• July 10, 2020, 06:52:38 AM
  • Welcome, Guest
Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

News:

This Forum Beta is ONLY for registered owners of D-Link products in the USA for which we have created boards at this time.

Pages: 1 2 [3] 4 5 6

Author Topic: New DIR-857 v1.02 FW  (Read 49361 times)

jleonard711

  • Level 1 Member
  • *
  • Posts: 12
Re: New DIR-857 v1.02 FW
« Reply #30 on: August 14, 2012, 06:15:28 AM »

I wouldn't call the original firmware "stable" by any means - reread the first line of my post. ::) I was having those issues right out of the box from day one with nothing more than than the basic setup having been done on it. I then spent weeks playing around with all of the different settings to see if I could get it to work properly, but to no avail. And I did several factory resets during that time (while on the original firmware), and I kept having the same problems over and over.

At one point I thought I had everything sorted out, but then I realized that my internet speed was running painfully slow (6-8Mb/s DL & <1Mb/s UL, compared to my normal 30-40 DL & 12-15 UL). And another time I could literally have 3 different browsers open on the same machine - IE, FF and Chrome - and one would pull up Google but not MSN, the other would pull up Yahoo & MSN but not Google, the other would only pull up random websites that I would type in but no websites that I had ever visited before. Or I'd have two laptops connected via WiFi and one would be working just fine but the other would take 5 minutes to load any web page. Just a bunch of weird stuff like that. And I know it was the router because as soon as I'd hook my old one back up everything worked fine. It was the biggest mess I've ever had to deal with, and I am a very tech-savvy individual - I have 6 self-built PC's including a WHS & a few HTPC's, NAS, laptops, tablets, networked gaming systems, etc. So it's not like I don't know what I'm doing.

Anyhow, it's working fine now and that's all that matters. Just wish I could get the countless hours of my life back that I spent working on this damn thing.  >:(
Logged

JavaLawyer

  • BETA Tester
  • Level 15 Member
  • *
  • Posts: 12190
  • D-Link Global Forum Moderator
    • FoundFootageCritic
Re: New DIR-857 v1.02 FW
« Reply #31 on: August 14, 2012, 06:19:14 AM »

As you said, the important thing is that the router is working properly. I am hoping that D-Link eventually releases a change log so we can see exactly what's been fixed rather than these posts describing user experience.

Based on your earlier post, I am curious if the actual factory installed firmware was somehow partially corrupt. I wonder how the router would behave if the factory installed firmware were re-uploaded.  :-\

Let's hope everything remains stable going forward.  ;)
« Last Edit: August 14, 2012, 06:30:34 AM by JavaLawyer »
Logged
Find answers here: D-Link ShareCenter FAQ I D-Link Network Camera FAQ
There's no such thing as too many backups FFC

FurryNutz

  • Poweruser
  •   ▲
    ▲ ▲
  • *****
  • Posts: 48952
  • D-Link Global Forum Moderator
    • Router Troubleshooting
Re: New DIR-857 v1.02 FW
« Reply #32 on: August 14, 2012, 07:19:59 AM »

Come back and visit the forums good info and help here. Glad you got it working.

Enjoy.
Logged
"Nothing Funny about It...." We are not here to Impress anyone! You have a be a COMPETENT user first to under stand COMPETENT help!

jleonard711

  • Level 1 Member
  • *
  • Posts: 12
Re: New DIR-857 v1.02 FW
« Reply #33 on: August 14, 2012, 11:25:41 AM »

I did notice one specific thing with the new firmware which was different than the original one. When I went through the initial setup on the original firmware, it would automatically populate the MAC address of the PC that I was using to set it up and it would put that into the router settings. This address matched the MAC address of the "known PC" that showed in my modem status, so I assumed that was correct. However, after upgrading to the new firmware and doing a factory reset and going through the set up again, the MAC address that it now shows in the field where it used to show the MAC of my PC now shows a completely random address that doesn't match any device on my network. And the MAC address of the "known PC" in my cable modem has also now changed to that new random address as well. Weird.
« Last Edit: August 14, 2012, 11:28:11 AM by jleonard711 »
Logged

FurryNutz

  • Poweruser
  •   ▲
    ▲ ▲
  • *****
  • Posts: 48952
  • D-Link Global Forum Moderator
    • Router Troubleshooting
Re: New DIR-857 v1.02 FW
« Reply #34 on: August 14, 2012, 11:37:30 AM »

After you factory reset the router and used the wizard to set it up, did you have all other devices OFF while doing this accept for the one PC and modem?
Logged
"Nothing Funny about It...." We are not here to Impress anyone! You have a be a COMPETENT user first to under stand COMPETENT help!

jleonard711

  • Level 1 Member
  • *
  • Posts: 12
Re: New DIR-857 v1.02 FW
« Reply #35 on: August 14, 2012, 11:54:47 AM »

Yes, I hardwired one PC directly into the router and didn't go through a switch or anything when I did the setup after doing the factory reset, so that was the one and only device on the entire network at the time of setup. I've never had to do that with any other router in my life, I just thought I'd try that since nothing else had worked. And I don't know if that's what made the difference, or if it's just the fact that I did the factory reset after installing the new firmware, who knows. But each of the other times that I went through the setup process or reset the router I always had the 24-port switch with my entire home network connected to the router, but like I said that has never posed a problem in setting up any other router that I have ever used.
« Last Edit: August 14, 2012, 12:00:01 PM by jleonard711 »
Logged

FurryNutz

  • Poweruser
  •   ▲
    ▲ ▲
  • *****
  • Posts: 48952
  • D-Link Global Forum Moderator
    • Router Troubleshooting
Re: New DIR-857 v1.02 FW
« Reply #36 on: August 14, 2012, 12:01:40 PM »

Was any 3rd party security programs active? Like Firewall or Anti-virus?
What browser do you use to mange the routers web page? If IE 8 or 9, set compatibility mode?.

Just curious about if anything else might be effecting data traffic and how the router is responding to the wizard and FW. I also have a 24pt switch.
« Last Edit: August 14, 2012, 12:05:06 PM by FurryNutz »
Logged
"Nothing Funny about It...." We are not here to Impress anyone! You have a be a COMPETENT user first to under stand COMPETENT help!

slumbuddy

  • Level 1 Member
  • *
  • Posts: 1
Re: New DIR-857 v1.02 FW
« Reply #37 on: August 14, 2012, 12:31:15 PM »

1.02 FW fixes a problem I had with 1.00, but still has a few deficiencies that I'd like to see remedied.  First, some background on how I am using it.  I am not using the 857 as a router, I've configured it to be a wireless access point (DHCP off, static IP, WAN port is unused).  I've got FibeTV, so there is lots and lots of IPTV traffic coursing through my home network.  I've had problems with other WAPs due to this traffic, which is why I decided to upgrade to the 857 in the hopes that some of these stability problems could be resolved.

I unboxed the 857 with v1.00, reconfigured it to be a WAP, and everything worked great except when there was IPTV traffic (watching TV or recording a problem).  Connections would become unstable and extremely slow (essentially unusable), much slower than it ought to be given the bandwidth used by the TV channel.  My network monitor reports that all the TV (RTP) packets are being transmitted through the air (this is bad).  Messing around with QoS and WISH did not yield any positive results.

After upgrading to v1.02 FW, things got much better.  Connections are stable and fast when the TV is on, and IPTV traffic is no longer transmitted through the air (yay, I don't have to return the 857).  However, there was one incident when I rebooted the 857 with the TV on, and it got back into an unusable, unstable and slow mode similar to v1.00, and IPTV traffic was going through the air again.  No amount of reboots would fix the problem.  I finally got it to work again when I rebooted while disconnected from my home network, and reconnect after fully booted.  I have not been able to reproduce this problem since the first incident.

A couple of other things that are not working when configured as a WAP.
- The MAC filter does not work at all.  I'd like to be able to add that extra level of security.
- The inbound filter does not work (because I am not using the WAN port).  It would be nice to filter out traffic from certain devices on my home network (like the cable boxes) to maximize my wifi bandwidth.  I guess I'm really asking for a local traffic filter.

Overall, after a day of use I am very pleased with the 857, so far it seems to be the most stable WAP I've tried (this is the 3rd one I've tried).
Logged

FurryNutz

  • Poweruser
  •   ▲
    ▲ ▲
  • *****
  • Posts: 48952
  • D-Link Global Forum Moderator
    • Router Troubleshooting
Re: New DIR-857 v1.02 FW
« Reply #38 on: August 14, 2012, 12:34:24 PM »

What wireless modes are you using? Under Setup/Wireless/Manual.
Try single mode G or mixed G and N on 2.4Ghz and single mode N on 5Ghz?
Channel Width set for Auto 20/40Mhz or try 20Mhz only.
Try setting a manual channel to a open or unused channel. 1, 6 or 11. 11 for single mode N if the channel is clear.
What security mode are you using? Preferred security is WPA-Personal. WPA2/AES Only. Some WiFi adapters don't support AES, so you might want to try TPIK only or Auto.
Any cordless house phones?
Any other WiFi routers in the area? Link> Use InSSIDer to find out. How many?
Turn off WISH, and WPS under Advanced.
Try turning off Short GI, WLAN Partition,and Extra Wireless Protection if you have it. Under Advanced/Advanced Wireless.

Please review this:
Turning a router into an AP.
Most of the features can not be used while in AP mode.

1.02 FW fixes a problem I had with 1.00, but still has a few deficiencies that I'd like to see remedied.  First, some background on how I am using it.  I am not using the 857 as a router, I've configured it to be a wireless access point (DHCP off, static IP, WAN port is unused).  I've got FibeTV, so there is lots and lots of IPTV traffic coursing through my home network.  I've had problems with other WAPs due to this traffic, which is why I decided to upgrade to the 857 in the hopes that some of these stability problems could be resolved.

I unboxed the 857 with v1.00, reconfigured it to be a WAP, and everything worked great except when there was IPTV traffic (watching TV or recording a problem).  Connections would become unstable and extremely slow (essentially unusable), much slower than it ought to be given the bandwidth used by the TV channel.  My network monitor reports that all the TV (RTP) packets are being transmitted through the air (this is bad).  Messing around with QoS and WISH did not yield any positive results.

After upgrading to v1.02 FW, things got much better.  Connections are stable and fast when the TV is on, and IPTV traffic is no longer transmitted through the air (yay, I don't have to return the 857).  However, there was one incident when I rebooted the 857 with the TV on, and it got back into an unusable, unstable and slow mode similar to v1.00, and IPTV traffic was going through the air again.  No amount of reboots would fix the problem.  I finally got it to work again when I rebooted while disconnected from my home network, and reconnect after fully booted.  I have not been able to reproduce this problem since the first incident.

A couple of other things that are not working when configured as a WAP.
- The MAC filter does not work at all.  I'd like to be able to add that extra level of security.
- The inbound filter does not work (because I am not using the WAN port).  It would be nice to filter out traffic from certain devices on my home network (like the cable boxes) to maximize my wifi bandwidth.  I guess I'm really asking for a local traffic filter.

Overall, after a day of use I am very pleased with the 857, so far it seems to be the most stable WAP I've tried (this is the 3rd one I've tried).
Logged
"Nothing Funny about It...." We are not here to Impress anyone! You have a be a COMPETENT user first to under stand COMPETENT help!

jleonard711

  • Level 1 Member
  • *
  • Posts: 12
Re: New DIR-857 v1.02 FW
« Reply #39 on: August 14, 2012, 12:39:33 PM »

Was any 3rd party security programs active? Like Firewall or Anti-virus?
What browser do you use to mange the routers web page? If IE 8 or 9, set compatibility mode?.

Just curious about if anything else might be effecting data traffic and how the router is responding to the wizard and FW. I also have a 24pt switch.

I had literally tried everything on the old firmware, and also on the new one (before doing the factory reset). I disabled firewalls, antivirus programs, turned off protected browsing features, played around with internet security levels, tried every browser known to man (IE8, IE9, FF, Chrome, Opera), tried Unbuntu systems, and always had the same problems of slow speeds, web pages not loading, etc.

Here's a sample of why I would experience on a daily basis: I'd be on my laptop surfing the web just fine, then all of a sudden things would start to slow down, then certain web pages would just stop loading all together but others would still load fine. So I'd open a different browser (not just a new window, but an entirely different browser) and sometimes the pages that wouldn't open in the original browser would work in the new one, but other times they didn't. So then I'd save everything I was working on, close all my browsers & restart my laptop, unplug the modem and router, plug the modem back in and let it start up, then plug the router back in. And sometimes that would fix the problem, but sometimes it wouldn't, and even if it did then after using it for a while the same problems would start to happen all over again. And if it didn't fix the problem then I'd just do a factory reset and start all over again.

I even had the cable company reprovision my modem several times and make sure I had the latest firmware installed. And I had those same type of issues with every single PC on my network, whether LAN or WAN, no matter the operating system or type of virus protection installed. So literally everything pointed to the router, but I was not able to isolate the cause of the problems.
« Last Edit: August 14, 2012, 12:42:30 PM by jleonard711 »
Logged

FurryNutz

  • Poweruser
  •   ▲
    ▲ ▲
  • *****
  • Posts: 48952
  • D-Link Global Forum Moderator
    • Router Troubleshooting
Re: New DIR-857 v1.02 FW
« Reply #40 on: August 14, 2012, 12:44:17 PM »

What region are you located?
Are you wired or wireless connected to the router?

What ISP Service do you have? Cable or DSL?
What ISP Modem do you have? Stand Alone or built in router?
What ISP Modem make and model do you have?

Not doubting you however we haven't seen issues like this when we first got our v1.00 routers. Wondering if there was a bad batch of FW somewhere.  ???


I had literally tried everything on the old firmware, and also on the new one (before doing the factory reset). I disabled firewalls, antivirus programs, turned off protected browsing features, played around with internet security levels, tried every browser known to man (IE8, IE9, FF, Chrome, Opera), tried Unbuntu systems, and always had the same problems of slow speeds, web pages not loading, etc.

Here's a sample of why I would experience on a daily basis: I'd be on my laptop surfing the web just fine, then all of a sudden things would start to slow down, then certain web pages would just stop loading all together but others would still load fine. So I'd open a different browser (not just a new window, but an entirely different browser) and sometimes the pages that wouldn't open in the original browser would work in the new one, but other times they didn't. So then I'd save everything I was working on, close all my browsers & restart my laptop, unplug the modem and router, plug the modem back in and let it start up, then plug the router back in. And sometimes that would fix the problem, but sometimes it wouldn't, and even if it did then after using it for a while the same problems would start to happen all over again. And if it didn't fix the problem then I'd just do a factory reset and start all over again.

I even had the cable company reprovision my modem several times and make sure I had the latest firmware installed. And I had those same type of issues with every single PC on my network, whether LAN or WAN, no matter the operating system or type of virus protection installed. So literally everything pointed to the router, but I was not able to isolate the cause of the problems.
Logged
"Nothing Funny about It...." We are not here to Impress anyone! You have a be a COMPETENT user first to under stand COMPETENT help!

jleonard711

  • Level 1 Member
  • *
  • Posts: 12
Re: New DIR-857 v1.02 FW
« Reply #41 on: August 14, 2012, 01:35:53 PM »

What region are you located? Arizona
Are you wired or wireless connected to the router? Both. And I had issues with both; the example I gave above happened with my wired connections as well.
What ISP Service do you have? Cable or DSL? Cox Cable
What ISP Modem do you have? Stand Alone or built in router? Standalone
What ISP Modem make and model do you have? Motorola SB6120
« Last Edit: August 14, 2012, 01:37:35 PM by jleonard711 »
Logged

FurryNutz

  • Poweruser
  •   ▲
    ▲ ▲
  • *****
  • Posts: 48952
  • D-Link Global Forum Moderator
    • Router Troubleshooting
Re: New DIR-857 v1.02 FW
« Reply #42 on: August 14, 2012, 01:45:04 PM »

Ok, the 6120 is a great modem. Should work well. I've got the 6180. Had the 20 but sold it. Make sure that there isn't any TV line splitters between the ISP cable box out side and the Modem. If you need one, use a good quality one. The more you have on the line the lower the signal to the modem will be.

Only other thing I would do is install CAT 6 cabling between the modem and router and set a manual link speed of 1000Mb.

Keep us posted on how it works for you now that you seem to have it running better.

I would suggest using Reserve IP addresses on the router for ALL devices.  ;)
You could also try turning off DNS Relay and setting a Manual DNS IP addresses under Setup/Internet/Manual. I'm currently running in this configuration for a while.
« Last Edit: August 14, 2012, 01:52:24 PM by FurryNutz »
Logged
"Nothing Funny about It...." We are not here to Impress anyone! You have a be a COMPETENT user first to under stand COMPETENT help!

jleonard711

  • Level 1 Member
  • *
  • Posts: 12
Re: New DIR-857 v1.02 FW
« Reply #43 on: August 14, 2012, 01:58:24 PM »

My entire house is wired with Cat6, and all the cables I use between my devices and switches are also Cat6. The only reason I even upgraded my router is because my other one was 3 years old and it didn't have gigabit ports or simultaneous dual band. But other than that my internet connection has always been flawless, not one single problem with wired or wireless connectivity until this router.

Today is literally 2 days before my 30 day window was up to be able to return it to the vendor for refund/exchange, so I'm glad I got it working just in the nick of time!
Logged

FurryNutz

  • Poweruser
  •   ▲
    ▲ ▲
  • *****
  • Posts: 48952
  • D-Link Global Forum Moderator
    • Router Troubleshooting
Re: New DIR-857 v1.02 FW
« Reply #44 on: August 14, 2012, 02:02:35 PM »

Good to hear. Keep us posted. I should work well for you.
Logged
"Nothing Funny about It...." We are not here to Impress anyone! You have a be a COMPETENT user first to under stand COMPETENT help!
Pages: 1 2 [3] 4 5 6