• October 21, 2020, 06:29:41 PM
  • Welcome, Guest
Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

News:

This Forum Beta is ONLY for registered owners of D-Link products in the USA for which we have created boards at this time.

Author Topic: DSL-2730b as REPEATER of wireless signal  (Read 21649 times)

Gaucho

  • Level 1 Member
  • *
  • Posts: 12
DSL-2730b as REPEATER of wireless signal
« on: October 13, 2012, 10:54:01 AM »

Hello,

I know this equipment has an option under 'Advanced Wireless' to set it up as "wireless bridge". However I'm unable to make it repeat the signal from my main wireless access point - the DIR-635.

Can someone help me?

Thanks and regards,


Gaucho
Logged

FurryNutz

  • Poweruser
  •   ▲
    ▲ ▲
  • *****
  • Posts: 49274
  • D-Link Global Forum Moderator
    • Router Troubleshooting
Re: DSL-2730b as REPEATER of wireless signal
« Reply #1 on: October 13, 2012, 12:58:08 PM »

I presume if the DSL Modem has wireless bridge as an option, it would be connecting to a host source router with wireless. If your using the DIR as the host source router then I presume the DSL modem can wireless wirelessly to the SSID name and password being broadcast on the DIR router. I presume you would need to enter in the SSID name and password used on the DIR into the DSL modem wireless bridge option some place there.
Logged
"Nothing Funny about It...." We are not here to Impress anyone! You have a be a COMPETENT user first to under stand COMPETENT help!

Gaucho

  • Level 1 Member
  • *
  • Posts: 12
Re: DSL-2730b as REPEATER of wireless signal
« Reply #2 on: October 13, 2012, 01:23:40 PM »

I presume if the DSL Modem has wireless bridge as an option, it would be connecting to a host source router with wireless. If your using the DIR as the host source router then I presume the DSL modem can wireless wirelessly to the SSID name and password being broadcast on the DIR router. I presume you would need to enter in the SSID name and password used on the DIR into the DSL modem wireless bridge option some place there.


Yeah that would be the perfect scenario, but
1st) the AUTO SCAN does not work on the DSL; it does not find the SSID from the DIR-635;
2nd) even being there a manual option to enter the settings, there's no place to enter the SSID and pwd, just the ARP address of the wireless host equipment.

(all of the above are on the advanced wireless options)

Check this DSL-2730b emulator: http://suporte.dlink.com.br/suporte/emuladores/ADSL/2730B_GVT/

(click on Wireless then on Wirless Bridge. You'll then see what I mean).


Regards,

Gaucho
Logged

FurryNutz

  • Poweruser
  •   ▲
    ▲ ▲
  • *****
  • Posts: 49274
  • D-Link Global Forum Moderator
    • Router Troubleshooting
Re: DSL-2730b as REPEATER of wireless signal
« Reply #3 on: October 13, 2012, 01:37:47 PM »

I see. Not alot if user input options.  ::)
I would contact Dlink directly and see if you can get them to provide information on the wireless bridge for this modem.

If there isn't any resolution there, I would use the DSL as your main HOST router and set up the DIR as your wired AP. Or find you a D-Link DAP model device to use as a wireless bridge.
Logged
"Nothing Funny about It...." We are not here to Impress anyone! You have a be a COMPETENT user first to under stand COMPETENT help!

Gaucho

  • Level 1 Member
  • *
  • Posts: 12
Re: DSL-2730b as REPEATER of wireless signal
« Reply #4 on: October 13, 2012, 01:44:46 PM »

I see. Not alot if user input options.  ::)
I would contact Dlink directly and see if you can get them to provide information on the wireless bridge for this modem.

If there isn't any resolution there, I would use the DSL as your main HOST router and set up the DIR as your wired AP. Or find you a D-Link DAP model device to use as a wireless bridge.

Ok, but can I use the DIR as an Access Point for the *same* SSID? I just read the thread regarding AP, Bridging and Relaying. As far as I could understand, if I set up the DIR as an AP, I would have to use a different channel from the DSL. But would it be the same SSID? And users that move around wouldn't have to enter the password again when they changes the devices that cover that area? (I read somewhere that in such cases you would have ending up having more work to do on such cases)

Regards,


Gaucho
Logged

FurryNutz

  • Poweruser
  •   ▲
    ▲ ▲
  • *****
  • Posts: 49274
  • D-Link Global Forum Moderator
    • Router Troubleshooting
Re: DSL-2730b as REPEATER of wireless signal
« Reply #5 on: October 13, 2012, 01:46:24 PM »

Yes you can use the same SSID and PW. Just make sure the Channels are different. So if you can set the modem at chl 1, set the DIR at 11.

Bridge Mode vs Relay vs Access Point (AP) / Routers vs Dedicated Access Points (AP)
« Last Edit: May 20, 2015, 08:26:24 AM by FurryNutz »
Logged
"Nothing Funny about It...." We are not here to Impress anyone! You have a be a COMPETENT user first to under stand COMPETENT help!

Gaucho

  • Level 1 Member
  • *
  • Posts: 12
Re: DSL-2730b as REPEATER of wireless signal
« Reply #6 on: October 13, 2012, 01:51:50 PM »

Yes you can use the same SSID and PW. Just make sure the Channels are different. So if you can set the modem at chl 1, set the DIR at 11.


I meant, every time an user moves around the house and change the wireless equipment that's covering that area, will this user have to enter the password again?

Also, on the DIR, I don't see an option to setup the equipment as an AP. Should I just configure it with the same settings as on the DSL, the only difference is the channel? Nothing else? (I was expecting a setting where I can inform DIR that the DSL is the main wireless source and it is only the AP)

635 emulator: http://support.dlink.com/emulators/dir635/109/Login.html

Regards,

Gaucho
« Last Edit: May 20, 2015, 08:27:55 AM by FurryNutz »
Logged

FurryNutz

  • Poweruser
  •   ▲
    ▲ ▲
  • *****
  • Posts: 49274
  • D-Link Global Forum Moderator
    • Router Troubleshooting
Re: DSL-2730b as REPEATER of wireless signal
« Reply #7 on: October 13, 2012, 01:58:03 PM »

No, depending on the device and how it's designed to pick up signals and how strong the next signal is from the lower one, the device should automatically pick up the stronger signal when leaving a weaker one. However, that depends on the device, not the DLink devices. Each device will probably only need to connect to the SSID and PW once. If you change either one of those then you'll need to re-enter it.


Please follow the link in the Bridging, AP and Relay post for " Turning a router into an AP". Thats all you'll need. Works well. I have a DGL-4500 set as an AP here on the back end of my DIR-857.


« Last Edit: May 20, 2015, 08:27:06 AM by FurryNutz »
Logged
"Nothing Funny about It...." We are not here to Impress anyone! You have a be a COMPETENT user first to under stand COMPETENT help!

Gaucho

  • Level 1 Member
  • *
  • Posts: 12
Re: DSL-2730b as REPEATER of wireless signal
« Reply #8 on: October 13, 2012, 02:12:55 PM »

No, depending on the device and how it's designed to pick up signals and how strong the next signal is from the lower one, the device should automatically pick up the stronger signal when leaving a weaker one. However, that depends on the device, not the DLink devices. Each device will probably only need to connect to the SSID and PW once. If you change either one of those then you'll need to re-enter it.


Please follow the link in the Bridging, AP and Relay post for "Turning a Router into an AP". Thats all you'll need. Works well. I have a DGL-4500 set as an AP here on the back end of my DIR-857.

I'll check that. Thanks for your strong help!
Logged

FurryNutz

  • Poweruser
  •   ▲
    ▲ ▲
  • *****
  • Posts: 49274
  • D-Link Global Forum Moderator
    • Router Troubleshooting
Re: DSL-2730b as REPEATER of wireless signal
« Reply #9 on: October 13, 2012, 02:50:31 PM »

Let us know how it turns out.

Logged
"Nothing Funny about It...." We are not here to Impress anyone! You have a be a COMPETENT user first to under stand COMPETENT help!