  There are plenty of IPs on the range to give out.  Rebooting the router fixes the issue and they get an IP immediately after.  This is happening almost once a week now.  Also the scheduling is not working correctly.  I setup three schedules and associated them with firewall rules to deny access to internet for my kids PC and sometimes if they are already on internet the rule is not enforced.  If they happen to login and try to get out during the time that they are not allowed then it works fine.  Ohh and please don't tell me for D-Link support.  They still have not answered my first question about the NAT loopback that is over 30 days old by now.  Calling them ends up on hold for hours.

Anyone is having similar issues with this router?

Thanks!
Logged

FurryNutz

  • Poweruser
  •   ▲
    ▲ ▲
  • *****
  • Posts: 47964
  • D-Link Global Forum Moderator
    • Router Troubleshooting
Re: My DHCP clients are unable to get an IP on the boot up.
« Reply #1 on: January 02, 2013, 12:25:31 PM »

Have you Reserved IP addresses for your devices ON the router?

Are you using this in a Home or small business?
Has the FW been updated and a factory reset completed after the FW was updated and set up from scratch?
Logged
Cable:200mb/10Mb>NetGear C7800>DIR-882>DGS-1100>HP 24pt Gb Switch. COVR-3902/2202/1203,DIR-2680,890L,882,880L,868L,DNR-202L,DNS-345x2,DCS-933L,936L and 960L.
Go Here>Router Troubleshooting

ddywz

  • Level 1 Member
  • *
  • Posts: 12
Re: My DHCP clients are unable to get an IP on the boot up.
« Reply #2 on: January 02, 2013, 01:07:03 PM »

Yes, this is used for home purposes.

No, at this point I don't have any IP reservations.  I have setup the DHCP range to be from 192.168.2.10 to 192.168.2.30   I have the NAS device configured for static IP at 192.168.2.215.  The mask is /24

I successfully flushed it with FW 1.05B73 and all completed successfully.  Router rebooted and shows this verision on its top corner.   In general it works ok but sometimes devices cannot get IP addresses from it.  The media player had a 192.168.2.15 and was working fine for a week or so and then all of the sudden it lost it and it could not get one back until I rebooted the router then it got one.  Same thing happened to xbox and to a windows 7 workstation configuring its wireless interface could not get an IP no matter what until the router was rebooted. 

Thanks.
Logged

FurryNutz

  • Poweruser
  •   ▲
    ▲ ▲
  • *****
  • Posts: 47964
  • D-Link Global Forum Moderator
    • Router Troubleshooting
Re: My DHCP clients are unable to get an IP on the boot up.
« Reply #3 on: January 02, 2013, 01:12:46 PM »

Setup IP address reservations ON the router and test.
Logged
Cable:200mb/10Mb>NetGear C7800>DIR-882>DGS-1100>HP 24pt Gb Switch. COVR-3902/2202/1203,DIR-2680,890L,882,880L,868L,DNR-202L,DNS-345x2,DCS-933L,936L and 960L.
Go Here>Router Troubleshooting

ddywz

  • Level 1 Member
  • *
  • Posts: 12
Re: My DHCP clients are unable to get an IP on the boot up.
« Reply #4 on: January 02, 2013, 01:27:59 PM »

Setup IP address reservations ON the router and test.

But I don't need that feature.  I don't have any requirement such that the hosts must receive same IP all the time.  Why turning on Reservation would fix the DHCP assignment to clients from this router?

Can you explain?

Thanks,
Logged

FurryNutz

  • Poweruser
  •   ▲
    ▲ ▲
  • *****
  • Posts: 47964
  • D-Link Global Forum Moderator
    • Router Troubleshooting
Re: My DHCP clients are unable to get an IP on the boot up.
« Reply #5 on: January 10, 2013, 07:25:27 AM »

This ensures each devices gets its own IP address when turned on and connected, eliminates IP address conflicts and helps in troubleshooting.

Be aware that this router is a business/enterprise class router and is probably not a good router for home use as it has many other features and networking abilities that are not used on home networking platforms.

It's advised that if you cannot get this router to work for you, you really should look in to home class routers for ease of use and better compatibility with home networking.

I had considered this router at one point, however after talking with others in the forum and with DLink, every one advised against it.

I recommend getting into a home class around and making things easy for you to configure and to work with. DIR series class routers work very well. I have several that i've used over the years and all are great routers.

Good Luck.
Logged
Cable:200mb/10Mb>NetGear C7800>DIR-882>DGS-1100>HP 24pt Gb Switch. COVR-3902/2202/1203,DIR-2680,890L,882,880L,868L,DNR-202L,DNS-345x2,DCS-933L,936L and 960L.
Go Here>Router Troubleshooting

Hard Harry

  • Guest
Re: My DHCP clients are unable to get an IP on the boot up.
« Reply #6 on: January 12, 2013, 02:46:39 PM »

I would try disconnecting all other devices from the 250N and connecting just one standard DHCP client (laptop?) to it and see if you can get a IP that way. If not, I would need to know all settings as per shown page 15 of manual.
Logged

ddywz

  • Level 1 Member
  • *
  • Posts: 12
Re: My DHCP clients are unable to get an IP on the boot up.
« Reply #7 on: January 14, 2013, 12:03:55 PM »

After being tired and frustrated as I also lost https access to my internal resources from WAN (in other words FW rules for inbound connections also started to misbehave) I pulled this router off my services and put back the old DIR-655.  All is working back as it should. 

What I gained by doing this:

1. NAT looopback issue is gone.
2. All inbound access via port forwarding to synology devices established back.
3. DHCP service is working very good.
4. Have a DMZ option if I needed on DIR-655.

What I lost by removing DSR-250N

1. lost 4 physical RJ-45 ports  ( I miss this so bad)
2. Lost ability to do VPN at the router level
3. Lost ability to create VLANs
4. Paid for something I cannot use and since I'm over 30 days on my purchase the store would not take it back.

Not sure why a business router cannot handle home networking. One would expect the opposite to be true.
Oh well. My only hope is if later this can be flushed with dd-wrt and behave as it should.

Thanks,
Logged

FurryNutz

  • Poweruser
  •   ▲
    ▲ ▲
  • *****
  • Posts: 47964
  • D-Link Global Forum Moderator
    • Router Troubleshooting
Re: My DHCP clients are unable to get an IP on the boot up.
« Reply #8 on: January 14, 2013, 12:13:47 PM »

After being tired and frustrated as I also lost https access to my internal resources from WAN (in other words FW rules for inbound connections also started to misbehave) I pulled this router off my services and put back the old DIR-655.  All is working back as it should.  

What I gained by doing this:

1. NAT looopback issue is gone.
2. All inbound access via port forwarding to synology devices established back.
3. DHCP service is working very good.
4. Have a DMZ option if I needed on DIR-655.

What I lost by removing DSR-250N

1. lost 4 physical RJ-45 ports  ( I miss this so bad) You an always add an external network Gb switch to add more ports. I use a 24port on with my router.
2. Lost ability to do VPN at the router level
3. Lost ability to create VLANs
4. Paid for something I cannot use and since I'm over 30 days on my purchase the store would not take it back.

Not sure why a business router cannot handle home networking. One would expect the opposite to be true.
Oh well. My only hope is if later this can be flushed with dd-wrt and behave as it should. This is a business class router. WRT will never be available for it. Only a few DIR series routers have WRT made available to them.

Maybe someone can review your router settings with you using Link> teamviewer if your interested. Its safe and secure.

Did you phone contact DLink support to see if they could help you out?


« Last Edit: January 14, 2013, 12:22:23 PM by FurryNutz »
Logged
Cable:200mb/10Mb>NetGear C7800>DIR-882>DGS-1100>HP 24pt Gb Switch. COVR-3902/2202/1203,DIR-2680,890L,882,880L,868L,DNR-202L,DNS-345x2,DCS-933L,936L and 960L.
Go Here>Router Troubleshooting

ddywz

  • Level 1 Member
  • *
  • Posts: 12
Re: My DHCP clients are unable to get an IP on the boot up.
« Reply #9 on: October 20, 2013, 03:11:22 PM »

I noticed that several firmware updates were released for this router since the day I pulled it out of service.  I decided to give it another chance and try it with latest firmware.  I flushed it with 1.08B39_WW and all went fine.  Powered it up and this time increased the range of DHCP from 192.168.2.10 to 192.168.2.100.  In addition went with DHCP reservation for some of the machines since I wanted to have FW rules for them based on some schedules.  I did setup the schedule and gave it a name. Also set up the Firewall rule to "block by schedule, otherwise allow" any traffic from LAN to WAN.  End result is that the rule is not enforced when the time comes.  Basically I wanted to cut internet access on kids PCs based on some schedule but this rule does not get enforced. My other Netgear R6300's schedule works great but is very limited and not as granular and detailed as the DSR-250N's schedule feature. 

Anyone has similar results with the scheduling on this DSR-250N router?

Thanks, 
Logged

FurryNutz

  • Poweruser
  •   ▲
    ▲ ▲
  • *****
  • Posts: 47964
  • D-Link Global Forum Moderator
    • Router Troubleshooting
Re: My DHCP clients are unable to get an IP on the boot up.
« Reply #10 on: December 03, 2013, 07:40:25 AM »

Any status on this? Were you able to get the Scheduling working right?  ???

I noticed that several firmware updates were released for this router since the day I pulled it out of service.  I decided to give it another chance and try it with latest firmware.  I flushed it with 1.08B39_WW and all went fine.  Powered it up and this time increased the range of DHCP from 192.168.2.10 to 192.168.2.100.  In addition went with DHCP reservation for some of the machines since I wanted to have FW rules for them based on some schedules.  I did setup the schedule and gave it a name. Also set up the Firewall rule to "block by schedule, otherwise allow" any traffic from LAN to WAN.  End result is that the rule is not enforced when the time comes.  Basically I wanted to cut internet access on kids PCs based on some schedule but this rule does not get enforced. My other Netgear R6300's schedule works great but is very limited and not as granular and detailed as the DSR-250N's schedule feature. 

Anyone has similar results with the scheduling on this DSR-250N router?

Thanks, 
Logged
Cable:200mb/10Mb>NetGear C7800>DIR-882>DGS-1100>HP 24pt Gb Switch. COVR-3902/2202/1203,DIR-2680,890L,882,880L,868L,DNR-202L,DNS-345x2,DCS-933L,936L and 960L.
Go Here>Router Troubleshooting