• October 31, 2014, 04:11:59 AM
  • Welcome, Guest
Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

News:

This Forum Beta is ONLY for registered owners of D-Link products in which we have created boards at this time.

Author Topic: devices can't connect to my home wi-fi  (Read 12126 times)

seshiro02

  • Level 1 Member
  • *
  • Posts: 3
devices can't connect to my home wi-fi
« on: November 01, 2012, 10:21:45 AM »

hello
i've just a D-Link DIR-600 router last month and i successfully installed it and its working great. Until 2 to  days ago, my brother told me that he can't conlnect to the wi-fi. I said that its working just fine and told him to just reset his phone. And then, my sister also told me that she can't connect too. I checked their devices like iPhone 4S and iTouch and it says "Unable to join the network "******"". Also phones of my friends can't connect also. It was just working fine. I haven't changed anything on the router's configuration. I already reset the router, unplug then plug it and its still not working. The router is connected to my laptop and I can still browse the internet. Its the wireless connection that is not. Can you guys help me with this?
Logged

FurryNutz

  • Poweruser
  •   ▲
    ▲ ▲
  • *****
  • Posts: 28205
  • D-Link Global Forum Moderator
    • New DGL-5500 Gaming Router with StreamBoost™ Technology
Re: devices can't connect to my home wi-fi
« Reply #1 on: November 01, 2012, 10:45:22 AM »

Link>Welcome!
What Hardware version is your router? Look at sticker under router.
Link>What Firmware version is currently loaded? Found on routers web page under status.
What region are you located?

Has a Factory Reset been performed?

What ISP Service do you have? Cable or DSL?
What ISP Modem do you have? Stand Alone or built in router?
What ISP Modem make and model do you have?
If this modem has a built in router, it's best to bridge the modem. Having 2 routers on the same line can cause connection problems.
Double NAT
To tell if the modem is bridged or not, look at the routers web page, Status/Device Info/Wan Section, if there is a 192.168.0.# address in the WAN IP address field, then the modem is not bridged.
If the modem can't be bridged then see if the modem has a DMZ option and input the IP address the router gets from the modem and put that into the modems DMZ.

Some things to try: - Log into the routers web page at 192.168.0.1.
Turn off ALL QoS or Disable Traffic Shaping (DIR only) GameFuel (DGL only and if ON.) options. Advanced/QoS or Gamefuel.
Turn off Advanced DNS Services if you have this option under Setup/Internet/Manual.
Turn on DNS Relay under Setup/Networking.
Setup DHCP reserved IP addresses for all devices ON the router. Setup/Networking. This ensures each devices gets its own IP address when turned on and connected, eliminates IP address conflicts and helps in troubleshooting.
Ensure devices are set to auto obtain an IP address.
Set Firewall settings to Endpoint Independent for TCP and UDP under Advanced/Firewall.
Enable uPnP and Multi-cast Streaming under Advanced/Networking. Disable uPnP for testing Port Forwarding rules.

WAN Port Speed set to Auto or specific speed? Some newer ISP modems support 1000Mb so manually setting to Gb speeds can be supported by the router. Advanced/Advanced Networking/WAN Port Speed

Link>Wireless Installation Considerations
What wireless modes are you using? Under Setup/Wireless/Manual.
Try single mode G or N or mixed G and N?
Channel Width set for Auto 20/40Mhz or try 20Mhz only.
Try setting a manual channel to a open or unused channel. 1, 6 or 11. 11 for single mode N if the channel is clear.

What security mode are you using? Preferred security is WPA-Personal. WPA2/AES Only. Some WiFi adapters don't support AES, so you might want to try TPIK only or Auto.

Any cordless house phones?
Any other WiFi routers in the area? Link> Use InSSIDer to find out. How many?

Turn off WISH, and WPS under Advanced.
Try turning off Short GI, WLAN Partition,and Extra Wireless Protection if you have it. Under Advanced/Advanced Wireless.
Enable WMM Enable Under Advanced/Advanced Wireless.
Turn off all anti virus and firewall programs on PC while testing. 3rd party firewalls are not generally needed when using routers as they are effective on blocking malicious inbound traffic.
Turn off all devices accept for one wired PC while testing.
Logged
Cable:50mb/3Mb>Motorola SB6180>DIR-868L>HP 24pt Gb Switch. 3x4500s,DGL-5500,DIR-857,835,827,815,880L,868L,865L,826L,810L,685,657,3x655,645,601,DNS-345,DCS-933L and a Boxee.
Go Here>Router Troubleshooting

seshiro02

  • Level 1 Member
  • *
  • Posts: 3
Re: devices can't connect to my home wi-fi
« Reply #2 on: November 01, 2012, 12:36:44 PM »

I have tried what you've told me but it still doesn't work.

I have performed a factory reset once due to troubleshooting.

My ISP is a Broadband type. It comes with an antenna but no modem. Its kinda direct to your pc.

I have log on to the router's webpage and tried to the things you told me to and still it doesn't work.

I've checked the firmware in the router and it is the latest. Also, I'm from the Philippines.

Lastly, we have 1 cordless phone but I think it is not the case. Before this router, I was using a different one and it was running smoothly until it got defected. Then I bought this router one month ago, I haven't changed anything or installed and honestly, I just upgraded my laptop to Windows 7 cause I was using XP back then. I was just using my laptop for browsing. And then one day, I've noticed all our devices with wi-fi capability suddenly can't connect to my wi-fi. I mean if the router is now useless, I have just wasted money on this. Its just one month passed by. Any thoughts?
Logged

FurryNutz

  • Poweruser
  •   ▲
    ▲ ▲
  • *****
  • Posts: 28205
  • D-Link Global Forum Moderator
    • New DGL-5500 Gaming Router with StreamBoost™ Technology
Re: devices can't connect to my home wi-fi
« Reply #3 on: November 01, 2012, 12:52:28 PM »

So trying wireless mode G only and then using no wireless security to test, do any of the wireless devices connect?

Any other WiFi routers in the area? Link> Use InSSIDer to find out. How many?

If this fails, then I would contact your regional local D-Link support off office and get this into RMA.
« Last Edit: November 01, 2012, 12:59:10 PM by FurryNutz »
Logged
Cable:50mb/3Mb>Motorola SB6180>DIR-868L>HP 24pt Gb Switch. 3x4500s,DGL-5500,DIR-857,835,827,815,880L,868L,865L,826L,810L,685,657,3x655,645,601,DNS-345,DCS-933L and a Boxee.
Go Here>Router Troubleshooting

seshiro02

  • Level 1 Member
  • *
  • Posts: 3
Re: devices can't connect to my home wi-fi
« Reply #4 on: November 01, 2012, 01:29:06 PM »

I have installed inSSIDer and it only shows my wi-fi connection.
I've also tried removed the wireless security. And about the mode, is it the Wireless Mode: 802.11 (n/g/b) you're talking about? I tried setting it to n only then g/b mixed and lastly to n/g/b but to no avail. And also, I've noticed that when I test, the signal bars when down to 2 bars eventhough I'm front of my computer and router. My sister need this connection because she uses it sometimes for work so helping me to fix this will be greatly appreciated.
Logged

FurryNutz

  • Poweruser
  •   ▲
    ▲ ▲
  • *****
  • Posts: 28205
  • D-Link Global Forum Moderator
    • New DGL-5500 Gaming Router with StreamBoost™ Technology
Re: devices can't connect to my home wi-fi
« Reply #5 on: November 01, 2012, 01:34:02 PM »

Yes, I was hoping the maybe setting to single mode G or N might help with out any security. Seems like this unit needs to be RMAd. If you've only had it a month, D-Link should get it fixed or you can ask them for a cross shipping router, meaning they will send you one in the coming days, after you get that one in and working on line, then send this one that isn't working back to them.

Let us know how it goes.
Logged
Cable:50mb/3Mb>Motorola SB6180>DIR-868L>HP 24pt Gb Switch. 3x4500s,DGL-5500,DIR-857,835,827,815,880L,868L,865L,826L,810L,685,657,3x655,645,601,DNS-345,DCS-933L and a Boxee.
Go Here>Router Troubleshooting