• April 08, 2020, 09:11:55 AM
  • Welcome, Guest
Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

News:

This Forum Beta is ONLY for registered owners of D-Link products in the USA for which we have created boards at this time.

Author Topic: DSL-2520U Accessible through web  (Read 9628 times)

PCdoc

  • Level 1 Member
  • *
  • Posts: 5
DSL-2520U Accessible through web
« on: November 13, 2012, 10:51:37 PM »

Hi,

I have a DSL-2520U LAN/USB combo modem with H/W version T1. When I use irc messengers like xchat, there are some servers on which by default the a user's hostmask is his IP clearly shown there. And if I post on some websites or forums, MY IP is recorded there. I tried pointing my browser to my IP and the modem's configuration page opens.

One of the mates on the irc private msges me and told me that my IP opens the DSL config page. How do I setup my modem so that any one from the internet if opens my IP, is not redirected to my config page but either opens nothing "Page not found" or its like blocked.

Thanks
Logged

FurryNutz

  • Poweruser
  •   ▲
    ▲ ▲
  • *****
  • Posts: 48555
  • D-Link Global Forum Moderator
    • Router Troubleshooting
Re: DSL-2520U Accessible through web
« Reply #1 on: November 14, 2012, 08:55:44 AM »

Seems like this could be a configuration of the router possibly or a bug in FW.

I would review the user manual and see if maybe this could be an option that can be turned off. Look for something call Remote Access. Usually on DIR series routers this is a check mark option that has to be enabled and after it is, anyone with the public WAN side IP address and port number can access the routers web page. I don't know if this is the same with DSL series modems. I believe it should be hidden from the public WAN access unless this options is enabled.

I would phone contact DLink support for your region, say level 2 or 3 and inquire about this.
Logged
"Nothing Funny about It...." We are not here to Impress anyone! You have a be a COMPETENT user first to under stand COMPETENT help!

PCdoc

  • Level 1 Member
  • *
  • Posts: 5
Re: DSL-2520U Accessible through web
« Reply #2 on: November 14, 2012, 09:29:20 AM »

For my region, if i click any support link like online chat, the page returns internal server error. Thats why i posted on the forums.
This modem doesnt have anything called Remote Access
Logged

FurryNutz

  • Poweruser
  •   ▲
    ▲ ▲
  • *****
  • Posts: 48555
  • D-Link Global Forum Moderator
    • Router Troubleshooting
Re: DSL-2520U Accessible through web
« Reply #3 on: November 14, 2012, 09:34:07 AM »

What region are you located?

Logged
"Nothing Funny about It...." We are not here to Impress anyone! You have a be a COMPETENT user first to under stand COMPETENT help!

PCdoc

  • Level 1 Member
  • *
  • Posts: 5
Re: DSL-2520U Accessible through web
« Reply #4 on: November 14, 2012, 09:38:13 AM »

India (Asia)
Logged

FurryNutz

  • Poweruser
  •   ▲
    ▲ ▲
  • *****
  • Posts: 48555
  • D-Link Global Forum Moderator
    • Router Troubleshooting
Re: DSL-2520U Accessible through web
« Reply #5 on: November 14, 2012, 09:42:13 AM »

http://www.dlink.co.in/support/

To Contact D-Link Tech Support by phone, please call:
Toll Free - 1800-22-8998
GSM/CDMA USER- +91-22-27626600 (Local & STD Charges apply)
Email - helpdesk@dlink.co.in

Get into level 2 or 3 support.
Logged
"Nothing Funny about It...." We are not here to Impress anyone! You have a be a COMPETENT user first to under stand COMPETENT help!

Grem

  • Level 1 Member
  • *
  • Posts: 20
  • regular citizen
Re: DSL-2520U Accessible through web
« Reply #6 on: November 15, 2012, 04:13:48 AM »

PCdoc,
Just curious - іs menu looks like this?
http://ftp.dlink.ru/pub/ADSL/DSL-2520U/Description/DSL-2520U_Manual_EN.pdf
Quote from: Remote Access
On the Advanced / Remote accesspage, you can configure remote access to the web-based
interface of the router. By default, the access from external networks to the router is closed. If you
need to allow access to the router from the external network, create relevant rules.
Page 46
If you cant turn off your wan port access - block external port № 80 in firewall menu.


H/W, F/W...regions, ftp mess...
Curiosity diversity kills  :D
Logged

PCdoc

  • Level 1 Member
  • *
  • Posts: 5
Re: DSL-2520U Accessible through web
« Reply #7 on: November 17, 2012, 07:43:08 AM »

PCdoc,
Just curious - іs menu looks like this?
http://ftp.dlink.ru/pub/ADSL/DSL-2520U/Description/DSL-2520U_Manual_EN.pdfIf you cant turn off your wan port access - block external port № 80 in firewall menu.


H/W, F/W...regions, ftp mess...
Curiosity diversity kills  :D

The menu does not look like the one in the pdf. The menu in the pdf is Bluish but the menu of my router is orange-ish.

I tried disabling WAN and LAN in front of HTTP in Access Control menu under management, This then now disabled my local access also from 192.168.1.1 :(
I want to enable this now without having to reset the router :-s
Logged

Grem

  • Level 1 Member
  • *
  • Posts: 20
  • regular citizen
Re: DSL-2520U Accessible through web
« Reply #8 on: November 18, 2012, 04:22:49 AM »

I tried disabling WAN and LAN in front of HTTP in Access Control menu under management, This then now disabled my local access also from 192.168.1.1 :(
I want to enable this now without having to reset the router :-s
There was no need to disable local(lan) access  :-\

If your telnet access is still working
Quote
1. connect to router
Quote
for windows: Press win+R write command or cmd, press enter.
for mac / Linux: run terminal
write telnet 192.168.1.1

2. Enter login, press enter, enter password press enter.

3. Write help and press enter (press enter for all commands)

4. There should be a command like: dumpcfg and remoteaccess

5. Write dumpcfg
Then copy all text from console after this command - same text you receive if backup from web interface.
Save text as router.cfg

6. Write remoteaccess
Code: [Select]
remoteaccess <enable|disable> [--service <servicename>]
remoteaccess show [--service <servicename>]

7. Write remoteaccess show
there should be a string like
Code: [Select]
remote access for HTTP is disabled
8. Wtrite remoteaccess enable --service HTTP

9. Write remoteaccess show
Code: [Select]
remote access for HTTP is enable
10. Open your web browser and go to http://192.168.1.1 ;)
Then Access Control menu: enable all LAN and disable all WAN services

Іf you still cant access you router through web:
 Reset the router.
 Upload your router.cfg
 Go to access page enable web access or edit router.cfg before upload ( should be text like http="disable", replace with http="enable" or http="lan").
 Apply settings.

The menu does not look like the one in the pdf. The menu in the pdf is Bluish but the menu of my router is orange-ish.
I do not even really surprised  :)
Also is a know there several different 'orange' web interfaces.
http://support.dlink.com/Emulators/dsl520B/310/index.htm
http://support.dlink.com/Emulators/dir330/112/index.html

Then do as FurryNutz said
http://forums.dlink.com/index.php?topic=51180.msg190837#msg190837


Good luck  ;)

« Last Edit: November 18, 2012, 08:41:46 AM by Grem »
Logged

FurryNutz

  • Poweruser
  •   ▲
    ▲ ▲
  • *****
  • Posts: 48555
  • D-Link Global Forum Moderator
    • Router Troubleshooting
Re: DSL-2520U Accessible through web
« Reply #9 on: November 21, 2012, 07:27:21 AM »

Let us know if you can get it working. As a suggestion, Maybe someone can review your router settings with you using Link> teamviewer if your interested. Its safe and secure.
Logged
"Nothing Funny about It...." We are not here to Impress anyone! You have a be a COMPETENT user first to under stand COMPETENT help!

PCdoc

  • Level 1 Member
  • *
  • Posts: 5
Re: DSL-2520U Accessible through web
« Reply #10 on: November 23, 2012, 04:25:06 AM »

I do not even really surprised  :)
Also is a know there several different 'orange' web interfaces.
http://support.dlink.com/Emulators/dsl520B/310/index.htm
http://support.dlink.com/Emulators/dir330/112/index.html

Then do as FurryNutz said
http://forums.dlink.com/index.php?topic=51180.msg190837#msg190837

I have done a reset and i had a setting backup file so i used it to restore configs.

my router page looks almost like this one: http://support.dlink.com/Emulators/dsl520B/310/index.htm and only one option in here is extra i.e. under management>> TR-069. Only this option appears new rest all options are almost same like my router has.

The router I have is this one : http://www.dlink.co.in/products/?pid=438
« Last Edit: November 23, 2012, 04:28:58 AM by PCdoc »
Logged

FurryNutz

  • Poweruser
  •   ▲
    ▲ ▲
  • *****
  • Posts: 48555
  • D-Link Global Forum Moderator
    • Router Troubleshooting
Re: DSL-2520U Accessible through web
« Reply #11 on: November 27, 2012, 08:06:07 AM »

I don't see much there that might effect changes on how the modem UI is accessed via the web. I'm wondering if this is ON always by design.

I would recommend that you phone contact your regional DLink support office, level 2 or higher and inquire about this.

Let us know what they say.
Logged
"Nothing Funny about It...." We are not here to Impress anyone! You have a be a COMPETENT user first to under stand COMPETENT help!