• December 19, 2014, 04:07:15 PM
  • Welcome, Guest
Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

News:

New BETA firmware for DGL-5500 v1.13.b02. Visit it's board for more information.

Author Topic: Router Unresponsive - Blinking internet light  (Read 16608 times)

Jay_5026

  • Level 1 Member
  • *
  • Posts: 7
Router Unresponsive - Blinking internet light
« on: March 28, 2012, 10:24:53 AM »

Hi,

I'm having a issue with my D-Link DIR-645, while I was on the web interface I clicked help because I wanted to know more about using a harddrive with the router. However once I clicked help it just stuck trying to constantly load then IE said browser was unresponsive so I closed and looked up the information online. I went back and tried to load the web interface about 15 minutes later but wouldn't load anything and got the same browser unresponsive message. So I closed the browser and figured I would just unplug the router for 30 seconds and let it reboot figuring that would fix it, big mistake now all it does is light up the power button and the internet light flashes, I cannot access with through wireless or wired. I've tried unpluging it and powering it up multiple times but doesnt have any effect, tried using the reset button on the bottom holding it for up to 45 seconds both while on and powering it up with no change, I also tried to access the firmware menu listed in the sticky but nothing seems to be working. This router isnt even 2 months old, so any suggestions would be greatly welcome.
Logged

FurryNutz

  • Poweruser
  •   ▲
    ▲ ▲
  • *****
  • Posts: 28935
  • D-Link Global Forum Moderator
    • New DGL-5500 Gaming Router with StreamBoost™ Technology
Re: Router Unresponsive - Blinking internet light
« Reply #1 on: March 28, 2012, 10:36:09 AM »

What version of IE are you using? Try enabling compatibility mode for IE 8 and 9.
Try using Opera or FF? Do they exhibit the same thing?

Logged
Cable:50mb/3Mb>Motorola SB6180>DIR-868L>HP 24pt Gb Switch. 3x4500s,DGL-5500,DIR-857,835,827,815,880L,868L,865L,826L,810L,685,657,3x655,645,601,DNS-345,DCS-933L and a Boxee.
Go Here>Router Troubleshooting

Jay_5026

  • Level 1 Member
  • *
  • Posts: 7
Re: Router Unresponsive - Blinking internet light
« Reply #2 on: March 28, 2012, 11:08:25 AM »

I'm using IE9, and I tried compatibility mode as well and just just says unable to load page. I also got Firefox and got the message "connect was reset while trying to load page" message. In my Network & Sharing page it defines the dlink router as a unidentified public network, I also noticed in the adaptor properties that it lists ipv4 auto as 169.254.177.51 and submask 255.255.0.0 when I set it to auto. Shouldnt it be 192.168.0.X, and 255.255.255.0.
Logged

FurryNutz

  • Poweruser
  •   ▲
    ▲ ▲
  • *****
  • Posts: 28935
  • D-Link Global Forum Moderator
    • New DGL-5500 Gaming Router with StreamBoost™ Technology
Re: Router Unresponsive - Blinking internet light
« Reply #3 on: March 28, 2012, 11:11:29 AM »

This means your PC has lost connection to the 645.
I might do a factory reset on the router...

What Hardware version is your router? Look at sticker under router.
What Firmware version is currently loaded? Found on routers web page under status.
What region are you located?
Are you wired or wireless connected to the router?

What ISP Service do you have? Cable or DSL?
What ISP Modem do you have? Stand Alone or built in router?
What ISP Modem make and model do you have?
If this modem has a built in router, it's best to bridge the modem. Having 2 routers on the same line can cause connection problems.
To tell if the modem is bridged or not, look at the routers web page, Status/Device Info/Wan Section, if there is a 192.168.0.# address in the WAN IP address field, then the modem is not bridged.

Some things to try:
Turn off ALL QoS or Disable Traffic Shaping (DIR only) GameFuel (DGL only and if ON.) options. Advanced/QoS or Gamefuel.
Turn off Advanced DNS Services if you have this option under Setup/Internet/Manual.
Turn on DNS Relay under Setup/Networking.
Setup DHCP reserved IP addresses for all devices ON the router. Setup/Networking
Ensure devices are set to auto obtain an IP address.
Set Firewall settings to Endpoint Independent for TCP and UDP under Advanced/Firewall.
Enable uPnP and Multi-cast Streaming under Advanced/Networking.

What wireless modes are you using? Under Setup/Wireless/Manual.
Try single mode G or mixed G and N?

Channel Width set for Auto 20/40Mhz or try 20Mhz only.
Try setting a manual channel to a open or unused channel.
What security mode are you using? Preferred security is WPA-Personal. WPA2/AES Only. Some WiFi adapters don't support AES, so you might want to try TPIK only or Auto.
What wireless devices do you have connected?
Any cordless house phones?
Any other WiFi routers in the area? Use InSSIDer to find out.
Turn off Short GI, WLAN Partition and Extra Wireless Protection if you have it. Under Advanced/Advanced Wireless.

Turn off all anti virus and firewall programs on PC while testing. 3rd party firewalls are not generally needed when using routers as they are effective on blocking malicious inbound traffic.
Turn off all devices accept for one wired PC while testing.

Check cable between Modem and Router, swap out to be sure. Cat6 is recommended.
Logged
Cable:50mb/3Mb>Motorola SB6180>DIR-868L>HP 24pt Gb Switch. 3x4500s,DGL-5500,DIR-857,835,827,815,880L,868L,865L,826L,810L,685,657,3x655,645,601,DNS-345,DCS-933L and a Boxee.
Go Here>Router Troubleshooting

Jay_5026

  • Level 1 Member
  • *
  • Posts: 7
Re: Router Unresponsive - Blinking internet light
« Reply #4 on: March 28, 2012, 11:42:48 AM »

Lots of questions, I will try and answer them best I can.

I might do a factory reset on the router...
****Is there another way to do this that I havn't already tried?

What Hardware version is your router? Look at sticker under router.
*****A1
What Firmware version is currently loaded? Found on routers web page under status.
*****v1.01
What region are you located?
*****Canada
Are you wired or wireless connected to the router?
****As I mentioned I have tried both once I had the problem, but was wireless when I tried to access the help section in the web interface. The router isn't even  transmitting wireless (no wireless light on)

What ISP Service do you have? Cable or DSL?
***Neither, between ISPs at the moment

Some things to try:
Turn off ALL QoS or Disable Traffic Shaping (DIR only) GameFuel (DGL only and if ON.) options. Advanced/QoS or Gamefuel.
Turn off Advanced DNS Services if you have this option under Setup/Internet/Manual.
Turn on DNS Relay under Setup/Networking.
Setup DHCP reserved IP addresses for all devices ON the router. Setup/Networking
Ensure devices are set to auto obtain an IP address.
Set Firewall settings to Endpoint Independent for TCP and UDP under Advanced/Firewall.
Enable uPnP and Multi-cast Streaming under Advanced/Networking.
**** I cant access the web interface at all so cant make any changes

What wireless modes are you using? Under Setup/Wireless/Manual.
Try single mode G or mixed G and N?
****When it was working I was running in mixed mode

Channel Width set for Auto 20/40Mhz or try 20Mhz only.
****When it was working it was set to auto

Try setting a manual channel to a open or unused channel.
What security mode are you using? Preferred security is WPA-Personal. WPA2/AES Only. Some WiFi adapters don't support AES, so you might want to try TPIK only or Auto.
****When it was working I had WPA Personal

What wireless devices do you have connected?
****At the time if the problem i just had my 1 device connected.

Any cordless house phones?
**** No cordless phones

Any other WiFi routers in the area? Use InSSIDer to find out.
Turn off Short GI, WLAN Partition and Extra Wireless Protection if you have it. Under Advanced/Advanced Wireless.
**** There are no other routers in the area, and because I cant access the web interface I can change settings

Turn off all anti virus and firewall programs on PC while testing. 3rd party firewalls are not generally needed when using routers as they are effective on blocking malicious inbound traffic.
Turn off all devices accept for one wired PC while testing.
**** No change

Check cable between Modem and Router, swap out to be sure. Cat6 is recommended.
No modem at the moment, but I did swap for another cable new cable I had.. no change.
Logged

FurryNutz

  • Poweruser
  •   ▲
    ▲ ▲
  • *****
  • Posts: 28935
  • D-Link Global Forum Moderator
    • New DGL-5500 Gaming Router with StreamBoost™ Technology
Re: Router Unresponsive - Blinking internet light
« Reply #5 on: March 28, 2012, 11:55:04 AM »

So let me get this right, you currently don't have any ISP service at the modem and thus no ISP modem connected to the 645 and you are trying to connect to the 645 web page and your not getting any wired or wireless connection?

If the 645 is powered on. Try hitting the reset button once more in back for 10 seconds then release. Do this while the LAN cable to the PC is disconnected. While this is resetting the router, reboot your PC. After the 645 seems to come to ready, even though the Internet light wont show anything, reconnect the LAN cable from the LAN port in back of the 645 to the PC. Log in and check the status of the network IP address. It should be 192.

Let us know.
Logged
Cable:50mb/3Mb>Motorola SB6180>DIR-868L>HP 24pt Gb Switch. 3x4500s,DGL-5500,DIR-857,835,827,815,880L,868L,865L,826L,810L,685,657,3x655,645,601,DNS-345,DCS-933L and a Boxee.
Go Here>Router Troubleshooting

Jay_5026

  • Level 1 Member
  • *
  • Posts: 7
Re: Router Unresponsive - Blinking internet light
« Reply #6 on: March 28, 2012, 12:23:48 PM »

So let me get this right, you currently don't have any ISP service at the modem and thus no ISP modem connected to the 645 and you are trying to connect to the 645 web page and your not getting any wired or wireless connection?

***That sounds about right, no modem connected to router and my computer can't find any wireless signal from the router. The wireless light on the router is also off. When I connect using a cat6 cable windows lists it as a unidentified public network.


If the 645 is powered on. Try hitting the reset button once more in back for 10 seconds then release. Do this while the LAN cable to the PC is disconnected. While this is resetting the router, reboot your PC. After the 645 seems to come to ready, even though the Internet light wont show anything, reconnect the LAN cable from the LAN port in back of the 645 to the PC. Log in and check the status of the network IP address. It should be 192.

***I hit the reset button on the bottom for 10, 15 and 20 second intervals but the router didn't do anything. The power light stayed lit and the internet light kept blinking, its my understanding the router power light should blink or something while reseting. I rebooted and reconnected the router after each attempt to reset but it still didn't show 192.
Logged

FurryNutz

  • Poweruser
  •   ▲
    ▲ ▲
  • *****
  • Posts: 28935
  • D-Link Global Forum Moderator
    • New DGL-5500 Gaming Router with StreamBoost™ Technology
Re: Router Unresponsive - Blinking internet light
« Reply #7 on: March 28, 2012, 12:27:46 PM »

Can you get to the recovery mode on this router?
Review the FW update sticky in this forum and let me know if you can get to that point.

If so, you could try to reload the current FW code and see if the router will come back so you can get to the web page.

I might offer beta however not sure if beta FW will do anything for you right now. I'd like to see if you can get the router to come back to the web page first before trying Beta FW.

Let us know if you need help on Recovery Mode. If you can see the recovery mode, report back here first before loading FW code.
Logged
Cable:50mb/3Mb>Motorola SB6180>DIR-868L>HP 24pt Gb Switch. 3x4500s,DGL-5500,DIR-857,835,827,815,880L,868L,865L,826L,810L,685,657,3x655,645,601,DNS-345,DCS-933L and a Boxee.
Go Here>Router Troubleshooting

Jay_5026

  • Level 1 Member
  • *
  • Posts: 7
Re: Router Unresponsive - Blinking internet light
« Reply #8 on: March 28, 2012, 12:48:02 PM »

I did review the recovery mode sticky eariler and tried but didn't have any luck with that. I tried several times holding the reset button for considerably longer than 5 seconds but the power light never blinked. Each time I held the reset button and plugged in the router the power light came on, followed by the blinking internet light about 5 seconds later. I tried again but its still doing the same thing as before. Its like the reset button doesnt do anything for me, I push it down till I hear it click so I assume its properly pressed down but its like the router is ignoring it.
Logged

FurryNutz

  • Poweruser
  •   ▲
    ▲ ▲
  • *****
  • Posts: 28935
  • D-Link Global Forum Moderator
    • New DGL-5500 Gaming Router with StreamBoost™ Technology
Re: Router Unresponsive - Blinking internet light
« Reply #9 on: March 28, 2012, 01:00:35 PM »

Going to have to recommend that you RMA this unit. Seems like the router has become unrepsonsive. Even if you don't have an ISP modem connected, you can access any routers web page and mange the router with out the modem being connected. Please contact DLink and start the RMA process.

Keep us posted on how it goes.
Logged
Cable:50mb/3Mb>Motorola SB6180>DIR-868L>HP 24pt Gb Switch. 3x4500s,DGL-5500,DIR-857,835,827,815,880L,868L,865L,826L,810L,685,657,3x655,645,601,DNS-345,DCS-933L and a Boxee.
Go Here>Router Troubleshooting

Jay_5026

  • Level 1 Member
  • *
  • Posts: 7
Re: Router Unresponsive - Blinking internet light
« Reply #10 on: March 28, 2012, 01:31:29 PM »

Yea I kind of had a feeling I was going to end up applying for a RMA. The router is only about 6 weeks old, so was hoping it would have lasted longer before giving me problems but what can you do. Hopefully D-Link will repair it quickly, I sent a email to their support with a link to this post so guess I will see what they say.

While looking at other posts I see another member had hardware problems and couldnt access the web based interface. Theirs was only a week old I believe and also had a reset button that didn't seem to work, hopefully this a isolated issue.
Logged

FurryNutz

  • Poweruser
  •   ▲
    ▲ ▲
  • *****
  • Posts: 28935
  • D-Link Global Forum Moderator
    • New DGL-5500 Gaming Router with StreamBoost™ Technology
Re: Router Unresponsive - Blinking internet light
« Reply #11 on: March 28, 2012, 01:37:18 PM »

Understand. There is a RMA form online I think you can fill out as well.

Since you don't have and ISP right now, I guess time doesn't matter.

I hoped that maybe we could get the Beta FW loaded however we can't even get to the web page.

Keep us posted. Hope they fix it soon for ya.
Logged
Cable:50mb/3Mb>Motorola SB6180>DIR-868L>HP 24pt Gb Switch. 3x4500s,DGL-5500,DIR-857,835,827,815,880L,868L,865L,826L,810L,685,657,3x655,645,601,DNS-345,DCS-933L and a Boxee.
Go Here>Router Troubleshooting

Jay_5026

  • Level 1 Member
  • *
  • Posts: 7
Re: Router Unresponsive - Blinking internet light
« Reply #12 on: March 28, 2012, 03:22:23 PM »

I didn't find the RMA form so will just wait for a email reply. Yea not having a dedicated ISP is a pain, and have just been tethering my phone for the time being. I Guess thats what I get for "missing" the installer by less than 15 minutes ;D, at any rate my isp should be good to go by Tuesday. I doubt I will have this resolved by then, so will probably look to pick up a cheap router till this one can be repaired. Got any suggestions?
Logged

FurryNutz

  • Poweruser
  •   ▲
    ▲ ▲
  • *****
  • Posts: 28935
  • D-Link Global Forum Moderator
    • New DGL-5500 Gaming Router with StreamBoost™ Technology
Re: Router Unresponsive - Blinking internet light
« Reply #13 on: March 28, 2012, 05:28:36 PM »

Where are you located?
If near a best buy or frys, might try a router thru them as they probably have a good refund policy. See what DIR routers they have besides the 645. Maybe even a DIR-655, 815 or 657. Anything to get you going for now. If you don't have multiple PCs or devices, maybe hang with the ISP Modem until the 645 comes back too.

What ISP service are you getting? I recommend cable. The Motorola SB 6121 is a great modem for cable services.  ;)
« Last Edit: March 28, 2012, 05:41:55 PM by FurryNutz »
Logged
Cable:50mb/3Mb>Motorola SB6180>DIR-868L>HP 24pt Gb Switch. 3x4500s,DGL-5500,DIR-857,835,827,815,880L,868L,865L,826L,810L,685,657,3x655,645,601,DNS-345,DCS-933L and a Boxee.
Go Here>Router Troubleshooting