• October 20, 2014, 06:01:33 AM
  • Welcome, Guest
Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

News:

This Forum Beta is ONLY for registered owners of D-Link products in which we have created boards at this time.

Author Topic: How Do I set up a wireless network with Roadrunner?  (Read 3078 times)

kcmout

  • Level 1 Member
  • *
  • Posts: 2
How Do I set up a wireless network with Roadrunner?
« on: April 11, 2009, 10:02:01 PM »

I just upgraded to Roadrunner, today. While the technician was setting it up, he mentioned that there is a way to hook the DIR-655 up to Roadrunner modem, solely, that would allow me to connect to the internet, and a home network, wirelessly from both of my computers (PC running XP, laptop running Vista). I brought a Netgear wireless 2.0 apdapter for the PC, and expected the network on my laptop to do the rest. The technician offered to set it up for me, but i was being a typical guy, and said I could do it myself, which is why I'm posting this.

Right now, I have an ethernet cable connected my PC to the DIR-655, another ethernet cable connecting the cable modem with the router. I want to connect the router to the cable modem, and use both computers, wirelessly, no cord attaching them to the router. Id that possible? And if so, how?

I appreciate any help you can give me.
Logged

Reinvented

  • Level 4 Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 437
Re: How Do I set up a wireless network with Roadrunner?
« Reply #1 on: April 11, 2009, 10:59:15 PM »

Well, first...unplug the power to the modem.  Attach an ethernet cable to the modem, and the other end to the "Internet" port on the back of the router.  To setup the router properly, and secure the wireless network, you need to also run a cable from any of the 4 other ports on the back of the router into your PC. 

Once that is done, and you obtain an IP address, you should navigate to 192.168.0.1 and login and start setting it up.
Logged

ttmcmurry

  • Level 4 Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 438
Re: How Do I set up a wireless network with Roadrunner?
« Reply #2 on: April 12, 2009, 07:13:08 AM »

Let me add to this a little bit:

1)  Power down (unplug) the modem, the dir-655, and your computer equiment
2)  From the back of the cable modem, locate the ethernet port and plug in a ethernet cable
3)  Take that cable and connect it to the grey internet port on the dir-655
4)  Plug in the cable modem's power cord; count 30 seconds then
5)  Plug in the dir-655's power cord
6)  While the dir-655 is booting, plug in another ethernet cable to port 1
7)  Plug in the other end of that cable into an ethernet port on one of your computers
8)  Power that computer on
9)  Launch a web browser.  You should be on the internet now.
10)  If so, visit http://192.168.0.1 and login as either admin/admin or admin without a password
11)  Go thorough the Setup -> Wireless Settings -> Wireless Network Setup Wizard
12)  Set the options you feel necessary
13)  Save those settings, reboot the dir-655
14)  Connect Wirelessly with your other computer with its USB 2.0 wireless device

Voila :)  If something doesn't work at a certain step, backtrack and try again.
Logged

kcmout

  • Level 1 Member
  • *
  • Posts: 2
Re: How Do I set up a wireless network with Roadrunner?
« Reply #3 on: April 12, 2009, 09:44:52 AM »

Thanks, guys. That worked fine. I appreciate your help.
Logged

EddieZ

  • Level 11 Member
  • *
  • Posts: 2500
Re: How Do I set up a wireless network with Roadrunner?
« Reply #4 on: April 13, 2009, 02:45:39 AM »

Thanks, guys. That worked fine. I appreciate your help.

It's the textbook setup guide that's provided withe the router  ;)
Logged
DIR-655 H/W: A2 FW: 1.33

ttmcmurry

  • Level 4 Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 438
Re: How Do I set up a wireless network with Roadrunner?
« Reply #5 on: April 13, 2009, 05:36:33 AM »

Eddiez, Don't give away all my secrets!   :P
Logged

EddieZ

  • Level 11 Member
  • *
  • Posts: 2500
Re: How Do I set up a wireless network with Roadrunner?
« Reply #6 on: April 13, 2009, 10:23:58 AM »

Eddiez, Don't give away all my secrets!   :P

....ehhh, good step-by-step list you got there. I wish Dlink included that one in their manuals.... :P
Logged
DIR-655 H/W: A2 FW: 1.33

arod

  • Guest
Re: How Do I set up a wireless network with Roadrunner?
« Reply #7 on: April 13, 2009, 11:51:28 AM »

I think he googled it  ::)
Logged

ttmcmurry

  • Level 4 Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 438
Re: How Do I set up a wireless network with Roadrunner?
« Reply #8 on: April 13, 2009, 08:03:48 PM »

I think he googled it  ::)

OOOhhhh SMACK!  Yeah, you sure got me, I Googled it yeap... right between working with my Cisco 3850 router's access list and updating the VLANs on my twin Dell PowerConnect 6224 w/ 10GigE fiber.

Mmm.. fiber!  And I'm not all bunched up!
« Last Edit: April 13, 2009, 08:06:59 PM by ttmcmurry »
Logged