• October 15, 2019, 02:30:57 PM
  • Welcome, Guest
Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

News:

This Forum Beta is ONLY for registered owners of D-Link products in the USA for which we have created boards at this time.

Author Topic: Dir-857 issues  (Read 5652 times)

Miketyler

  • Level 1 Member
  • *
  • Posts: 9
Dir-857 issues
« on: October 24, 2012, 05:46:19 AM »

Hello, I just recently bought a Dlink dir-857 cause I liked the performance of my 815 so I thought i'd go bigger, the set up went nice as expected everything works great except one thing my ps3 streams about 20 feet away wireless on 2.4Ghz same floor gives me really slow speeds. My old 815 used to give me 24Mbps and this 857 gives me just 3Mbps if i'm lucky.

  I have just the basic features enabled that setup wizard has placed and I enabled the DHCP Reservations list... Things I have tried factory reset upgraded firmware to A1 1.02 and disabling QOS.. Any suggestions would be greatly appreciated
Logged

FurryNutz

  • Poweruser
  •   ▲
    ▲ ▲
  • *****
  • Posts: 47836
  • D-Link Global Forum Moderator
    • Router Troubleshooting
Re: Dir-857 issues
« Reply #1 on: October 24, 2012, 06:57:55 AM »

Link>Welcome!

What region are you located?
What ISP Modem make and model do you have?
Has a Factory Reset been performed after the FW was updated?

Some things to try:
What wireless modes are you using? Under Setup/Wireless/Manual.
Try single mode G or mixed G and N on 2.4Ghz and single mode N on 5Ghz?
Try setting a manual channel to a open or unused channel. 1, 6 or 11. 11 for single mode N if the channel is clear.
What security mode are you using? Preferred security is WPA-Personal. WPA2/AES Only. Some WiFi adapters don't support AES, so you might want to try TPIK only or Auto.
What wireless devices do you have connected?
Any cordless house phones?
Any other WiFi routers in the area? Link> Use InSSIDer to find out. How many?
Turn off WISH, and WPS under Advanced.
Try turning off Short GI, WLAN Partition,and Extra Wireless Protection if you have it. Under Advanced/Advanced Wireless.
Enable WMM Enable Under Advanced/Advanced Wireless.

Also be aware that there are antenna differences between the 857 and 815, mainly external antennas vs internal...
Logged
Cable:200mb/10Mb>NetGear C7800>DIR-882>DGS-1100>HP 24pt Gb Switch. COVR-3902/2202/1203,DIR-2680,890L,882,880L,868L,DNR-202L,DNS-345x2,DCS-933L,936L and 960L.
Go Here>Router Troubleshooting

Miketyler

  • Level 1 Member
  • *
  • Posts: 9
Re: Dir-857 issues
« Reply #2 on: October 24, 2012, 08:40:14 AM »

Hey thanks for the reply Furrynutz,

What region are you located? Toronto
What ISP Modem make and model do you have? Thomson DCM 476
Has a Factory Reset been performed after the FW was updated? Yes once before update to 1.02 FW and once after.
What wireless modes are you using? Under Setup/Wireless/Manual. Tried all options
Try setting a manual channel to a open or unused channel. 1, 6 or 11. 11 for single mode N if the channel is clear. Done all
What security mode are you using? Preferred security is WPA-Personal. WPA2/AES Only. Some WiFi adapters don't support AES, so you might want to try TPIK only or Auto. WPA-Personal WPA2/AES
What wireless devices do you have connected?At the time of trial just PC Wired
Any cordless house phones?None just 2 Cellphones
Turn off WISH, and WPS under Advanced.Turned off
Try turning off Short GI, WLAN Partition,and Extra Wireless Protection if you have it. Under Advanced/Advanced Wireless.Completed
Enable WMM Enable Under Advanced/Advanced Wireless.Competed


Also be aware that there are antenna differences between the 857 and 815, mainly external antennas vs internal...Yes you are right, I used to get 95% with old 815 and now I have 100%

I did a little more tinkering and basically shut off all router options and still speed is only 10 a bit of an improvement not much I have 28Mbps... Anymore suggestions on what to turn on since everything is basically off... I know its not a default in the router because our phones and laptops hit the mark on speedtest..

Thanks
Logged

FurryNutz

  • Poweruser
  •   ▲
    ▲ ▲
  • *****
  • Posts: 47836
  • D-Link Global Forum Moderator
    • Router Troubleshooting
Re: Dir-857 issues
« Reply #3 on: October 24, 2012, 10:24:08 AM »

I presume this ISP Modem is a stand alone cable modem, no Wifi router built in?

Are there any other wifi routers near by?

Do you still have the 815? If so, you could use this as an AP along with the 857.

I don't think there is much of anything else to turn ON or OFF.

You could do some comparison testing and see what your speeds are at using same modes and security and placement if your interested. Again, internal antenna on this being 20feet away will probably have some differences from the 815's external antennae.  ::)
Logged
Cable:200mb/10Mb>NetGear C7800>DIR-882>DGS-1100>HP 24pt Gb Switch. COVR-3902/2202/1203,DIR-2680,890L,882,880L,868L,DNR-202L,DNS-345x2,DCS-933L,936L and 960L.
Go Here>Router Troubleshooting

Miketyler

  • Level 1 Member
  • *
  • Posts: 9
Re: Dir-857 issues
« Reply #4 on: October 24, 2012, 11:08:30 AM »

I presume this ISP Modem is a stand alone cable modem, no Wifi router built in?

Are there any other wifi routers near by?

Do you still have the 815? If so, you could use this as an AP along with the 857.

I don't think there is much of anything else to turn ON or OFF.

You could do some comparison testing and see what your speeds are at using same modes and security and placement if your interested. Again, internal antenna on this being 20feet away will probably have some differences from the 815's external antennae.  ::)

Are there any other wifi routers near by? Yes, I am not at home right now to use this program but wouldnt the 815 have issues as well? I can check in about 3 hrs and post results for you to take a look at

Do you still have the 815? If so, you could use this as an AP along with the 857. Yes I still have this router and sorry being new to this somewhat I dont know what you mean by AP sounds like a plan though.

You could do some comparison testing and see what your speeds are at using same modes and security and placement if your interested. Again, internal antenna on this being 20feet away will probably have some differences from the 815's external antennae.  ::)Is it possible to use my saved bin file of configuration from my 815 to 857?
Logged

FurryNutz

  • Poweruser
  •   ▲
    ▲ ▲
  • *****
  • Posts: 47836
  • D-Link Global Forum Moderator
    • Router Troubleshooting
Re: Dir-857 issues
« Reply #5 on: October 24, 2012, 11:13:40 AM »

Are there any other wifi routers near by? Yes, I am not at home right now to use this program but wouldnt the 815 have issues as well? I can check in about 3 hrs and post results for you to take a look at
Possible however i'm not sure if the 815 has or had any Good Neighbor policy build in such as newer routers like the 857 and other models that are new with in the last few years.

Do you still have the 815? If so, you could use this as an AP along with the 857. Yes I still have this router and sorry being new to this somewhat I dont know what you mean by AP sounds like a plan though. > Turning a router into an AP.

You could do some comparison testing and see what your speeds are at using same modes and security and placement if your interested. Again, internal antenna on this being 20feet away will probably have some differences from the 815's external antennae.  ::)Is it possible to use my saved bin file of configuration from my 815 to 857? No, one it won't let you and 2, different FW, and HW.

Logged
Cable:200mb/10Mb>NetGear C7800>DIR-882>DGS-1100>HP 24pt Gb Switch. COVR-3902/2202/1203,DIR-2680,890L,882,880L,868L,DNR-202L,DNS-345x2,DCS-933L,936L and 960L.
Go Here>Router Troubleshooting

Miketyler

  • Level 1 Member
  • *
  • Posts: 9
Re: Dir-857 issues
« Reply #6 on: October 24, 2012, 11:49:59 AM »

Ok I read your AP section this looks good... Say I was to choose wireless for the ap router would this mean I would be putting out 4 signals of 2.4Ghz and 5Ghz? an connecting to the one I choose?
Logged

FurryNutz

  • Poweruser
  •   ▲
    ▲ ▲
  • *****
  • Posts: 47836
  • D-Link Global Forum Moderator
    • Router Troubleshooting
Re: Dir-857 issues
« Reply #7 on: October 24, 2012, 11:56:31 AM »

Yes, just make sure you are using manual channels and they are different on each. I have my 857 @ 2.4Ghz set up for 11, An Apple AP set for for 6 and my neighbors set up for 1. Then I have a DGL-4500 set up for 5Ghz only, and on different channels from what the 857 is set for. 2.4Ghz is using the same SSID and 5Ghz is using same SSID on each router/AP device, just named differently to signify the 5Ghz from the 2.4Ghz name.
Logged
Cable:200mb/10Mb>NetGear C7800>DIR-882>DGS-1100>HP 24pt Gb Switch. COVR-3902/2202/1203,DIR-2680,890L,882,880L,868L,DNR-202L,DNS-345x2,DCS-933L,936L and 960L.
Go Here>Router Troubleshooting

Miketyler

  • Level 1 Member
  • *
  • Posts: 9
Re: Dir-857 issues
« Reply #8 on: October 24, 2012, 11:59:57 AM »

Ok will post back when completed with any issues or success, Would there be any way we could use TeamViewer if I somehow fail at this attempt? thanks
Logged

FurryNutz

  • Poweruser
  •   ▲
    ▲ ▲
  • *****
  • Posts: 47836
  • D-Link Global Forum Moderator
    • Router Troubleshooting
Re: Dir-857 issues
« Reply #9 on: October 24, 2012, 12:00:42 PM »

Sure, keep us posted.  ;)
Logged
Cable:200mb/10Mb>NetGear C7800>DIR-882>DGS-1100>HP 24pt Gb Switch. COVR-3902/2202/1203,DIR-2680,890L,882,880L,868L,DNR-202L,DNS-345x2,DCS-933L,936L and 960L.
Go Here>Router Troubleshooting

Miketyler

  • Level 1 Member
  • *
  • Posts: 9
Re: Dir-857 issues
« Reply #10 on: October 24, 2012, 05:09:54 PM »

Ok I have made the access point and it works my ps3 has gotten faster I need to tweak the 815 and run some more tests on the ps3 but at night its hard to tell cause the PS3 network is bogged down at night... I have hopefully one more question on the 815 AP router in the instructions it says to leave it to admin and no password is this correct? wouldnt/couldnt someone easily get into this? should I password enable it? And thank you so much again Mr.Nutz another great job helping your knowledge out ;D
Logged

FurryNutz

  • Poweruser
  •   ▲
    ▲ ▲
  • *****
  • Posts: 47836
  • D-Link Global Forum Moderator
    • Router Troubleshooting
Re: Dir-857 issues (RESOLVED)
« Reply #11 on: October 24, 2012, 05:13:57 PM »

Probably need to edit that however yes, you need to input a password on each AP that you set up. You'll be able to log into the AP using it's new IP address. Remember to turn off and disable all options, like SPI, QoS, Filters and such. Only thing that is needed in WiFi. Might play with WMM Enable to see if it's needed or not. I have it enabled on my DGL-4500.

Glad its working better for you.
« Last Edit: October 26, 2012, 01:49:26 PM by FurryNutz »
Logged
Cable:200mb/10Mb>NetGear C7800>DIR-882>DGS-1100>HP 24pt Gb Switch. COVR-3902/2202/1203,DIR-2680,890L,882,880L,868L,DNR-202L,DNS-345x2,DCS-933L,936L and 960L.
Go Here>Router Troubleshooting