• November 24, 2020, 12:57:39 AM
  • Welcome, Guest
Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

News:

This Forum Beta is ONLY for registered owners of D-Link products in the USA for which we have created boards at this time.

Author Topic: Windows 64bit can't see my NAS anymore  (Read 7594 times)

stratplayer

  • Level 1 Member
  • *
  • Posts: 4
Windows 64bit can't see my NAS anymore
« on: March 18, 2012, 11:40:24 AM »

I've recently rebuilt my desktop PC and used 64bit Win7 instead of 32bit.

Since this I havent managed to get Windows to see the NAS box. The Easy Search utility sees it, and the volumes, but I get an error when trying to map a drive.

I can map to it via FTP fine from my phone/xbox/ipad/galaxy tab.

Linux can see it too!

I can ping it from windows too, its on a fixed IP address and always has been.

Has anyone got any ideas at all? It's all connected via a gigabit switch.
Logged

fordem

  • Level 10 Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 2168
Re: Windows 64bit can't see my NAS anymore
« Reply #1 on: March 18, 2012, 03:19:06 PM »

What does the error message say?
Logged
RAID1 is for disk redundancy - NOT data backup - don't confuse the two.

stratplayer

  • Level 1 Member
  • *
  • Posts: 4
Re: Windows 64bit can't see my NAS anymore
« Reply #2 on: March 20, 2012, 12:04:41 PM »

What does the error message say?

It  just says "Unable to map drive"

I can send you a screenshot if you like.... its driving me mad!
Logged

Steve Pitts

  • Level 2 Member
  • **
  • Posts: 68
  • A twelfth man at silly mid on
Re: Windows 64bit can't see my NAS anymore
« Reply #3 on: March 21, 2012, 12:06:46 AM »

It  just says "Unable to map drive"
Have you tried 'mapping' from the command line?? That may (or may not) give you a more informative error message. Try the following commands from a command prompt:
Code: [Select]
net view \\dns323_ip_address
net use n: \\dns323_ip_address\Volume_1
Obviously you'll need to replace dns323_ip_address with the IP address or name of your NAS and may also need to change the Volume_1 at the end of the second command if you don't see that name in the list returned by the net view. If the first command gives an error then the second almost certainly isn't going to work either. Cut and paste the contents of the command prompt window into a post here if you can't make head nor tail of the responses and we'll see if we can help further.
Logged
Cheers, Steve

Running a DNS-323 Rev. C1 with FW 1.10b5, fun_plug 0.5 and 1 Western Digital WD20EARS-00MVWB0, 4K aligned by 1.10FW, in Standard mode as a single volume

stratplayer

  • Level 1 Member
  • *
  • Posts: 4
Re: Windows 64bit can't see my NAS anymore
« Reply #4 on: March 21, 2012, 12:50:00 PM »

Have you tried 'mapping' from the command line?? That may (or may not) give you a more informative error message. Try the following commands from a command prompt:
Code: [Select]
net view \\dns323_ip_address
net use n: \\dns323_ip_address\Volume_1
Obviously you'll need to replace dns323_ip_address with the IP address or name of your NAS and may also need to change the Volume_1 at the end of the second command if you don't see that name in the list returned by the net view. If the first command gives an error then the second almost certainly isn't going to work either. Cut and paste the contents of the command prompt window into a post here if you can't make head nor tail of the responses and we'll see if we can help further.

Here are the results, I had done this before with the same results as before...

C:\Users\stratplayer>ping 192.168.0.97

Pinging 192.168.0.97 with 32 bytes of data:
Reply from 192.168.0.97: bytes=32 time<1ms TTL=64
Reply from 192.168.0.97: bytes=32 time<1ms TTL=64
Reply from 192.168.0.97: bytes=32 time<1ms TTL=64
Reply from 192.168.0.97: bytes=32 time<1ms TTL=64

Ping statistics for 192.168.0.97:
    Packets: Sent = 4, Received = 4, Lost = 0 (0% loss),
Approximate round trip times in milli-seconds:
    Minimum = 0ms, Maximum = 0ms, Average = 0ms

C:\Users\stratplayer>^V

C:\Users\stratplayer>net use * \\192.168.0.97\Volume_1
System error 67 has occurred.

The network name cannot be found.


C:\Users\stratplayer>net view \\192.168.0.97
System error 1707 has occurred.

The network address is invalid.


C:\Users\stratplayer>
Logged

stratplayer

  • Level 1 Member
  • *
  • Posts: 4
Re: Windows 64bit can't see my NAS anymore
« Reply #5 on: March 21, 2012, 01:12:08 PM »

Fixed the issue!!!

It turns out somehow or other the

TCP/IP NetBIOS Helper service was set to Disabled, which is used to aid in NetBIOS name resolution. Switched it on and voila full access to shares... as shown below... thanks to all that replied.

C:\Users\stratplayer>net view \\192.168.0.97
Shared resources at \\192.168.0.97

Storage

Share name  Type   Used as  Comment

--------------------------------------------------------------
lp          Print           USB Printer
Volume_1    Disk
Volume_2    Disk
web_page    Disk            Enter Our Web Page Setting
The command completed successfully.


C:\Users\stratplayer>
Logged

ivan

  • Level 8 Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 1480
Re: Windows 64bit can't see my NAS anymore
« Reply #6 on: March 22, 2012, 06:20:50 AM »

Maybe this fix would be something that others having problems with win 7, both for the 323 and the 320, should look at.
Logged

Steve Pitts

  • Level 2 Member
  • **
  • Posts: 68
  • A twelfth man at silly mid on
Re: Windows 64bit can't see my NAS anymore
« Reply #7 on: March 24, 2012, 02:55:19 PM »

TCP/IP NetBIOS Helper service was set to Disabled
Well that's a new one on me, I didn't realise that disabling that service would stop IP addresses working in UNC names, but I guess it makes some sort of sense. Glad that you got it sorted and thanks for taking the time to come back and let us all know how.
Logged
Cheers, Steve

Running a DNS-323 Rev. C1 with FW 1.10b5, fun_plug 0.5 and 1 Western Digital WD20EARS-00MVWB0, 4K aligned by 1.10FW, in Standard mode as a single volume