• October 21, 2014, 12:03:20 AM
  • Welcome, Guest
Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

News:

This Forum Beta is ONLY for registered owners of D-Link products in which we have created boards at this time.

Author Topic: DIR-615 Setup - no internet access  (Read 4394 times)

MJob

  • Level 1 Member
  • *
  • Posts: 1
DIR-615 Setup - no internet access
« on: November 08, 2012, 03:55:47 PM »

Hi there, I'm not able to get my DIR-615 running... that's the case:
Cable Modem works fine with Internet Access - LAN Cable to my Windows Laptop.
Bought a new D-Link DIR-615 and plugged the LAN Cable from the Cable Modem to the "Internet" Port on the 615. Second LAN cable from Port 1 to my laptop for config of the WLAN SSID and WPA2. Unplugged it and here we go, I can access the 615 via WLan Connection. But... I have no Internet Access over Lan or WLan. The 615 gives me options to setup Internet with the cable/ISP information. But this is done by my cable modem, isn't it ? What do I have to do to get it running? enabled and disabled DHCP, made Reset, latest Firmware 8.02 is installed (out of the box) - Thanks for any help.
Logged

FurryNutz

  • Poweruser
  •   ▲
    ▲ ▲
  • *****
  • Posts: 28149
  • D-Link Global Forum Moderator
    • New DGL-5500 Gaming Router with StreamBoost™ Technology
Re: DIR-615 Setup - no internet access
« Reply #1 on: November 09, 2012, 07:21:37 AM »

Link>Welcome!
What Hardware version is your router? Look at sticker under router.

What region are you located?
Yes you need to run thru the 615 onboard wizard setup.


What ISP Modem do you have? Stand Alone or built in router?
What ISP Modem make and model do you have?

If this modem has a built in router, it's best to bridge the modem. Having 2 routers on the same line can cause connection problems.
Double NAT
To tell if the modem is bridged or not, look at the routers web page, Status/Device Info/Wan Section, if there is a 192.168.0.# address in the WAN IP address field, then the modem is not bridged.
If the modem can't be bridged then see if the modem has a DMZ option and input the IP address the router gets from the modem and put that into the modems DMZ.

Some things to try: - Log into the routers web page at 192.168.0.1.
Turn off ALL QoS or Disable Traffic Shaping (DIR only) GameFuel (DGL only and if ON.) options. Advanced/QoS or Gamefuel.
Turn off Advanced DNS Services if you have this option under Setup/Internet/Manual.
Turn on DNS Relay under Setup/Networking.
Setup DHCP reserved IP addresses for all devices ON the router. Setup/Networking. This ensures each devices gets its own IP address when turned on and connected, eliminates IP address conflicts and helps in troubleshooting.
Ensure devices are set to auto obtain an IP address.
Set Firewall settings to Endpoint Independent for TCP and UDP under Advanced/Firewall.
Enable uPnP and Multi-cast Streaming under Advanced/Networking. Disable uPnP for testing Port Forwarding rules.


Link>Wireless Installation Considerations
What wireless modes are you using? Under Setup/Wireless/Manual.
Try single mode G or N or mixed G and N?
Channel Width set for Auto 20/40Mhz or try 20Mhz only.
Try setting a manual channel to a open or unused channel. 1, 6 or 11. 11 for single mode N if the channel is clear.
What security mode are you using? Preferred security is WPA-Personal. WPA2/AES Only. Some WiFi adapters don't support AES, so you might want to try TPIK only or Auto.
Turn off WISH, and WPS under Advanced.
Try turning off Short GI, WLAN Partition,and Extra Wireless Protection if you have it. Under Advanced/Advanced Wireless.
Enable WMM Enable Under Advanced/Advanced Wireless.
Turn off all anti virus and firewall programs on PC while testing. 3rd party firewalls are not generally needed when using routers as they are effective on blocking malicious inbound traffic.
Logged
Cable:50mb/3Mb>Motorola SB6180>DGL-5500>HP 24pt Gb Switch. 3x4500s,DGL-5500,DIR-857,835,827,815,880L,868L,865L,826L,810L,685,657,3x655,645,601,DNS-345,DCS-933L and a Boxee.
Go Here>Router Troubleshooting

drewden123

  • Level 1 Member
  • *
  • Posts: 2
Re: DIR-615 Setup - no internet access
« Reply #2 on: August 08, 2014, 02:51:59 PM »

I was able to resolve this simply by resetting both my cable modem, and the router.
Logged

FurryNutz

  • Poweruser
  •   ▲
    ▲ ▲
  • *****
  • Posts: 28149
  • D-Link Global Forum Moderator
    • New DGL-5500 Gaming Router with StreamBoost™ Technology
Re: DIR-615 Setup - no internet access (RESOLVED)
« Reply #3 on: August 10, 2014, 10:11:03 AM »

Thank you, we presume that the OP has resolved this since the post has been a while since.

Enjoy.


I was able to resolve this simply by resetting both my cable modem, and the router.
« Last Edit: September 19, 2014, 08:38:17 AM by FurryNutz »
Logged
Cable:50mb/3Mb>Motorola SB6180>DGL-5500>HP 24pt Gb Switch. 3x4500s,DGL-5500,DIR-857,835,827,815,880L,868L,865L,826L,810L,685,657,3x655,645,601,DNS-345,DCS-933L and a Boxee.
Go Here>Router Troubleshooting