• November 12, 2019, 08:40:29 PM
  • Welcome, Guest
Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

News:

This Forum Beta is ONLY for registered owners of D-Link products in the USA for which we have created boards at this time.

Pages: [1] 2

Author Topic: EBR-2310 connection issues  (Read 21626 times)

catfeesh

  • Level 1 Member
  • *
  • Posts: 8
EBR-2310 connection issues
« on: December 06, 2012, 04:32:53 PM »

  I bought the ebr-2310 a couple years ago, and have struggled with it's connectivity issues.  My high speed DSL works flawlessly without the router.  With the router, I get disconnects all day, every day.  I don't know how I've tolerated it for so long, I'm at the breaking point. 

  I'm not a networking pro, but have tried everything I could find (firmware updates, resets, re-configures, changing the MTU values...  Although it seems many people have the same issue, part of me just can't believe the router "doesn't work".  My ISP recommended D-link, and I still see this model for sale at the big box stores....it has to work, right?



Logged

FurryNutz

  • Poweruser
  •   ▲
    ▲ ▲
  • *****
  • Posts: 47888
  • D-Link Global Forum Moderator
    • Router Troubleshooting
Re: EBR-2310 connection issues
« Reply #1 on: December 07, 2012, 06:58:14 AM »

Link>Welcome!
What Hardware version is your router? Look at sticker under router.
Link>What Firmware version is currently loaded? Found on routers web page under status.
What region are you located?

Has a Factory Reset been performed?

What ISP Modem do you have? Stand Alone or built in router?
What ISP Modem make and model do you have?
Is the router handling the PPPoE connection or DHCP?
Is ALWAYS ON selected if your using PPPoE on the router?
If this modem has a built in router, it's best to bridge the modem. Having 2 routers on the same line can cause connection problems.
Double NAT
To tell if the modem is bridged or not, look at the routers web page, Status/Device Info/Wan Section, if there is a 192.168.0.# address in the WAN IP address field, then the modem is not bridged.
If the modem can't be bridged then see if the modem has a DMZ option and input the IP address the router gets from the modem and put that into the modems DMZ.
Check ISP MTU requirements, Cable is usually 1500, DSL is around 1492 down to 1472. Call the ISP and ask.

Some things to try: - Log into the routers web page at 192.168.0.1. Use IE, Opera or FF to manage the router.

Setup DHCP reserved IP addresses for all devices ON the router. Setup/Networking. This ensures each devices gets its own IP address when turned on and connected, eliminates IP address conflicts and helps in troubleshooting.
Ensure devices are set to auto obtain an IP address.
Set Firewall settings to Endpoint Independent for TCP and UDP under Advanced/Firewall.
Enable uPnP and Multi-cast Streaming under Advanced/Networking. Disable uPnP for testing Port Forwarding rules.

Check phone lines and cables to ensure the lines are in good working condition, connected correctly and filtered correctly for DSL.

Let us know...
« Last Edit: December 07, 2012, 10:11:59 AM by FurryNutz »
Logged
Cable:200mb/10Mb>NetGear C7800>DIR-882>DGS-1100>HP 24pt Gb Switch. COVR-3902/2202/1203,DIR-2680,890L,882,880L,868L,DNR-202L,DNS-345x2,DCS-933L,936L and 960L.
Go Here>Router Troubleshooting

catfeesh

  • Level 1 Member
  • *
  • Posts: 8
Re: EBR-2310 connection issues
« Reply #2 on: December 07, 2012, 10:17:43 AM »

Thank-you for the response, I greatly appreciate the help.

Hardware version: B1
Firmware: 2.01
Region: Ontario, Canada
Factory Reset: tried that
Modem: Comtrend ADSL2+ router built in  
Connection type: PPPoE
Always on: yes
ISP said the Modem is bridged
ISP said the default MTU value of 1492 should be fine

I'm not too sure how to set up DHCP reserved IP addresses, "Enable DHCP Server" is checked, DHCP IP Address Range is set between 192.168.0.100 and 192.168.0.111.

Both computers are set to auto obtain IP addresses.

I wasn't able to find the Endpoint Independent for TCP and UDP Firewall settings, or know how to disable the UpnP for testing port forwarding rules.

I'll have to find a way to test my cables.
« Last Edit: December 10, 2012, 07:58:29 PM by catfeesh »
Logged

FurryNutz

  • Poweruser
  •   ▲
    ▲ ▲
  • *****
  • Posts: 47888
  • D-Link Global Forum Moderator
    • Router Troubleshooting
Re: EBR-2310 connection issues
« Reply #3 on: December 07, 2012, 10:33:13 AM »

Thank-you for the response, I greatly appreciate the help.

Hardware version: B1
Firmware: 2.01>This is the latest and greatest.
Region: Ontario, Canada
Factory Reset: tried that
ISP: Bruce Telecom
Modem: Comtrend ADSL2+ router built in  
Connection type: PPPoE
Always on: yes
ISP said the Modem is bridged Can you verify this by looking at the EBRs Status/Device Info/WAN section and look at the IP address. It should not be a 192.168.#.# address.
ISP said the default MTU value of 1492 should be fineI would review the EBRs logs during the times you see the connection issue. See if there are any entries in this time frame. Can you still access the EBRs web page when this happens? You might test 1472 MTU value and see if this does anything. I would ask the ISP if they notice anything on there logs during this time frame.

I'm not too sure how to set up DHCP reserved IP addresses, "Enable DHCP Server" is checked, DHCP IP Address Range is set between 192.168.0.100 and 192.168.0.111. >Ya, I looked at the emulator and this model does not offer any IP Reservation options. You could try to input Static IP addresses on the devices instead of using DHCP Auto Obtain and test.

Both computers are set to auto obtain IP addresses.

I wasn't able to find the Endpoint Independent for TCP and UDP Firewall settings, or know how to disable the UpnP for testing port forwarding rules. >Ya this model router does not have any additional NAT options. However it does have a QoS option under Advanced/Advanced Networking, so you could try to disable this for a test as well.

I'll have to find a way to test my cables. Check cable between Modem and Router, swap out to be sure.


Let us know how it goes.
Logged
Cable:200mb/10Mb>NetGear C7800>DIR-882>DGS-1100>HP 24pt Gb Switch. COVR-3902/2202/1203,DIR-2680,890L,882,880L,868L,DNR-202L,DNS-345x2,DCS-933L,936L and 960L.
Go Here>Router Troubleshooting

catfeesh

  • Level 1 Member
  • *
  • Posts: 8
Re: EBR-2310 connection issues
« Reply #4 on: December 07, 2012, 08:20:56 PM »

I verified that the modem is bridged by checking the WAN IP address.
I can quickly access the ERB's web page even at the worst of times.
I tried an MTU of 1472, disabled the QoS, and swapped cables, but with no luck.

I need to learn how to assign a static IP address.

I achieved two disconnects in a short period of time (yay?).  Here are a couple lines from that log:
- - -
[INFO] Fri Dec 07 22:37:58 2012 Blocked incoming TCP packet from 208.22.87.132:443 to 209.240.126.13:51367 as RST:ACK received but there is no active connection
[INFO] Fri Dec 07 22:37:58 2012 Blocked incoming TCP packet from 208.22.87.132:443 to 209.240.126.13:51367 as ACK received but there is no active connection
- - -

My ISP always tells me their logs look good.... I'll check with them again.

One thing I noticed on one of the computers is that "IPv6 Connectivity" under "Local Area Connection Status" always says "No Internet access".
Logged

FurryNutz

  • Poweruser
  •   ▲
    ▲ ▲
  • *****
  • Posts: 47888
  • D-Link Global Forum Moderator
    • Router Troubleshooting
Re: EBR-2310 connection issues
« Reply #5 on: December 07, 2012, 08:50:17 PM »

Ok, logs seen on the router are the firewall reports of what it's doing. Thats ok and it's doing it's job.

You mentioned that IPv6 is reporting no connection, you could be on to something. Disable ALL IPv6 connections and services on the windows PCs under network settings. There are check boxes for each service for the network adapter, just uncheck the check box for IPv6. See if this might help. The router and probably your ISP modem are not IPv6 supporting and maybe there could be some cause here.

Keep us posted.
Logged
Cable:200mb/10Mb>NetGear C7800>DIR-882>DGS-1100>HP 24pt Gb Switch. COVR-3902/2202/1203,DIR-2680,890L,882,880L,868L,DNR-202L,DNS-345x2,DCS-933L,936L and 960L.
Go Here>Router Troubleshooting

catfeesh

  • Level 1 Member
  • *
  • Posts: 8
Re: EBR-2310 connection issues
« Reply #6 on: December 08, 2012, 09:59:38 AM »

I disabled all IPv6 connections, no luck.
ISP said the "no network access" for the IPv6 Connectivity was normal.

ISP had no logs of use.  The modem itself is good.
ISP went through the router settings with me and said they look good, but said it's a router issue.

  Without the router I can open 20 websites in firefox tabs, and they'll all load up quite quickly.  With the router, 20 tabs will result in half of them resulting in a connection timeout, and sometimes a disconnect.

 I have a huge active sessions list in the EBR web page... something to do with torrents?  I haven't P2P'd in awhile.

  Connection time outs, and disconnects were frequent this morning, I ran the windows diagnosis during a disconnect, and it said the DNS server wasn't responding.

I reset, and reconfigured everything this morning, without change.  I'm losing hope.
Logged

FurryNutz

  • Poweruser
  •   ▲
    ▲ ▲
  • *****
  • Posts: 47888
  • D-Link Global Forum Moderator
    • Router Troubleshooting
Re: EBR-2310 connection issues
« Reply #7 on: December 08, 2012, 11:50:05 AM »

After the factory reset, did you happen to disconnect any and all other devices accept for one PC to test? Disable any background running programs on the PC while testing. Disable any security SW while testing.

Is the ISP modem a newer or update to date model?
You might un-bridge the ISP modem and then input the IP address the EBR gets from the ISP modem and input that address into the DMZ on the ISP modem if it has a DMZ and test.

Any chance you can test the router at a friend, neighbor or families place? Would be good to see if maybe the problem follows or not. Only other thing I would try is go to the store with a refund policy and get you a new router to test out.

« Last Edit: December 08, 2012, 11:56:54 AM by FurryNutz »
Logged
Cable:200mb/10Mb>NetGear C7800>DIR-882>DGS-1100>HP 24pt Gb Switch. COVR-3902/2202/1203,DIR-2680,890L,882,880L,868L,DNR-202L,DNS-345x2,DCS-933L,936L and 960L.
Go Here>Router Troubleshooting

catfeesh

  • Level 1 Member
  • *
  • Posts: 8
Re: EBR-2310 connection issues
« Reply #8 on: December 08, 2012, 07:25:27 PM »

Testing was done with one PC, my AVG Anti-Virus was disabled.
I believe the modem is newer.  It's been configured by the ISP for their digital TV service.  I'd have to reset it to unbridge, and there's a sticker on it saying "DO NOT RESET" (stickers aren't the boss of me!?).  Tempting though, it does have a built in router which I could try out.
I could get a new EBR for testing, that's last resort.

If I figure anything out, I'll post. 

Thanks for the help Nutz.
Logged

catfeesh

  • Level 1 Member
  • *
  • Posts: 8
Re: EBR-2310 connection issues
« Reply #9 on: December 09, 2012, 10:26:21 AM »

I reset my modem. 
I've got it in bridged mode, with both computers manually connected to the internet. ( Am I going to get double billed?)  I'll have to figure out how to properly configure the modem as a router, if I can.

Good news is, the shared connection is better than ever.

Maybe the EBR was defective, or some funky device/setting conflict?
Logged

FurryNutz

  • Poweruser
  •   ▲
    ▲ ▲
  • *****
  • Posts: 47888
  • D-Link Global Forum Moderator
    • Router Troubleshooting
Re: EBR-2310 connection issues
« Reply #10 on: December 09, 2012, 11:32:55 AM »

Does the ISP modem have a DMZ? You might connect the EBR to the ISP modem, input what the WAN IP address is seen on the EBR into the DMZ on the ISP modem. Connect one PC to the EBR and test.

Sounds like the ISP modem has a built in router and can handle multiple PC. No, you should not get double billed for multiple PCs.
Logged
Cable:200mb/10Mb>NetGear C7800>DIR-882>DGS-1100>HP 24pt Gb Switch. COVR-3902/2202/1203,DIR-2680,890L,882,880L,868L,DNR-202L,DNS-345x2,DCS-933L,936L and 960L.
Go Here>Router Troubleshooting

catfeesh

  • Level 1 Member
  • *
  • Posts: 8
Re: EBR-2310 connection issues
« Reply #11 on: December 09, 2012, 01:10:38 PM »

I was able to setup ISP modem as router, works well.  Am able to open dozens of tabs smoothly on both computers without timeouts.

This is what I have under DMZ settings:
----------------------------
NAT -- DMZ Host

The DSL router will forward IP packets from the WAN that do not belong to any of the applications configured in the Virtual Servers table to the DMZ host computer. NOTE: Firewall will be enabled automatically if DMZ host is configured.
_____________________

  Using one computer for testing, I disabled AVG ant-virus, reset the EBR and reconfigured using the basic setup wizard, and let it connect to the net through the ISP modem.  I then input the IP from the WAN section on the EBR (192.....) into the DMZ config on the ISP's modem.  Internet is behaving as it was originally, sluggish, opening 20 tabs causes few to several timeouts.  I also had a problem accessing the modem to disengage the DMZ at first.

Just noticed the manual for the ISP's modem is 2007, not new.
Logged

FurryNutz

  • Poweruser
  •   ▲
    ▲ ▲
  • *****
  • Posts: 47888
  • D-Link Global Forum Moderator
    • Router Troubleshooting
Re: EBR-2310 connection issues
« Reply #12 on: December 10, 2012, 12:31:54 PM »

What model number is the Comtrend DSL Modem? I only see a few.

Possible that the EBR is faulty however with out being able to test it on a different ISP serivce or ISP modem, I would not fully blame the EBR as of yet.

One thing you could try is to get you a different router, say a DIR series and test to see if that exhibits the same thing. Unless your just content on using the ISP modem/router as your main host router, then your probably good to go.
Logged
Cable:200mb/10Mb>NetGear C7800>DIR-882>DGS-1100>HP 24pt Gb Switch. COVR-3902/2202/1203,DIR-2680,890L,882,880L,868L,DNR-202L,DNS-345x2,DCS-933L,936L and 960L.
Go Here>Router Troubleshooting

catfeesh

  • Level 1 Member
  • *
  • Posts: 8
Re: EBR-2310 connection issues
« Reply #13 on: December 10, 2012, 07:58:04 PM »

The ISP's modem is a CT-5621T.

  I won't be able to test the EBR on a different ISP service, but It has been tested with a different (speedstream?) modem.  The ISP gave me this Comtrend modem hoping it would resolve my issue...which it did.

  I don't have the expertise to blame the EBR.  At least I didn't have to buy a new router.

Thanks for the help Furry Nutz.

  

  
Logged

FurryNutz

  • Poweruser
  •   ▲
    ▲ ▲
  • *****
  • Posts: 47888
  • D-Link Global Forum Moderator
    • Router Troubleshooting
Re: EBR-2310 connection issues (RESOLVED)
« Reply #14 on: December 11, 2012, 07:45:00 AM »

Enjoy.
Logged
Cable:200mb/10Mb>NetGear C7800>DIR-882>DGS-1100>HP 24pt Gb Switch. COVR-3902/2202/1203,DIR-2680,890L,882,880L,868L,DNR-202L,DNS-345x2,DCS-933L,936L and 960L.
Go Here>Router Troubleshooting
Pages: [1] 2