• December 06, 2019, 09:56:10 PM
  • Welcome, Guest
Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

News:

This Forum Beta is ONLY for registered owners of D-Link products in the USA for which we have created boards at this time.

Author Topic: How on earth do I link a 306 to a W306?  (Read 5961 times)

Rizaria

  • Level 1 Member
  • *
  • Posts: 2
How on earth do I link a 306 to a W306?
« on: December 01, 2012, 06:38:21 PM »

Having zero luck getting a PowerLine connection between them.

When I e-mailed D-Link directly they said just put them both on and they'll connect automatically. Nope.

The instructions tell me to press certain buttons for certain lengths of time to connect them. Nope.

Nothing I do seems to work. I really need help, I'm no networking guru.
Logged

FurryNutz

  • Poweruser
  •   ▲
    ▲ ▲
  • *****
  • Posts: 47961
  • D-Link Global Forum Moderator
    • Router Troubleshooting
Re: How on earth do I link a 306 to a W306?
« Reply #1 on: December 07, 2012, 11:55:43 AM »

are they connected to the same HOST router? I recommend trying to connect them in the same room on the same power outlet or a different one in the same room first, see if they will connect. Then once they are connected in the same room, them move them into there final connection place.

Possible that your power outlets are on different circuits or something could be interfering with them communicating with each other.
Logged
Cable:200mb/10Mb>NetGear C7800>DIR-882>DGS-1100>HP 24pt Gb Switch. COVR-3902/2202/1203,DIR-2680,890L,882,880L,868L,DNR-202L,DNS-345x2,DCS-933L,936L and 960L.
Go Here>Router Troubleshooting

Rizaria

  • Level 1 Member
  • *
  • Posts: 2
Re: How on earth do I link a 306 to a W306?
« Reply #2 on: December 07, 2012, 07:22:32 PM »

are they connected to the same HOST router? I recommend trying to connect them in the same room on the same power outlet or a different one in the same room first, see if they will connect. Then once they are connected in the same room, them move them into there final connection place.

Possible that your power outlets are on different circuits or something could be interfering with them communicating with each other.

Thanks for the reply.

Sadly, even on the same powerboard they won't connect. I haven't yet attempted to try them in separate rooms when I can't get the two of them to play nice in the same room.
Logged

FurryNutz

  • Poweruser
  •   ▲
    ▲ ▲
  • *****
  • Posts: 47961
  • D-Link Global Forum Moderator
    • Router Troubleshooting
Re: How on earth do I link a 306 to a W306?
« Reply #3 on: December 07, 2012, 08:10:22 PM »

I would get on the phone with DLink support and have them help you go thru the set up process. And if they can't get them going, I would ask them for an RMA.
Logged
Cable:200mb/10Mb>NetGear C7800>DIR-882>DGS-1100>HP 24pt Gb Switch. COVR-3902/2202/1203,DIR-2680,890L,882,880L,868L,DNR-202L,DNS-345x2,DCS-933L,936L and 960L.
Go Here>Router Troubleshooting