• October 27, 2020, 04:44:28 PM
  • Welcome, Guest
Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

News:

This Forum Beta is ONLY for registered owners of D-Link products in the USA for which we have created boards at this time.

Pages: [1] 2

Author Topic: This router is starting to tick me off.  (Read 12860 times)

PurpleAkuma

  • Level 1 Member
  • *
  • Posts: 23
This router is starting to tick me off.
« on: May 29, 2012, 07:45:37 PM »

So every now and then ever since I got this router, it would start to gimp out and start dropping wireless packets and give me huge huge lag spikes simply from my computer to the router. It wasn't too common so I could live with it because fixing it took about 30 seconds, just had to switch the wireless channel and it fixed it.

However now this has started happening really frequently, sometimes multiple times within the hour. What the hell is going on. It can't even maintain its wireless connection properly. This router I think is about 1.5-2 years old but I've only had it for around a year (bought it off a friend).
Logged

FurryNutz

  • Poweruser
  •   ▲
    ▲ ▲
  • *****
  • Posts: 49294
  • D-Link Global Forum Moderator
    • Router Troubleshooting
Re: This router is starting to tick me off.
« Reply #1 on: May 29, 2012, 11:08:08 PM »

Welcome!
What Hardware version is your router? Look at sticker under router.
What Firmware version is currently loaded? Found on routers web page under status.
What region are you located?

What ISP Service do you have? Cable or DSL?
What ISP Modem do you have? Stand Alone or built in router?
What ISP Modem make and model do you have?
If this modem has a built in router, it's best to bridge the modem. Having 2 routers on the same line can cause connection problems.
To tell if the modem is bridged or not, look at the routers web page, Status/Device Info/Wan Section, if there is a 192.168.0.# address in the WAN IP address field, then the modem is not bridged.
If the modem can't be bridged then see if the modem has a DMZ option and input the IP address the router gets from the modem and put that into the modems DMZ.

Some things to try:
Setup DHCP reserved IP addresses for all devices ON the router. Setup/Networking
Ensure devices are set to auto obtain an IP address.
Set Firewall settings to Endpoint Independent for TCP and UDP under Advanced/Firewall.
Enable uPnP and Multi-cast Streaming under Advanced/Networking.

Wireless Installation Considerations
Ensure WiFi adapter drivers are up to date.
What wireless modes are you using? Under Setup/Wireless/Manual.
Try single mode G or N or mixed G and N?
Channel Width set for Auto 20/40Mhz or try 20Mhz only.
What security mode are you using? Preferred security is WPA-Personal. WPA2/AES Only. Some WiFi adapters don't support AES, so you might want to try TPIK only or Auto.

Any other WiFi routers in the area? Use InSSIDer to find out.
Turn off Short GI, WLAN Partition and Extra Wireless Protection if you have it. Under Advanced/Advanced Wireless.
Logged
"Nothing Funny about It...." We are not here to Impress anyone! You have a be a COMPETENT user first to under stand COMPETENT help!

PurpleAkuma

  • Level 1 Member
  • *
  • Posts: 23
Re: This router is starting to tick me off.
« Reply #2 on: June 03, 2012, 03:22:33 PM »

Not sure about hardware, will post back later with the details.
Firmware Version :1.15,  2008/10/29
Canada
Cable
Modem/router combo with router turned off
I think it's the smcd3gn
I believe it is bridged (router turned off in the modem)

Example of what happens (using a program called pingplotter)



It started just past 6:10. The ping before that time from the computer to the router was 3 ms constantly.
Then it started spiking. The red bars are the part where theres complete packet loss (can't even access the router's site during that period).
And then it drops off after about 4 minutes back to 3 ms.
This happens way more often now.


I am using the 5ghz band.
I'm using all wireless modes b/g/n
20 mhz
WPA-personal security
there are other wireless devices since i live in an apartment, but I am the only 5Ghz in the area.
Logged

FurryNutz

  • Poweruser
  •   ▲
    ▲ ▲
  • *****
  • Posts: 49294
  • D-Link Global Forum Moderator
    • Router Troubleshooting
Re: This router is starting to tick me off.
« Reply #3 on: June 03, 2012, 06:49:16 PM »

Any chance you a try a different ISP modem?
Sure the modem is bridged?
Ensure the signal coming to the ISP modem is good and has the correct signal level. Any TV line splitters on the same line as the ISP modem can effect signal going to the ISP modem.

Use single mode N when working on 5Ghz.
If you take the 4500 to a friends or families place, do you see the same thing? Might or might not follow if you can try that test.
Logged
"Nothing Funny about It...." We are not here to Impress anyone! You have a be a COMPETENT user first to under stand COMPETENT help!

PurpleAkuma

  • Level 1 Member
  • *
  • Posts: 23
Re: This router is starting to tick me off.
« Reply #4 on: June 03, 2012, 08:13:58 PM »

I switched to n mode and it just happened again.
Can't try a different modem. I'm pretty sure the modem is indeed bridged.
What does the modem have to do with the routers wireless flaking out? I have another old router and this never happens. Maybe I'll try the 2.4 ghz band and see what happens.
Logged

FurryNutz

  • Poweruser
  •   ▲
    ▲ ▲
  • *****
  • Posts: 49294
  • D-Link Global Forum Moderator
    • Router Troubleshooting
Re: This router is starting to tick me off.
« Reply #5 on: June 03, 2012, 10:44:19 PM »

Keep us posted.
Anything in the logs noting anything out of the ordinary?
Does a factory reset have any effect or after that does the problem persist?

If your interested,
Maybe someone can review your router settings with you using teamviewer if your interested. Its safe and secure.
« Last Edit: June 03, 2012, 10:51:08 PM by FurryNutz »
Logged
"Nothing Funny about It...." We are not here to Impress anyone! You have a be a COMPETENT user first to under stand COMPETENT help!

PurpleAkuma

  • Level 1 Member
  • *
  • Posts: 23
Re: This router is starting to tick me off.
« Reply #6 on: June 04, 2012, 01:03:29 AM »

So far nothing has happened on the 2.4GhZ band. Just my wireless latency is a lot more volatile, on the 5ghZ band there wouldn't be as many ping spikes up to the 90 ms range. Too soon to say that the 5GhZ band is the culprit because this may pop up again maybe a month down the road.
Logged

FurryNutz

  • Poweruser
  •   ▲
    ▲ ▲
  • *****
  • Posts: 49294
  • D-Link Global Forum Moderator
    • Router Troubleshooting
Re: This router is starting to tick me off.
« Reply #7 on: June 04, 2012, 09:48:27 AM »

Any other 5Ghz signals or devices in your area?
Logged
"Nothing Funny about It...." We are not here to Impress anyone! You have a be a COMPETENT user first to under stand COMPETENT help!

PurpleAkuma

  • Level 1 Member
  • *
  • Posts: 23
Re: This router is starting to tick me off.
« Reply #8 on: June 10, 2012, 08:33:09 PM »

No I'm the only 5Ghz signal in my area from inSSIDer, but anyway as I said, the 2.4gHZ band started having the same problem eventually. This router is super unreliable, it's such a pain in the ass knowing that I can't even play any games without having the risk of getting 1000 ms pings and having to keep the router page open to reset it every so often. Can someone please help me fix this?
Logged

FurryNutz

  • Poweruser
  •   ▲
    ▲ ▲
  • *****
  • Posts: 49294
  • D-Link Global Forum Moderator
    • Router Troubleshooting
Re: This router is starting to tick me off.
« Reply #9 on: June 10, 2012, 08:35:40 PM »

Maybe someone can review your router settings with you using teamviewer if your interested. Its safe and secure.
Logged
"Nothing Funny about It...." We are not here to Impress anyone! You have a be a COMPETENT user first to under stand COMPETENT help!

PurpleAkuma

  • Level 1 Member
  • *
  • Posts: 23
Re: This router is starting to tick me off.
« Reply #10 on: June 10, 2012, 08:39:26 PM »

Sure I'm up for that, not immediately though but soon. Who can help?
Logged

FurryNutz

  • Poweruser
  •   ▲
    ▲ ▲
  • *****
  • Posts: 49294
  • D-Link Global Forum Moderator
    • Router Troubleshooting
Re: This router is starting to tick me off.
« Reply #11 on: June 10, 2012, 08:42:11 PM »

Can send me a PM with teamviewer ID and password. Can we give this a go tomorrow by chance?
Logged
"Nothing Funny about It...." We are not here to Impress anyone! You have a be a COMPETENT user first to under stand COMPETENT help!

FurryNutz

  • Poweruser
  •   ▲
    ▲ ▲
  • *****
  • Posts: 49294
  • D-Link Global Forum Moderator
    • Router Troubleshooting
Re: This router is starting to tick me off.
« Reply #12 on: June 12, 2012, 09:55:54 AM »

Any status on this? Today is my last day to help on this until Sunday. Let me know.
Logged
"Nothing Funny about It...." We are not here to Impress anyone! You have a be a COMPETENT user first to under stand COMPETENT help!

PurpleAkuma

  • Level 1 Member
  • *
  • Posts: 23
Re: This router is starting to tick me off.
« Reply #13 on: June 24, 2012, 04:40:12 PM »

Sorry was away for a while. I can do this now if you're availble because its really getting out of hand right now. It will happen every 5-10 minutes.
Logged

FurryNutz

  • Poweruser
  •   ▲
    ▲ ▲
  • *****
  • Posts: 49294
  • D-Link Global Forum Moderator
    • Router Troubleshooting
Re: This router is starting to tick me off.
« Reply #14 on: June 25, 2012, 07:24:23 AM »

Send me a PM with Teamviewer ID and PW and I'll have a looksee. Please be wired to the router while we review the settings.

Logged
"Nothing Funny about It...." We are not here to Impress anyone! You have a be a COMPETENT user first to under stand COMPETENT help!
Pages: [1] 2