• June 05, 2020, 02:42:31 PM
  • Welcome, Guest
Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

News:

This Forum Beta is ONLY for registered owners of D-Link products in the USA for which we have created boards at this time.

Author Topic: 3G Support  (Read 4302 times)

avkdm

  • Level 1 Member
  • *
  • Posts: 10
3G Support
« on: March 27, 2012, 10:51:13 PM »

Hi Guys,
Go easy on me I'm new.
I just picked up a 2nd hand DGL-4500 for $40 - you probably think I'm crazy but WTH.
I like the features - at the moment I am on 1.15 firmware which gives me 3G support
I believe it may be the last firmware to support 3G - is that right?
Anyhow my 3G modem from Australia does not work with it.
I purchased a crappy router from China that also will not connect, but another older 3G router does no problem. Only config differences I can see is the older router allows me to punch in DNS settings at the config page, whereas the DGL-4500 gives me no such option.
Anyhow does anyone know if later firmware versions support 3G modems of the more recent ilk?
Thanks in advance.................
Logged

FurryNutz

  • Poweruser
  •   ▲
    ▲ ▲
  • *****
  • Posts: 48822
  • D-Link Global Forum Moderator
    • Router Troubleshooting
Re: 3G Support
« Reply #1 on: March 28, 2012, 06:49:33 AM »

You can input manual DNS under Basic/Internet/Manual settings.
I've never connected a 3G modem to the 4500. Is this 3G modem a USB connection or a RJ45?

If the 4500 came with v1.15, keep that version. It's a good version of FW. Your not missing anything by upgrading.
Logged
"Nothing Funny about It...." We are not here to Impress anyone! You have a be a COMPETENT user first to under stand COMPETENT help!

avkdm

  • Level 1 Member
  • *
  • Posts: 10
Re: 3G Support
« Reply #2 on: March 28, 2012, 02:23:02 PM »

Its a USB Modem.
I tried that - but it still does not work. My 3G USB must be too new and it does not recognise it.
When I press the connect button on the DGL-4500 nothing happens.
Anyhow I hook up my MiFi router via the USB (To power the MiFi) and Wan port and it works OK.
Shame because I did not want to have to power up 2 routers.
But at least I now have strong Wi-FI and Gigabit ethernet.
BTW will my LAN ports slow to 100mbps if my Wan connection is only 100mbps?
Thanks
Logged

FurryNutz

  • Poweruser
  •   ▲
    ▲ ▲
  • *****
  • Posts: 48822
  • D-Link Global Forum Moderator
    • Router Troubleshooting
Re: 3G Support
« Reply #3 on: March 28, 2012, 02:26:57 PM »

You mean the WPS button the right side of the 4500? That for connecting WiFi devices like printers and such to the WPS option on the routers Wifi.

If you connect anything to the WAN or LAN ports on the 4500 that does not support 1000mb speeds, the 4500 will connect at the lower speeds to what ever is supported on that device.
Logged
"Nothing Funny about It...." We are not here to Impress anyone! You have a be a COMPETENT user first to under stand COMPETENT help!

FurryNutz

  • Poweruser
  •   ▲
    ▲ ▲
  • *****
  • Posts: 48822
  • D-Link Global Forum Moderator
    • Router Troubleshooting
Re: 3G Support
« Reply #4 on: March 28, 2012, 02:34:39 PM »

If you have a google account, maybe you can review this and see if it helps any:
DIR-655 to USB Modem
« Last Edit: March 28, 2012, 06:03:00 PM by FurryNutz »
Logged
"Nothing Funny about It...." We are not here to Impress anyone! You have a be a COMPETENT user first to under stand COMPETENT help!

avkdm

  • Level 1 Member
  • *
  • Posts: 10
Re: 3G Support
« Reply #5 on: March 28, 2012, 04:59:12 PM »

The google docs link you supplied links to a blank document.
There is a connect button under the Status tab at the login screen of the router when you have configured 3G.
Thanks for the info on the button on the side, figured that has to do with WPS setup.
« Last Edit: March 28, 2012, 05:01:26 PM by avkdm »
Logged

FurryNutz

  • Poweruser
  •   ▲
    ▲ ▲
  • *****
  • Posts: 48822
  • D-Link Global Forum Moderator
    • Router Troubleshooting
Re: 3G Support
« Reply #6 on: March 28, 2012, 06:03:14 PM »

Try that link again.
Logged
"Nothing Funny about It...." We are not here to Impress anyone! You have a be a COMPETENT user first to under stand COMPETENT help!

avkdm

  • Level 1 Member
  • *
  • Posts: 10
Re: 3G Support
« Reply #7 on: March 28, 2012, 06:16:54 PM »

Thanks - I see on DIR-855 it gives you the option for DNS entry in USB 3G option - on the DGL-4500 it does not.
I suppose the firmware is not interchangeable?
Logged

FurryNutz

  • Poweruser
  •   ▲
    ▲ ▲
  • *****
  • Posts: 48822
  • D-Link Global Forum Moderator
    • Router Troubleshooting
Re: 3G Support
« Reply #8 on: March 28, 2012, 06:18:49 PM »

There is manual DNS entry under Basic/Internet/Manual.
FW is not interchangeable between any router model.
Logged
"Nothing Funny about It...." We are not here to Impress anyone! You have a be a COMPETENT user first to under stand COMPETENT help!