• October 29, 2020, 03:20:15 PM
  • Welcome, Guest
Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

News:

This Forum Beta is ONLY for registered owners of D-Link products in the USA for which we have created boards at this time.

Author Topic: Increase wireless signal in room 3  (Read 6316 times)

unome1277

  • Level 1 Member
  • *
  • Posts: 12
Increase wireless signal in room 3
« on: August 27, 2012, 07:52:16 PM »

Hello everyone

I have my router dgl 4500 which is in room 1 and I want to increase the wireless signal in room 3 which is located in other corner of the house I also have dap 1360 which I try to put repeater but I can't try access point because it is very hard to run wire from room 1 to room 3

So here is my question is there any how I can connect the power line adapter then connect dap 1360 to power line adapter to increase signal in room 3 and other part of the house where i am getting less signal

If yes which power line adapter will work on dgl 4500.
Logged

FurryNutz

  • Poweruser
  •   ▲
    ▲ ▲
  • *****
  • Posts: 49298
  • D-Link Global Forum Moderator
    • Router Troubleshooting
Re: Increase wireless signal in room 3
« Reply #1 on: August 27, 2012, 07:55:29 PM »

I might have a look at this one:
http://www.dlink.com/us/en/home-solutions/connect/powerline/dhp-501av-powerline-av-500-adapter-starter-kit

I might also call DLink sales or support for the power line series and ask which model series would be best to work with the 4500 and the 1360.

Logged
"Nothing Funny about It...." We are not here to Impress anyone! You have a be a COMPETENT user first to under stand COMPETENT help!

unome1277

  • Level 1 Member
  • *
  • Posts: 12
Re: Increase wireless signal in room 3
« Reply #2 on: August 27, 2012, 08:02:24 PM »

When are you going to reply back about the issues.
Logged

FurryNutz

  • Poweruser
  •   ▲
    ▲ ▲
  • *****
  • Posts: 49298
  • D-Link Global Forum Moderator
    • Router Troubleshooting
Re: Increase wireless signal in room 3
« Reply #3 on: August 27, 2012, 08:06:45 PM »

Issues ???
Logged
"Nothing Funny about It...." We are not here to Impress anyone! You have a be a COMPETENT user first to under stand COMPETENT help!

unome1277

  • Level 1 Member
  • *
  • Posts: 12
Re: Increase wireless signal in room 3
« Reply #4 on: August 27, 2012, 08:09:40 PM »

I just want to increase my wireless signal I am tired of people telling me that my Internet suck when they come to my house.
Logged

FurryNutz

  • Poweruser
  •   ▲
    ▲ ▲
  • *****
  • Posts: 49298
  • D-Link Global Forum Moderator
    • Router Troubleshooting
Re: Increase wireless signal in room 3
« Reply #5 on: August 27, 2012, 08:16:20 PM »

how far is it from where room one is to room 3?
Idea set up is to have the 4500 central to the house or building in relation to each end of the house and on the main floor. Since you have the 4500 at one end and need singal at the other, the DAP should fill this other end in nicely. I would prefer to run the 4500 as the main host AP and then run the DAP as a 2ndary AP since you can run the same SSID name and password. The only thing you need to ensure is that the channels is different on the DAP from the 4500, so if you run channel 11 on the 4500, run channel 1 or 6 on the DAP. I have my main host AP and 2 other APs at my place.

I prefer to use Mixed G and N modes cutting off B mode if you don't have any B mode devices that need that mode, theres no reason to broadcast it if your not using it.
Logged
"Nothing Funny about It...." We are not here to Impress anyone! You have a be a COMPETENT user first to under stand COMPETENT help!

unome1277

  • Level 1 Member
  • *
  • Posts: 12
Re: Increase wireless signal in room 3
« Reply #6 on: August 27, 2012, 08:30:58 PM »

I have my ps3 and my vonage and tv is connected as wired connection which I located in room 1 and I can't move my dgl 4500 and I am using Comcast.
Logged

FurryNutz

  • Poweruser
  •   ▲
    ▲ ▲
  • *****
  • Posts: 49298
  • D-Link Global Forum Moderator
    • Router Troubleshooting
Re: Increase wireless signal in room 3
« Reply #7 on: August 27, 2012, 08:33:09 PM »

How far is it from where room one is to room 3?

I don't think you have to move anything. Just suggesting that you use the 4500 as your main AP and the set up the 1360 as a 2ndary AP at the other end of the house for additional signal using same SSID and PW and connected thru a power line adapter.

I would contact DLink for information on which one to use.
Logged
"Nothing Funny about It...." We are not here to Impress anyone! You have a be a COMPETENT user first to under stand COMPETENT help!

unome1277

  • Level 1 Member
  • *
  • Posts: 12
Re: Increase wireless signal in room 3
« Reply #8 on: August 27, 2012, 08:43:03 PM »

So you're saying run a wire from dgl to 1st power line adapter and connect to power line and 2nd power line adapter in room 3 then connect dap to 2nd power line adapter.
Logged

FurryNutz

  • Poweruser
  •   ▲
    ▲ ▲
  • *****
  • Posts: 49298
  • D-Link Global Forum Moderator
    • Router Troubleshooting
Re: Increase wireless signal in room 3
« Reply #9 on: August 27, 2012, 08:45:44 PM »

I think that should work for you.
Logged
"Nothing Funny about It...." We are not here to Impress anyone! You have a be a COMPETENT user first to under stand COMPETENT help!

unome1277

  • Level 1 Member
  • *
  • Posts: 12
Re: Increase wireless signal in room 3
« Reply #10 on: August 27, 2012, 08:55:17 PM »

Ok thanks
Logged

FurryNutz

  • Poweruser
  •   ▲
    ▲ ▲
  • *****
  • Posts: 49298
  • D-Link Global Forum Moderator
    • Router Troubleshooting
Re: Increase wireless signal in room 3
« Reply #11 on: August 27, 2012, 08:57:25 PM »

Lets us know how it works out.
Good Luck.
Logged
"Nothing Funny about It...." We are not here to Impress anyone! You have a be a COMPETENT user first to under stand COMPETENT help!