Pages: [1] 2
  Print  
Author Topic: How to update firmware DIR-505 hardwired with a cable  (Read 18531 times)
calvin69
Level 1 Member
*
Posts: 1


« on: June 21, 2012, 06:08:33 PM »

How can i upgrade DIR-505 firmware over the cable and not wife as recommended?

I just purchased the DLink all in one companion DIR-505 with firmware version 1.01 and i want to update to 1.02 available online. There is a note saying to NOT update over wifi, you should only update connected thru a cable.

I could not find in the pdf manual how to connect to my PC using a cable.

I configured 505 to router and plugged the Ethernet cable from my router but my computer cannot ping or connect to the DIR-505 thru the browser. I can only connect to 505 thru the wifi.
Thanks
Logged
FurryNutz
Poweruser
  ▲
▲ ▲
*****
Posts: 27824


D-Link Global Forum Moderator


WWW
« Reply #1 on: June 22, 2012, 07:27:38 AM »

I recommend using the router as is before updating. If the router is working well then keep what is loaded. Is there any problems with it at this time?

When you use a LAN cable, your PC should get an IP address from the router and then you should be able to log into the routers web page at 192.168.0.1. Make sure your PCs network settings are set up to automatically obtain IP addressing.
Logged

Cable:50mb/3Mb>Motorola SB6180>DIR-826L>HP 24pt Gb Switch. 3x4500s,DGL-5500,DIR-857,835,827,815,880L,868L,865L,826L,810L,685,657,3x655,645,601,DNS-345,DCS-933L and a Boxee.
Go Here>Router Troubleshooting
JavaLawyer
Poweruser
Level 15 Member
*****
Posts: 11214


D-Link Global Forum Moderator


WWW
« Reply #2 on: June 22, 2012, 07:30:04 AM »

It looks like the DIR-505 has a USB port. Did you try placing the FW on a USB thumb drive and uploading?
Logged

Find answers here: D-Link ShareCenter FAQ | D-Link Network Camera FAQ
There's no such thing as too many backups
holmes4
Level 3 Member
***
Posts: 122


« Reply #3 on: June 22, 2012, 04:27:35 PM »

One good reason not to use it with the factory firmware is that the factory firmware doesn't work all that well, at least based on my efforts.

To update the firmware, download the firmware separately. Set the DIR-505 to Hotspot mode and connect your computer by Ethernet to the DIR-505.  You'll then be able to log in and do the update.  I did this yesterday.

The USB port has no function here - it's simply for external storage that you can access from clients.

By the way, when will the DIR-505 get a forum section of its own?
Logged
cellardoor
Level 1 Member
*
Posts: 1


« Reply #4 on: June 22, 2012, 07:44:36 PM »

Just tried to update .... twice. And the firmware shows uploading but then the control panel keeps saying 1.01. Any hints? It's working ok right now but I don't want it to encounter a problem later.

Tried this from my laptop plugged into the ethernet port -- wired. It even showed the percentages uploading and told me to wait about 240 seconds or thereabouts.

I really like this gadget. Gonna put it to a real test in the car tomorrow and serve movies to the kids' ipods. Did a test run tonight and it was AWESOME.
« Last Edit: June 22, 2012, 07:48:02 PM by cellardoor » Logged
holmes4
Level 3 Member
***
Posts: 122


« Reply #5 on: June 23, 2012, 06:14:56 AM »

You're doing it the right way - I don't know why it isn't working for you. I had no trouble with the update.  Did you see the DIR-505 reboot (LED turns red for a while then green again)?  Did you close and reopen the admin page?  You might be seeing a cached page in your browser.
Logged
cellardoor
Level 1 Member
*
Posts: 1


« Reply #6 on: June 24, 2012, 04:49:15 AM »

Yes. Everything did like it's supposed to do. I'll keep trying.
Logged
waly
Level 1 Member
*
Posts: 2


« Reply #7 on: June 25, 2012, 05:38:14 AM »

Read manual and download the firmware in HDD, logged onto DIR 505 and upload anyway.
Logged
FurryNutz
Poweruser
  ▲
▲ ▲
*****
Posts: 27824


D-Link Global Forum Moderator


WWW
« Reply #8 on: June 25, 2012, 07:07:46 AM »

FW Update Process
Logged

Cable:50mb/3Mb>Motorola SB6180>DIR-826L>HP 24pt Gb Switch. 3x4500s,DGL-5500,DIR-857,835,827,815,880L,868L,865L,826L,810L,685,657,3x655,645,601,DNS-345,DCS-933L and a Boxee.
Go Here>Router Troubleshooting
brownbox
Level 1 Member
*
Posts: 12


« Reply #9 on: July 02, 2012, 02:30:53 PM »

Though I would just drop a line to add another voice.
First of all le me say that Im trying to use the Dir 505 with an Android 2.3 device,

First let me address Upgrading the Firmware.  
*** First, Download the DIR505 firmware Update file to you PC Desktop.)))

The DIR 505 must be connected directly to you PC Computer to update the Firmware.
Unplug the internet Ethernet cord from your PC.
The Ethernet Cord must the between the PC Ethernet Plug and the DIR 505 Ethernet Plug.
Once you plug the Ethernet cord between PC and Dir 505 you can create the communucaton link needed to Upgrade the Firmware
 Open a browser (ie/firefox/chrome) on your PC.  
 In the browser address window type:  http://192.168.0.1 (or http://dlinkrouter) ( An orangish D-link page should load )
 Click On the Maintanance tab on the Top of page (a Maintanance page loads)
 Take a look to the Left side of page and Click on the FIRMWARE link
 Click on the Load/Browse button and Find/CLICK the dir505_fw_101.bin file (on your desktop)
 Click the Upload button.  Wait 3 minutes until done.
« Last Edit: July 02, 2012, 02:53:51 PM by brownbox » Logged
brownbox
Level 1 Member
*
Posts: 12


« Reply #10 on: July 03, 2012, 07:13:19 AM »

Where can I download Dir 505 firmware version 1.02 ?

When I go to the Dur 505 support page.  It says the latest version is 1.01 (not 1.02)
http://dlink.com/us/en/home-solutions/support/product/dir-505-shareport-mobile-companion

Please supply a link or directions to download the firmware version 1.02 (if it really exists).
Thanks in advance.
Logged
FurryNutz
Poweruser
  ▲
▲ ▲
*****
Posts: 27824


D-Link Global Forum Moderator


WWW
« Reply #11 on: July 03, 2012, 07:29:33 AM »

It's highly recommended to run the unit with out updating if your not experiencing any issues. If the v1.02 is not posted then it's not meant for release to public as of yet and you'd be using any thing not published on the web site at your own risk.
Logged

Cable:50mb/3Mb>Motorola SB6180>DIR-826L>HP 24pt Gb Switch. 3x4500s,DGL-5500,DIR-857,835,827,815,880L,868L,865L,826L,810L,685,657,3x655,645,601,DNS-345,DCS-933L and a Boxee.
Go Here>Router Troubleshooting
holmes4
Level 3 Member
***
Posts: 122


« Reply #12 on: July 03, 2012, 07:33:28 AM »

Interesting.  1.02 had been posted, as that's what I installed from the Dlink support site. But it was withdrawn.  I wonder what happened to it. Maybe the frequent disconnects I see were the problem. But I could not get 1.01 to work at all.
Logged
FurryNutz
Poweruser
  ▲
▲ ▲
*****
Posts: 27824


D-Link Global Forum Moderator


WWW
« Reply #13 on: July 03, 2012, 07:34:46 AM »

Possible faulty unit you had? Did you get v1.02 to work any?
Logged

Cable:50mb/3Mb>Motorola SB6180>DIR-826L>HP 24pt Gb Switch. 3x4500s,DGL-5500,DIR-857,835,827,815,880L,868L,865L,826L,810L,685,657,3x655,645,601,DNS-345,DCS-933L and a Boxee.
Go Here>Router Troubleshooting
holmes4
Level 3 Member
***
Posts: 122


« Reply #14 on: July 03, 2012, 07:37:01 AM »

1.02 mostly works for me. I don't think the hardware is faulty.
Logged
Pages: [1] 2
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Theme by webtechnica.com.