• June 05, 2020, 04:01:30 AM
  • Welcome, Guest
Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

News:

This Forum Beta is ONLY for registered owners of D-Link products in the USA for which we have created boards at this time.

Author Topic: Transmit Power on high but not good enough  (Read 14217 times)

Valorster

  • Level 1 Member
  • *
  • Posts: 3
Transmit Power on high but not good enough
« on: June 27, 2012, 09:07:20 AM »

I have the router for two weeks now, very good device , everything works as i want and the speed is very good.

BUT  ;D

the Transmit Power is set on high and to be honest its not what i expected, poor to say.
i have a dir-655 as repeater and they both send out same wifi signal , sometimes the dir-655 sends further away.
i also have a netgear wndr4500 , also top model, and that one sends out WAY much further out then the 857

really the netgear sends out to the back of my garden around 50 meters and more ,

dlink 857 drops when i set my foot outside  :o
dlink 655 sends also out till end of garden  ::)

Transmit Power is on high , i tested all 3 routers on the exect same spot and dir-857 has fastest speed but lowest range.

i would like to know how that comes  ;) because thats the only thing that annoys me about the router
Logged

FurryNutz

  • Poweruser
  •   ▲
    ▲ ▲
  • *****
  • Posts: 48821
  • D-Link Global Forum Moderator
    • Router Troubleshooting
Re: Transmit Power on high but not good enough
« Reply #1 on: June 27, 2012, 09:19:44 AM »

Link>Welcome!

Link>What Firmware version is currently loaded? Found on routers web page under status.
What region are you located?

Link>Wireless Installation Considerations
What wireless modes are you using? Under Setup/Wireless/Manual.
Try mixed G and N on 2.4Ghz and single mode N on 5Ghz?
Channel Width set for Auto 20/40Mhz or try 20Mhz only.
Try setting a manual channel to a open or unused channel.
What security mode are you using? Preferred security is WPA-Personal. WPA2/AES Only. AES only is supposed to have the best performance. Some WiFi adapters don't support AES, so you might want to try TPIK only or Auto.
Any other WiFi routers in the area? Use InSSIDer to find out.
Turn off WISH, and WPS under Advanced if your not using them.
Try turning off Short GI, WLAN Partition,and Extra Wireless Protection if you have it. Under Advanced/Advanced Wireless.

Each router is designed a bit differently however should have the same coverage over all, at least in side a building. I presume the NG product are different and designed differently. Generally, users of WiFi need good connections with in a building and few only need connection externally. This router may have been designed for better or more robust range/signal with in a building an not outside.
« Last Edit: June 27, 2012, 09:57:25 AM by FurryNutz »
Logged
"Nothing Funny about It...." We are not here to Impress anyone! You have a be a COMPETENT user first to under stand COMPETENT help!

Valorster

  • Level 1 Member
  • *
  • Posts: 3
Re: Transmit Power on high but not good enough
« Reply #2 on: June 27, 2012, 11:43:39 AM »

Thx !


Firmware Version :     1.00 , 03, Feb, 2012
Europe Belgium

wireless 802.11 Mode mixed B/G/N with wpa personal  WPA2/AES Only

Channel Width :   auto 20/40

yes bunch of routers but my channel is diffrent then any other router around here

WISH ans WPS are off

Short GI, WLAN Partition,and Extra Wireless Protection are off too

i tested it with 3 routers on same spot same config

the 857 has shortest range but fastest.
Logged

Valorster

  • Level 1 Member
  • *
  • Posts: 3
Re: Transmit Power on high but not good enough
« Reply #3 on: July 01, 2012, 11:10:34 AM »

ok after testing all weekendi still see for sure that the dir- 857 has at least 20% less signal then the NETGEAR WNDR4500.

am on latest firmware V1.01

i work in I.T. sector so am not a noob when it comes to routers and networks.

conclusion is that the 857 is very fast but signal is a no go in my eyes for a "flagship" device.

So am sending it back and keeping my netgear.

@ FurryNutz you write :
"This router may have been designed for better or more robust range/signal with in a building an not outside. "

the outside part is rubish , as my netgear gives me at least 20 % more range then the dlink.
nothing to do with "outside"

it has to do with your antennas and power where dlink lost from a netgear. ( and am a dlink fan so am gutted!)

so your awnser on that is a bit lame and around the pot in my eyes and thats a shame....

I hoped on a professional awnser.


Logged

FurryNutz

  • Poweruser
  •   ▲
    ▲ ▲
  • *****
  • Posts: 48821
  • D-Link Global Forum Moderator
    • Router Troubleshooting
Re: Transmit Power on high but not good enough
« Reply #4 on: July 01, 2012, 11:13:11 AM »

Good luck in your endeavors.
« Last Edit: July 01, 2012, 11:15:07 AM by FurryNutz »
Logged
"Nothing Funny about It...." We are not here to Impress anyone! You have a be a COMPETENT user first to under stand COMPETENT help!