• December 13, 2019, 05:56:14 PM
  • Welcome, Guest
Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

News:

This Forum Beta is ONLY for registered owners of D-Link products in the USA for which we have created boards at this time.

Author Topic: changing LAN IP address causes blank interface labels?  (Read 3835 times)

anaj

  • Level 1 Member
  • *
  • Posts: 4
changing LAN IP address causes blank interface labels?
« on: March 22, 2012, 11:53:34 AM »

Hi.

I have a new router.  this seems to be a very simple problem relating to the most basic configuration options.

Hardware Version: A1     Firmware Version : 1.01NA   

go to  SETUP -> "NETWORK SETTINGS"
change  "Router IP Address" to 192.168.73.1
change "DHCP IP Address Range" to:  192.168.73.10 : 192.168.73.200

Save Changes
Wait for reboot.
change my client system's local IP address...  so that I can reconnect.
direct web browser to http://192.168.73.1/

seen:
login page has a select-box for a userid, but no text inside.  there is no prompt to ask me to login.
I press enter (or whatever...  I login).
every form interface on all web pages looked at have no labels on text boxes.

I did a view source...  and used web-dev tools to look at the page.  it looks like the apparent js function, show_words(), is not defined.

change the ip address and dhcp address range back to default.  save changes.
wait for reboot.
reverse changes to local system
things are back to normal.  login page has helpful text.  after logging in, there is something to read.

looking at source again.  I see, now, that the js function "show_words" is defined in a file called public.js.

I haven't bothered to go back to the error state to see if public.js is present.

Thanks...  - anaj
Logged

FurryNutz

  • Poweruser
  •   ▲
    ▲ ▲
  • *****
  • Posts: 47985
  • D-Link Global Forum Moderator
    • Router Troubleshooting
Re: changing LAN IP address causes blank interface labels?
« Reply #1 on: March 22, 2012, 12:13:48 PM »

What browser are you using? Does it happen with other browsers?
What subnet mask are you using. You've changed the IP address so Subnet Mask would need to be adjusted as well I presume.

Try updating FW:
Firmware   1.02NA   2/24/2011

If you do, please follow the FW update sticky in this forum regarding the process.

Logged
Cable:200mb/10Mb>NetGear C7800>DIR-882>DGS-1100>HP 24pt Gb Switch. COVR-3902/2202/1203,DIR-2680,890L,882,880L,868L,DNR-202L,DNS-345x2,DCS-933L,936L and 960L.
Go Here>Router Troubleshooting

anaj

  • Level 1 Member
  • *
  • Posts: 4
Re: changing LAN IP address causes blank interface labels?
« Reply #2 on: March 22, 2012, 04:31:14 PM »

I'm using chrome and running Linux (Debian stable).  chrome is up to date.

I haven't tried any other browsers. honestly, I just want my router to work, so I'm changing my little network over to 192.168.0/24.  But, maybe I can run a test or two, if you like.  This is clearly a very weird "bug" because it's so basic.

my subnet mask is unchanged:  255.255.255.0
which only means that all addresses in my network start with 192.168.73., as intended.

anaj
Logged

anaj

  • Level 1 Member
  • *
  • Posts: 4
Re: changing LAN IP address causes blank interface labels?
« Reply #3 on: March 22, 2012, 06:22:13 PM »

Changing the IP of the router was the very first changed after removing it from the box.  No other settings had changed.  I changed the IP back and started using it.  Since that time, I have changed several other settings.  (I didn't keep track of which changes I made.  An example is: I configured the ntp server.)  I was going to add dhcp assigned addresses, so it seemed like a good time to test the problem again.  From my laptop (a different computer from before) I switched back to 192.168.73.1 and to my surprise the site worked.  All the labels were present.

I moved to my desktop and found that the labels still were absent.  "hm." I thought. "Maybe there's something to this browser business."  I installed a USER_AGENT switcher in chrome and tried reloading the page with a different user_agent value.  After several tries with different user_agent values, tried it with Firefox 6 (I think) it started working.  But, it didn't stop working when I switched back to the default USER_AGENT value.  So...  what's up?

I suspect that what "fixed" it on my desktop computer was the continual reloading of the page; not changing the user_agent value.  I haven't done any other tests.  (As I said before, I'm not really very interested in finding bugs.  I just want it to work.)  But, if I come across this problem again, I will attempt repeated reloads of the page (it took less than 10, I think).  I will post here again if/when I have more information.

- anaj
Logged

FurryNutz

  • Poweruser
  •   ▲
    ▲ ▲
  • *****
  • Posts: 47985
  • D-Link Global Forum Moderator
    • Router Troubleshooting
Re: changing LAN IP address causes blank interface labels?
« Reply #4 on: March 23, 2012, 07:14:46 AM »

Possible this is a browser issue in Linux then.   :-\
Does this happen on a different system other than Linux?
« Last Edit: March 28, 2012, 07:10:59 AM by FurryNutz »
Logged
Cable:200mb/10Mb>NetGear C7800>DIR-882>DGS-1100>HP 24pt Gb Switch. COVR-3902/2202/1203,DIR-2680,890L,882,880L,868L,DNR-202L,DNS-345x2,DCS-933L,936L and 960L.
Go Here>Router Troubleshooting

anaj

  • Level 1 Member
  • *
  • Posts: 4
Re: changing LAN IP address causes blank interface labels?
« Reply #5 on: March 23, 2012, 08:51:26 AM »

I'm afraid I have no way to test that at the moment.  Maybe someone else can check?
Logged