• October 16, 2019, 08:19:36 AM
  • Welcome, Guest
Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

News:

This Forum Beta is ONLY for registered owners of D-Link products in the USA for which we have created boards at this time.

Author Topic: DIR-815 DHCP Reservations  (Read 5639 times)

AVeen

  • Level 1 Member
  • *
  • Posts: 1
DIR-815 DHCP Reservations
« on: March 05, 2012, 03:53:09 AM »

Ever since I updated my firmware to 1.01 my web interface for the network settings screen has been random. Somtimes it shows a DHCP reservation list, sometimes it doesn't. Sometimes there are reservations, sometimes there are selectable radio buttons.  I guess I'm just trying to figure out if this is a firmware issue or not. Ever since I updated the firmware it has been flakey.... But I was having issues with other stuff before that. When there are no reservations, sometimes i can't even select any computers because there aren't any in the drop down, when all of my hardware is online???  WTH?
Logged

FurryNutz

  • Poweruser
  •   ▲
    ▲ ▲
  • *****
  • Posts: 47838
  • D-Link Global Forum Moderator
    • Router Troubleshooting
Re: DIR-815 DHCP Reservations
« Reply #1 on: March 05, 2012, 07:05:27 AM »

I would do the following:
1. Turn OFF ALL Devices, wired and wireless.
2. Factory reset the router.
3. Turn ON one Wired PC and go in and see if it's in the Dynamic Clients list, If so, Reserve it, Save settings and reboot the router.
4. Turn on the next device and do the same thing by turning on one device at a time and reserving it and letting the router reboot.

When you get this all done, save the routers configuration to file under Tools/System.

Did you follow the FW update sticky information when updating?
Logged
Cable:200mb/10Mb>NetGear C7800>DIR-882>DGS-1100>HP 24pt Gb Switch. COVR-3902/2202/1203,DIR-2680,890L,882,880L,868L,DNR-202L,DNS-345x2,DCS-933L,936L and 960L.
Go Here>Router Troubleshooting

khalilm

  • Level 1 Member
  • *
  • Posts: 2
Re: DIR-815 DHCP Reservations
« Reply #2 on: February 01, 2013, 05:44:51 PM »

I have been having the same issue with the DIR-815 right from the beginning. I updated to v1.02 and it does the same thing. I will go through the trouble of having to reset and add each computer one by one, but it seems a little odd to have to do that in order to make this work...if it does.

I will report back if that actually works or not.

Khalil
Logged

FurryNutz

  • Poweruser
  •   ▲
    ▲ ▲
  • *****
  • Posts: 47838
  • D-Link Global Forum Moderator
    • Router Troubleshooting
Re: DIR-815 DHCP Reservations
« Reply #3 on: February 02, 2013, 09:55:17 AM »

Some people reported that NOT inputing Reservations resolves this as this seems to be a problem with FW.

It was reported that using FW v1.03 which is not official yet resolves this:
http://forums.dlink.com/index.php?topic=50827.msg193554#msg193554

If you decide to update FW, please follow this:
FW Update Process

A link to the unofficial FW is posted in a sticky in this forum.

Keep us posted.


I have been having the same issue with the DIR-815 right from the beginning. I updated to v1.02 and it does the same thing. I will go through the trouble of having to reset and add each computer one by one, but it seems a little odd to have to do that in order to make this work...if it does.

I will report back if that actually works or not.

Khalil
Logged
Cable:200mb/10Mb>NetGear C7800>DIR-882>DGS-1100>HP 24pt Gb Switch. COVR-3902/2202/1203,DIR-2680,890L,882,880L,868L,DNR-202L,DNS-345x2,DCS-933L,936L and 960L.
Go Here>Router Troubleshooting

khalilm

  • Level 1 Member
  • *
  • Posts: 2
Re: DIR-815 DHCP Reservations
« Reply #4 on: February 03, 2013, 08:43:15 PM »

Hi,

Thanks for the quick reply. Well yes I can confirm it is an issue too  ;D

So I spent the day and re-flashed the firmware (1.00). Didnt work. Flashed (1.02) and it didnt work. Finally I gave up and set static IP addresses on all my hardware. I wish I would have come back here and checked for a reply first!  :-[  Well at least I configured them as Alternate IP's so I can use DHCP if I decide to.

Thanks for the link to the 1.03. I will download it and try it out. I see there is a fix for the QoS which was another issue I was having.

Thanks again for your help,
Khalil

 
Logged

FurryNutz

  • Poweruser
  •   ▲
    ▲ ▲
  • *****
  • Posts: 47838
  • D-Link Global Forum Moderator
    • Router Troubleshooting
Re: DIR-815 DHCP Reservations
« Reply #5 on: February 04, 2013, 06:54:44 AM »

Let us know how v1.03 works out for you.
Logged
Cable:200mb/10Mb>NetGear C7800>DIR-882>DGS-1100>HP 24pt Gb Switch. COVR-3902/2202/1203,DIR-2680,890L,882,880L,868L,DNR-202L,DNS-345x2,DCS-933L,936L and 960L.
Go Here>Router Troubleshooting

FurryNutz

  • Poweruser
  •   ▲
    ▲ ▲
  • *****
  • Posts: 47838
  • D-Link Global Forum Moderator
    • Router Troubleshooting
Re: DIR-815 DHCP Reservations
« Reply #6 on: February 14, 2013, 08:11:58 AM »

Any status on this?  ???
Logged
Cable:200mb/10Mb>NetGear C7800>DIR-882>DGS-1100>HP 24pt Gb Switch. COVR-3902/2202/1203,DIR-2680,890L,882,880L,868L,DNR-202L,DNS-345x2,DCS-933L,936L and 960L.
Go Here>Router Troubleshooting