• November 13, 2019, 07:04:13 PM
  • Welcome, Guest
Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

News:

This Forum Beta is ONLY for registered owners of D-Link products in the USA for which we have created boards at this time.

Author Topic: Mac Book Pro Issues  (Read 2987 times)

wolf315

  • Level 1 Member
  • *
  • Posts: 3
Mac Book Pro Issues
« on: December 30, 2012, 10:41:59 AM »

My wife and I have several Ipads, Ipods, and cell phones as well as my Windows PC and her MacBook connecting to the DIR-827.  Anytime she wakes up her Mac it seems to drop all of the connections for the other devices.  I can still log into the router but have no internet and after a few minutes it seems to let everything else reconnect to the internet but it is just a little annoying if I am in the middle of something and lose connection because she connected.  I have all of the latest firmware and have all of the devices have reserved IP's on the network.

Just wondering if anyone has some suggestions or thoughts.

Thanks
Logged

FurryNutz

  • Poweruser
  •   ▲
    ▲ ▲
  • *****
  • Posts: 47904
  • D-Link Global Forum Moderator
    • Router Troubleshooting
Re: Mac Book Pro Issues
« Reply #1 on: December 31, 2012, 02:41:36 PM »

Link>Welcome!
What Hardware version is your router? Look at sticker under router.
Link>What Firmware version is currently loaded? Found on routers web page under status.
What region are you located?
Has a Factory Reset been performed?

What ISP Service do you have? Cable or DSL?
What ISP Modem do you have? Stand Alone or built in router?
What ISP Modem make and model do you have?

If this modem has a built in router, it's best to bridge the modem. Having 2 routers on the same line can cause connection problems.
Double NAT
To tell if the modem is bridged or not, look at the routers web page, Status/Device Info/Wan Section, if there is a 192.168.0.# address in the WAN IP address field, then the modem is not bridged.
If the modem can't be bridged then see if the modem has a DMZ option and input the IP address the router gets from the modem and put that into the modems DMZ.

Some things to try: - Log into the routers web page at 192.168.0.1. Use IE, Opera or FF to manage the router.
Turn off ALL QoS or Disable Traffic Shaping (DIR only) GameFuel (DGL only and if ON.) options. Advanced/QoS or Gamefuel.
Turn off Advanced DNS Services if you have this option under Setup/Internet/Manual.
Turn on DNS Relay under Setup/Networking.
Setup DHCP reserved IP addresses for all devices ON the router. Setup/Networking. This ensures each devices gets its own IP address when turned on and connected, eliminates IP address conflicts and helps in troubleshooting.
Ensure devices are set to auto obtain an IP address.
Set Firewall settings to Endpoint Independent for TCP and UDP under Advanced/Firewall.
Enable uPnP and Multi-cast Streaming under Advanced/Networking. Disable uPnP for testing Port Forwarding rules.

WAN Port Speed set to Auto or specific speed? Some newer ISP modems support 1000Mb so manually setting to Gb speeds can be supported by the router. Advanced/Advanced Networking/WAN Port Speed
Set Time and Time Zone under Tools/Time.

Link>Wireless Installation Considerations
What wireless modes are you using? Under Setup/Wireless/Manual.
Try single mode G or mixed G and N on 2.4Ghz and single mode N on 5Ghz?
Channel Width set for Auto 20/40Mhz or try 20Mhz only.
Try setting a manual channel to a open or unused channel. 1, 6 or 11. 11 for single mode N if the channel is clear.
What security mode are you using? Preferred security is WPA-Personal. WPA2/AES Only. Some WiFi adapters don't support AES, so you might want to try TPIK only or Auto.

What wireless devices do you have connected?
Any cordless house phones?
Any other WiFi routers in the area? Link> Use InSSIDer to find out. How many?
Turn off WISH, and WPS under Advanced.
Try turning off Short GI, WLAN Partition,and Extra Wireless Protection if you have it. Under Advanced/Advanced Wireless.
Logged
Cable:200mb/10Mb>NetGear C7800>DIR-882>DGS-1100>HP 24pt Gb Switch. COVR-3902/2202/1203,DIR-2680,890L,882,880L,868L,DNR-202L,DNS-345x2,DCS-933L,936L and 960L.
Go Here>Router Troubleshooting

wolf315

  • Level 1 Member
  • *
  • Posts: 3
Re: Mac Book Pro Issues
« Reply #2 on: January 01, 2013, 08:32:43 AM »

I'm running 1.04 firmware but have not done a factory reset just yet.  The ISP is cable and its a standalone modem that is not bridged.  I've turned off the various QoS items as you suggested as well as the Advanced DNS services.  I've set the wireless security settings to see if that helps.

In terms of items connected we have 2 Ipads, a Win8 PC, two Iphones, and Android phone and a MacBook.  Wired devices are a Xbox 360 and PS3 and 2 networked hard drives.  No house phones, we use our cells.

If all else fails I'll do the factory reset and let you know the findings.

Thanks for the info!
« Last Edit: January 01, 2013, 08:34:47 AM by wolf315 »
Logged

wolf315

  • Level 1 Member
  • *
  • Posts: 3
Re: Mac Book Pro Issues
« Reply #3 on: January 02, 2013, 03:29:17 PM »

Just wanted to say thanks for the help.  After adjusting the security settings everything seems to be working great.  If issues pop up again I'll let you know.

Thanks again.
Logged

FurryNutz

  • Poweruser
  •   ▲
    ▲ ▲
  • *****
  • Posts: 47904
  • D-Link Global Forum Moderator
    • Router Troubleshooting
Re: Mac Book Pro Issues (RESOLVED)
« Reply #4 on: January 02, 2013, 03:39:58 PM »

Enjoy.
Logged
Cable:200mb/10Mb>NetGear C7800>DIR-882>DGS-1100>HP 24pt Gb Switch. COVR-3902/2202/1203,DIR-2680,890L,882,880L,868L,DNR-202L,DNS-345x2,DCS-933L,936L and 960L.
Go Here>Router Troubleshooting