• October 25, 2020, 07:30:30 PM
  • Welcome, Guest
Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

News:

This Forum Beta is ONLY for registered owners of D-Link products in the USA for which we have created boards at this time.

Author Topic: Takes almost 3 minutes to connect???  (Read 7921 times)

danhasmail

  • Level 2 Member
  • **
  • Posts: 29
Takes almost 3 minutes to connect???
« on: July 25, 2012, 03:33:04 PM »

When my computer starts, and Windows 7 64 bit loads, I get the little circle indicator spinning at the bottom right of Windows 7 in the Network icon for about 2 to3 minutes before disappearing to show that it's connected. It used to only take about 10 seconds. 2 to 3 minutes is a long time.
Once connected, there are no problems with the internet until I restart the computer again.
At the same time as the spinning circle disappears, to show it’s connected, 3 of my gadget icons appear on the desktop, 1 for "Norton" 1 for “TuneUp Utilities” and 1 for the “Windows Calendar”.
I have already tried using msconfig.exe to remove all but windows programs from services and startup, but get the same results.
Does anyone have any ideas on why it’s taking sooo long to connect???
Logged
ASUS Rampage 3 Extreme, Intel i7 930 w/Cooler Master Hyper 212 Plus cooler, 6GB (3x2GB) Corsair RAM, 125GB OCZ Vertex 3 SSD SATA 3 + 1TB WD Black SATA 3, Win 7 Pro. 64bit, MSI N470GTX video, Motorola SB6120 modem, D-Link DGL-4500 router, Antec 1200 case

FurryNutz

  • Poweruser
  •   ▲
    ▲ ▲
  • *****
  • Posts: 49284
  • D-Link Global Forum Moderator
    • Router Troubleshooting
Re: Takes almost 3 minutes to connect???
« Reply #1 on: July 25, 2012, 05:22:34 PM »

Some things to try:
Turn off ALL QoS or Disable Traffic Shaping (DIR only) GameFuel (DGL only and if ON.) options. Advanced/QoS or Gamefuel.
Turn off Advanced DNS Services if you have this option under Setup/Internet/Manual.
Turn on DNS Relay under Setup/Networking.
Setup DHCP reserved IP addresses for all devices ON the router. Setup/Networking
Ensure devices are set to auto obtain an IP address.
Set Firewall settings to Endpoint Independent for TCP and UDP under Advanced/Firewall.
Enable uPnP and Multi-cast Streaming under Advanced/Networking.


Turn off all anti virus and firewall programs on PC while testing. 3rd party firewalls are not generally needed when using routers as they are effective on blocking malicious inbound traffic.
Turn off all devices accept for one wired PC while testing.


Does the same thing happen if you reboot into Safe Mode with Networking?
Logged
"Nothing Funny about It...." We are not here to Impress anyone! You have a be a COMPETENT user first to under stand COMPETENT help!

thejoewin

  • Level 2 Member
  • **
  • Posts: 44
Re: Takes almost 3 minutes to connect???
« Reply #2 on: July 25, 2012, 08:51:48 PM »

things to try
go to
Control Panel\Network and Internet\Network and Sharing Center
on the left tab, click Change adapter settings and right click on your Wireless adapter
click Configure and go to Advanced,
Enable Multimedia/Gaming Environment
Power Saving Mode to high
check to see if your Radio On/Off is Enabled

go to command prompt and type ipconfig/flushdns if you made changes to your router.

oh yeah, also go to Power Management and uncheck Allow the computer to turn off this device to save power.
just in case if your computer is configured to run power saving mode.
« Last Edit: July 25, 2012, 08:57:50 PM by thejoewin »
Logged

danhasmail

  • Level 2 Member
  • **
  • Posts: 29
Re: Takes almost 3 minutes to connect???
« Reply #3 on: July 25, 2012, 11:20:24 PM »

FurryNutz,,,, Most of the things you recommended where already set that way on my router, except I had to DHCP reserve the 2 other devices that connect wirelessly to the router. My computer which connects via ethernet cable was already reserved so i didn't think that would help.

thejoeman,,,,There is no wireless device except the router itself in Change adapter settings.

After making the couple changes above, i rebooted computer and had the same 2-3 minute connection delay.

Also...if i boot using Safe Mode with networking, i connect almost instantly like it used to.

Any other ideas ??????????????
« Last Edit: July 25, 2012, 11:24:54 PM by danhasmail »
Logged
ASUS Rampage 3 Extreme, Intel i7 930 w/Cooler Master Hyper 212 Plus cooler, 6GB (3x2GB) Corsair RAM, 125GB OCZ Vertex 3 SSD SATA 3 + 1TB WD Black SATA 3, Win 7 Pro. 64bit, MSI N470GTX video, Motorola SB6120 modem, D-Link DGL-4500 router, Antec 1200 case

thejoewin

  • Level 2 Member
  • **
  • Posts: 44
Re: Takes almost 3 minutes to connect???
« Reply #4 on: July 25, 2012, 11:46:15 PM »

in your wireless adapter, Internet Protocol Version 4, is it set to
automatic? make sure it's auto

you might want to check your norton settings.

probably your best bet is to remove the connection from the homegroup in network and sharing center. reboot and please come back with results.

if this doesn't work go to Device Manager, uninstall wireless adapter, reboot and let windows re-install. reboot and see if it works.

also try disk cleanup, to improve start ups.
« Last Edit: July 26, 2012, 12:10:46 AM by thejoewin »
Logged

FurryNutz

  • Poweruser
  •   ▲
    ▲ ▲
  • *****
  • Posts: 49284
  • D-Link Global Forum Moderator
    • Router Troubleshooting
Re: Takes almost 3 minutes to connect???
« Reply #5 on: July 26, 2012, 07:00:18 AM »

Something in on your PC causing a slow connect and nothing to do with the 4500.

Let us know what you find out with some of the suggestions Joewin made for you.
Logged
"Nothing Funny about It...." We are not here to Impress anyone! You have a be a COMPETENT user first to under stand COMPETENT help!

XS

  • Level 4 Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 390
Re: Takes almost 3 minutes to connect???
« Reply #6 on: July 26, 2012, 07:04:53 AM »

Who is your ISP?  I would go your ISP provider website and look for their FAQ or set up documents and redo everything too.

Example:
Here is my ISP set up instructions:
http://ww2.cox.com/residential/support/internet/article.cox?articleId={e06e1e30-ba3d-11e1-eb46-000000000000}
Logged

thejoewin

  • Level 2 Member
  • **
  • Posts: 44
Re: Takes almost 3 minutes to connect???
« Reply #7 on: July 26, 2012, 02:59:29 PM »

send me your teamviewer, i don't know if you're using wireless or wired to connect to your router.
Logged

danhasmail

  • Level 2 Member
  • **
  • Posts: 29
Re: Takes almost 3 minutes to connect???
« Reply #8 on: July 26, 2012, 03:07:50 PM »

I'll get back with more info, but for now i just want to say again.......The D-Link 4500 is mine and two neighbors connect to it wirelessly, but i connect to it via ethernet cable and it and the 2 wireless are reserved in DHCP section of router menu.
Logged
ASUS Rampage 3 Extreme, Intel i7 930 w/Cooler Master Hyper 212 Plus cooler, 6GB (3x2GB) Corsair RAM, 125GB OCZ Vertex 3 SSD SATA 3 + 1TB WD Black SATA 3, Win 7 Pro. 64bit, MSI N470GTX video, Motorola SB6120 modem, D-Link DGL-4500 router, Antec 1200 case

thejoewin

  • Level 2 Member
  • **
  • Posts: 44
Re: Takes almost 3 minutes to connect???
« Reply #9 on: July 26, 2012, 06:26:13 PM »

ok, try disabling your wireless adapter if you don't need it. your computer will try to connect to available wireless network around you, and trying to login through its network. loading your profiles and start up programs will be slow while booting because of this.

another thing to try is to remove IPv6 from network properties.

if your network doesn't require IPv6 protocol, better remove it under network connection properties. sometimes this protocol in your computer slows down network by trying to register IPv6 addresses. better to remove it if it's not required.
« Last Edit: July 26, 2012, 07:19:17 PM by thejoewin »
Logged

danhasmail

  • Level 2 Member
  • **
  • Posts: 29
Re: Takes almost 3 minutes to connect???
« Reply #10 on: July 26, 2012, 11:23:30 PM »

thejoewin,,,,, what do you mean to disable my wireless adapter,??? i am not using a wireless to connect, i connect via ethernet cable.
I also want to remind you that when i boot in "safe mode with networking", the computer connects fast like it's suppose to.
Logged
ASUS Rampage 3 Extreme, Intel i7 930 w/Cooler Master Hyper 212 Plus cooler, 6GB (3x2GB) Corsair RAM, 125GB OCZ Vertex 3 SSD SATA 3 + 1TB WD Black SATA 3, Win 7 Pro. 64bit, MSI N470GTX video, Motorola SB6120 modem, D-Link DGL-4500 router, Antec 1200 case

FurryNutz

  • Poweruser
  •   ▲
    ▲ ▲
  • *****
  • Posts: 49284
  • D-Link Global Forum Moderator
    • Router Troubleshooting
Re: Takes almost 3 minutes to connect???
« Reply #11 on: July 26, 2012, 11:37:04 PM »

When you boot into safe mode, all the normal background applications and drivers are not loaded. This tells me that something, booting into Normal mode is loaded and is taking extended time to load and is not letting the network services connect in a more timely manor. I recommend that you take a look at the event log under windows management and see if there is anything noted in this 3 minute time frame that might help you figure out what on this particular PC is slowing the boot and network process down.

Check or any viruses, malware or background programs that are slowing your PC down. If you can find any thing or can't figure it out, then I would consult a computer repair facility or even do a clean install of the OS.

Logged
"Nothing Funny about It...." We are not here to Impress anyone! You have a be a COMPETENT user first to under stand COMPETENT help!

danhasmail

  • Level 2 Member
  • **
  • Posts: 29
Re: Takes almost 3 minutes to connect???
« Reply #12 on: July 27, 2012, 03:51:28 PM »

FIXED  yea!!!!
I followed Furrynuts advice and checked the event log. There i found a couple of errors at startup. The one that made the difference was an error loading/starting "Windows Presentation Foundation Font Cache"
I googled it and saw a few things: it might be corrupt etc., and to empty it and let it refill or to disable it, etc.
What i did was make it delay starting. When i rebooted i got my network connection right away like it's supposed to.
I'm not concerned about whether or not the cache is corrupt or not because i plan to dump my hard drive and reload today or in the next few days.
I just had to find out what was causing this delay.
I thank everyone for their input, it sure is nice to have a place to go to get help with your problems.
Live long and prosper,
danny
Logged
ASUS Rampage 3 Extreme, Intel i7 930 w/Cooler Master Hyper 212 Plus cooler, 6GB (3x2GB) Corsair RAM, 125GB OCZ Vertex 3 SSD SATA 3 + 1TB WD Black SATA 3, Win 7 Pro. 64bit, MSI N470GTX video, Motorola SB6120 modem, D-Link DGL-4500 router, Antec 1200 case

FurryNutz

  • Poweruser
  •   ▲
    ▲ ▲
  • *****
  • Posts: 49284
  • D-Link Global Forum Moderator
    • Router Troubleshooting
Re: Takes almost 3 minutes to connect??? (RESOLVED)
« Reply #13 on: July 28, 2012, 09:39:45 AM »

Glad you found the problem. Enjoy.
Logged
"Nothing Funny about It...." We are not here to Impress anyone! You have a be a COMPETENT user first to under stand COMPETENT help!