• October 21, 2020, 07:02:33 AM
  • Welcome, Guest
Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

News:

This Forum Beta is ONLY for registered owners of D-Link products in the USA for which we have created boards at this time.

Pages: [1] 2

Author Topic: Youtube problems  (Read 19488 times)

pok2041

  • Level 1 Member
  • *
  • Posts: 9
Youtube problems
« on: November 06, 2012, 05:46:27 PM »

Hi, first my trouble is that Youtube's video won't load anymore. I first thought it was a PC side trouble. Did everything, even formated my pc, reinstalling everything, still won't load. I can acces every other internet pages. I got 1 desktop (wired), 2 laptops (Wireless) and an IPhone connected to this router, on all of the Youtube video won't load.

Here is some information about my ISP
Location: Québec, Canada
ISP: Vidéotron
ISP wire: Cable ( Fiber )
ISP Modem: Arris TM722 ( Internet and homephone )

It's been about 2 months I got the Dlink DIR857 Media router, eveything was working well and suddently no more video's works from the past 3 weeks.

If you think it's about my ISP, I would say no cause I've been using them for 10 years now and the only other rentable ISP here in Québec doesn't equal the speed to this one


*** Edit #1: I just thought about looking for a Firmware update on the Router itself, saw there's one available, I'll update it and see what happen after. If youtube works I'll cancel this thread, if not I'll leave it like this without any re-edit
« Last Edit: November 06, 2012, 05:49:08 PM by pok2041 »
Logged

FurryNutz

  • Poweruser
  •   ▲
    ▲ ▲
  • *****
  • Posts: 49273
  • D-Link Global Forum Moderator
    • Router Troubleshooting
Re: Youtube problems
« Reply #1 on: November 06, 2012, 08:55:16 PM »

Hmm, Interesting...similar problem here:
http://forums.dlink.com/index.php?topic=50185.0
Logged
"Nothing Funny about It...." We are not here to Impress anyone! You have a be a COMPETENT user first to under stand COMPETENT help!

magicponcho

  • Level 1 Member
  • *
  • Posts: 1
Re: Youtube problems
« Reply #2 on: November 07, 2012, 04:34:42 AM »

I have Videotron in Quebec, YouTube wouldn't work on SOME devices but would on others.

It now consistently works everywhere since I input proper IPv6 settings in my DIR-857.  I couldn't tell you why, but maybe you want to try it out:
http://support.videotron.com/residential/internet/ipv6

Details are as follows:
My IPv6 Connection is 6rd.
Enable Hub and Spoke Mode :    Yes.
6rd Configuration : 6rd DHCPv4 Option

I also set my IPv6 DNS to Google's:
2001:4860:4860::8888
2001:4860:4860::8844


If you do try it out, let us know if it helps...  I'm curious to know if that's truly what fixed it (I was trying everything at the time!).

À bientôt,
MagicPoncho
Logged

FurryNutz

  • Poweruser
  •   ▲
    ▲ ▲
  • *****
  • Posts: 49273
  • D-Link Global Forum Moderator
    • Router Troubleshooting
Re: Youtube problems
« Reply #3 on: November 07, 2012, 05:20:15 AM »

Does the IPv4 platform exhibit any youtube problems or was this only an IPv6 configuration issue?
Logged
"Nothing Funny about It...." We are not here to Impress anyone! You have a be a COMPETENT user first to under stand COMPETENT help!

pok2041

  • Level 1 Member
  • *
  • Posts: 9
Re: Youtube problems
« Reply #4 on: November 07, 2012, 03:24:04 PM »

ok so I did take a look into my IPV6 config and it's all configured correctly, also did the ipv6 test on the videotron.com pages ( like a speedtest ) and Im receiving 32mbps download and the 4mbps upload, so the internet speed ain't a trouble. Just the video that doesn't load. Really getting pissed about that trouble, looks like there's no fix. Formating the pc wasn't a solution so what can I do :/
Logged

FurryNutz

  • Poweruser
  •   ▲
    ▲ ▲
  • *****
  • Posts: 49273
  • D-Link Global Forum Moderator
    • Router Troubleshooting
Re: Youtube problems
« Reply #5 on: November 07, 2012, 07:04:34 PM »

Does the IPv4 platform exhibit the same problems?
Logged
"Nothing Funny about It...." We are not here to Impress anyone! You have a be a COMPETENT user first to under stand COMPETENT help!

FurryNutz

  • Poweruser
  •   ▲
    ▲ ▲
  • *****
  • Posts: 49273
  • D-Link Global Forum Moderator
    • Router Troubleshooting
Re: Youtube problems
« Reply #6 on: November 08, 2012, 05:49:58 AM »

What model Arris modem do you have?
Logged
"Nothing Funny about It...." We are not here to Impress anyone! You have a be a COMPETENT user first to under stand COMPETENT help!

FurryNutz

  • Poweruser
  •   ▲
    ▲ ▲
  • *****
  • Posts: 49273
  • D-Link Global Forum Moderator
    • Router Troubleshooting
Re: Youtube problems
« Reply #7 on: November 08, 2012, 08:09:29 AM »

Also, Ask you ISP if they have any specific MTU values? Usually Cable is 1500 and DSL is any where from 1454 up to 1492.
Logged
"Nothing Funny about It...." We are not here to Impress anyone! You have a be a COMPETENT user first to under stand COMPETENT help!

pok2041

  • Level 1 Member
  • *
  • Posts: 9
Re: Youtube problems
« Reply #8 on: November 09, 2012, 09:04:57 AM »

Today im going to my ISP shop and talk with them about that trouble.
Logged

FurryNutz

  • Poweruser
  •   ▲
    ▲ ▲
  • *****
  • Posts: 49273
  • D-Link Global Forum Moderator
    • Router Troubleshooting
Re: Youtube problems
« Reply #9 on: November 09, 2012, 09:58:57 AM »

Let us know how it goes.
Logged
"Nothing Funny about It...." We are not here to Impress anyone! You have a be a COMPETENT user first to under stand COMPETENT help!

pok2041

  • Level 1 Member
  • *
  • Posts: 9
Re: Youtube problems
« Reply #10 on: November 09, 2012, 04:13:09 PM »

Ok so to the Vidéotron store they told me they couldn't do anything, that I had to call the technical service.

Last night at my friend's home I talk to him about the trouble I was getting, he asked me some of my information to get Inside my router and I didn't bother about giving it to him, but we were talking about other stuff too so I didn't really asked him what he was going to do with my Router's information. Today about 16 hours after I tried youtube and it did start instantly without trouble, I was like wtf how come it works now so I texted my friend and told him, he told me that last night he fixed it by changing an option into the router. But now he can't remember it .. he told me about " Traffic " something, an option to put to "On"

Once I see him we're going to take a closer look so I can tell you exactly what he did
Logged

FurryNutz

  • Poweruser
  •   ▲
    ▲ ▲
  • *****
  • Posts: 49273
  • D-Link Global Forum Moderator
    • Router Troubleshooting
Re: Youtube problems
« Reply #11 on: November 09, 2012, 04:28:43 PM »

Please take a screen capture of the section he changed.

Might be Traffic Shaping however i think that ON by default.

Please get full details of what he did please. Keep testing to see how it works. Keep us posted.
Logged
"Nothing Funny about It...." We are not here to Impress anyone! You have a be a COMPETENT user first to under stand COMPETENT help!

FurryNutz

  • Poweruser
  •   ▲
    ▲ ▲
  • *****
  • Posts: 49273
  • D-Link Global Forum Moderator
    • Router Troubleshooting
Re: Youtube problems
« Reply #12 on: November 13, 2012, 02:31:22 PM »

Any feed back and info on this? Would like to know what was configured to get your router going.
Logged
"Nothing Funny about It...." We are not here to Impress anyone! You have a be a COMPETENT user first to under stand COMPETENT help!

FurryNutz

  • Poweruser
  •   ▲
    ▲ ▲
  • *****
  • Posts: 49273
  • D-Link Global Forum Moderator
    • Router Troubleshooting
Re: Youtube problems
« Reply #13 on: November 19, 2012, 01:39:18 PM »

You get a chance to find out how this was fixed?
Logged
"Nothing Funny about It...." We are not here to Impress anyone! You have a be a COMPETENT user first to under stand COMPETENT help!

pok2041

  • Level 1 Member
  • *
  • Posts: 9
Re: Youtube problems
« Reply #14 on: November 19, 2012, 01:39:56 PM »

Well it did works for at least 1 week or so .. but now it doesn't work anymore. Only thing I did from those days was to change my computer location ( did a lan at friends home ) and now just plugged it back and no more videos works .. so I'm going to make him come over my place to take a look at it .. and for sure i'll take a screenshot
Logged
Pages: [1] 2