• October 28, 2020, 08:05:51 PM
  • Welcome, Guest
Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

News:

This Forum Beta is ONLY for registered owners of D-Link products in the USA for which we have created boards at this time.

Author Topic: How do I activate a PCMCIA air card w/out PCMCIA Card Slot on computer?  (Read 23621 times)

Need2Knw

  • Level 1 Member
  • *
  • Posts: 11

Does anyone know how to activate a PCMCIA card like the Pantech PX-500 air card so that I can connect it into the DIR-450?
I am thinking about buying it but I don't have a PCMCIA slot on my desktop or my laptop computer, and I'd like to create a continuous wireless network with internet access with the DIR-450 and the air card. (There isn't any DSL where I live  :-[ )
I know that the Sierra 250U I had to connect to my PC to finish the activation process so I'm assuming that I'd have to do the same with the air card.
Only so that I can just remove it to stick in to the DIR-450.  :P
Any ideas?
Logged

FurryNutz

  • Poweruser
  •   ▲
    ▲ ▲
  • *****
  • Posts: 49296
  • D-Link Global Forum Moderator
    • Router Troubleshooting
Re: How do I activate a PCMCIA air card w/out PCMCIA Card Slot on computer?
« Reply #1 on: November 20, 2012, 02:21:57 PM »

You should contact PANTECH and ask them if they have a particular process for activating cards. I would also talk to your ISP as well and make sure they service and support this particular card on there network. I presume they do. They might also know how to activate it.

Let us know how it goes.
Logged
"Nothing Funny about It...." We are not here to Impress anyone! You have a be a COMPETENT user first to under stand COMPETENT help!

Need2Knw

  • Level 1 Member
  • *
  • Posts: 11
Re: How do I activate a PCMCIA air card w/out PCMCIA Card Slot on computer?
« Reply #2 on: November 20, 2012, 02:44:17 PM »

Yeah this is a legacy device. Meaning...no longer supported. :(
First I'd have to install the Windows 7 compatible software program then connect the device to install the drivers and then finish the activation process.  :P

OR... I could buy a PCI to PCMCIA Controller Card ENE Chipset and install it on my desktop and then activate it and then remove the card and insert it into the router.  ::)

« Last Edit: November 20, 2012, 02:52:46 PM by Need2Knw »
Logged

FurryNutz

  • Poweruser
  •   ▲
    ▲ ▲
  • *****
  • Posts: 49296
  • D-Link Global Forum Moderator
    • Router Troubleshooting
Re: How do I activate a PCMCIA air card w/out PCMCIA Card Slot on computer?
« Reply #3 on: November 28, 2012, 01:41:21 PM »

Any status on this?  ???
Logged
"Nothing Funny about It...." We are not here to Impress anyone! You have a be a COMPETENT user first to under stand COMPETENT help!