• September 16, 2014, 08:24:06 AM
  • Welcome, Guest
Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

News:

This Forum Beta is ONLY for registered owners of D-Link products in which we have created boards at this time.

Author Topic: DIR-615 Low Wireles Signal Quality  (Read 4111 times)

kwikwater

  • Level 1 Member
  • *
  • Posts: 4
DIR-615 Low Wireles Signal Quality
« on: January 20, 2012, 10:27:33 AM »

so, ...I took my router with me to visit family at Christmas.  It wouldn't allow the wired computer through the switch, but yet I could talk to the router with my laptop.  Rather than reconfigure, I bundled up my router & laptop and let well enough alone.

Now that they're all back at my house, I can't reliably get the laptop to connect - Low Wireless Signal error. 
I've reset the modem & router repeatedly.  Tried Channels 1,6, 11 and 8&9 too.  n only, as that's my laptop's.  On 2 occasions it has connected, rebooted and auto connected and run for 4-5 hours.  Then it's gone.  I've beat this mess for 3-8 hours per day, for days...!!!

Laptop(Vista) connects to every other wifi I've tried.  It's sitting 4 ft from the router. 

What next?!?!  Thanks all!!!
KW


misc. info.
separate dsl modem, Centurytel, Netopia Cayman 3300 series
no other devices beyond wired desktop and laptop
no changes in other neighboring networks
Logged

FurryNutz

  • Poweruser
  •   ▲
    ▲ ▲
  • *****
  • Posts: 27975
  • D-Link Global Forum Moderator
    • New DGL-5500 Gaming Router with StreamBoost™ Technology
Re: DIR-615 Low Wireles Signal Quality
« Reply #1 on: January 20, 2012, 10:33:45 AM »

Try a Factory reset of the router?

What Hardware version is your router? Look at sticker under router.
What Firmware version is currently loaded? Found on routers web page under status.

Some things to try:
Ensure DNS IP addresses are being filled in under Setup/Internet/Manual? You can find these under Status/Device Info/Wan section.
Turn off ALL QoS (DIR only) GameFuel (DGL only and if ON.) options. Advanced/QoS or Gamefuel.
Turn off Advanced DNS Services if you have this option under Setup/Internet/Manual.
Turn on DNS Relay under Setup/Networking.
Setup DHCP reserved IP addresses for all devices on the router. Setup/Networking
Ensure devices are set to auto obtain an IP address.
Set Firewall settings to Endpoint Independent for TCP and UDP.
Enable uPnP and Multi-cast Streaming under Advanced/Networking.

What wireless modes are you using?
Try single mode G then try single mode N.
What security mode are you using? Preferred security is WPA-Personal. WPA2/Auto TPIK and AES.

Any other WiFi routers in the area? Use InSSIDer to find out.
Turn off Short GI and Extra Wireless Protection if you have it. Under Advanced/Advanced Wireless.

Enable uPnP and Multi-cast Streaming under Advanced/Networking.

Turn off all anti virus and firewall programs on PC while testing. 3rd party firewalls are not generally needed when using routers as they are effective on blocking malicious inbound traffic.
Turn off all devices accept for one wired PC while testing.
Logged
Cable:50mb/3Mb>Motorola SB6180>DIR-645>HP 24pt Gb Switch. 3x4500s,DGL-5500,DIR-857,835,827,815,880L,868L,865L,826L,810L,685,657,3x655,645,601,DNS-345,DCS-933L and a Boxee.
Go Here>Router Troubleshooting

kwikwater

  • Level 1 Member
  • *
  • Posts: 4
Re: DIR-615 Low Wireles Signal Quality
« Reply #2 on: February 13, 2012, 02:03:08 PM »

I've had to let this little dilemma rest, but now, before I just give up and buy a new router, I'll give it another chance!  But that's tomorrow, on a fresh day! 

In looking at the Status>Device Info, it registers a moving clock looking function.  It shows Sept. 10, 2008, which is the date listed for the Firmware Version, 3.01.  Does that get in the way of syncing with anything??  Could it be part of why it doesn't connect??  Is that adjustable, or don't worry about it??

If I want to imbed jpg in a post, does it need to be linked to a public access photo repository?

Thanks
kwikwater
Logged

FurryNutz

  • Poweruser
  •   ▲
    ▲ ▲
  • *****
  • Posts: 27975
  • D-Link Global Forum Moderator
    • New DGL-5500 Gaming Router with StreamBoost™ Technology
Re: DIR-615 Low Wireles Signal Quality
« Reply #3 on: February 13, 2012, 02:08:28 PM »

Go to Tools/Time and set up your time zone.
Enable NTP server and input npt1.dlink.com

Save the setting. Reboot the router and the time and date should be corrected.

Maybe someone can review your router settings with you using teamviewer if your interested. Its safe and secure. Might help you get your router up and running faster for you.
Logged
Cable:50mb/3Mb>Motorola SB6180>DIR-645>HP 24pt Gb Switch. 3x4500s,DGL-5500,DIR-857,835,827,815,880L,868L,865L,826L,810L,685,657,3x655,645,601,DNS-345,DCS-933L and a Boxee.
Go Here>Router Troubleshooting

kwikwater

  • Level 1 Member
  • *
  • Posts: 4
Re: DIR-615 Low Wireles Signal Quality
« Reply #4 on: February 15, 2012, 12:08:59 PM »

Thanks for the continued help.  I tried again, but even with no tweaks, my laptop still says Low Signal Strength.   SO,....I installed TeamViewer.  How do I go about hooking up with someone that can help??  the TeamViewer looks like a great remote assistant!!  Saves a few steps from the  Microsoft method or some of the instant messenger offerings of remote assistance setups!!

thanks all!!!
KW
Logged

FurryNutz

  • Poweruser
  •   ▲
    ▲ ▲
  • *****
  • Posts: 27975
  • D-Link Global Forum Moderator
    • New DGL-5500 Gaming Router with StreamBoost™ Technology
Re: DIR-615 Low Wireles Signal Quality
« Reply #5 on: February 15, 2012, 05:04:06 PM »

Send me  PM w ID and password tomorrow if you want and I'll take a look. I'm on during the day time and some in the evenings.
Logged
Cable:50mb/3Mb>Motorola SB6180>DIR-645>HP 24pt Gb Switch. 3x4500s,DGL-5500,DIR-857,835,827,815,880L,868L,865L,826L,810L,685,657,3x655,645,601,DNS-345,DCS-933L and a Boxee.
Go Here>Router Troubleshooting

FurryNutz

  • Poweruser
  •   ▲
    ▲ ▲
  • *****
  • Posts: 27975
  • D-Link Global Forum Moderator
    • New DGL-5500 Gaming Router with StreamBoost™ Technology
Re: DIR-615 Low Wireles Signal Quality
« Reply #6 on: March 01, 2012, 09:07:44 AM »

Any status on this?
Logged
Cable:50mb/3Mb>Motorola SB6180>DIR-645>HP 24pt Gb Switch. 3x4500s,DGL-5500,DIR-857,835,827,815,880L,868L,865L,826L,810L,685,657,3x655,645,601,DNS-345,DCS-933L and a Boxee.
Go Here>Router Troubleshooting

kwikwater

  • Level 1 Member
  • *
  • Posts: 4
Re: DIR-615 Low Wireles Signal Quality
« Reply #7 on: March 02, 2012, 10:45:50 AM »

status update!  I'm getting it to connect, but very spotty.  It drops out in 15 minutes usually and displays a message saying it can't connect.   I got about 90 minutes out of it mid evening last night. 

inSSIDer says there's 8-10 signals in range.  Most of those use Ch.6, one at Ch 11, one on Ch 8.  Mine is set to Auto and has used Ch 1 every time I've checked. Wish I could block each of the neighbors, individually until I found the culprit!!  I see mine dropping and returning in the graph at the bottom.

I'll leave team viewer open and check it periodically.

THX Fuzz!!
KW
Logged

Bluey

  • Level 1 Member
  • *
  • Posts: 6
Re: DIR-615 Low Wireles Signal Quality
« Reply #8 on: March 05, 2012, 01:16:36 PM »

I havent used Vista too much, so i dont know if this will help you.

I found that when I took my laptop out and about and connected to some free (legal) wireless networks, and also to a friends house to use his WiFI, when I got home my computer was doing the same as yours.

I did a few hours of googling, and came up with a solution that has worked for me.

After connecting to wifi somewhere else, when I get home, most of the time I have to go to Network & Sharing Center->Manage wireless networks, and delete ALL of the networks listed, INCLUDING my home connection. Then when they're all gone, click "Add", "Manually set-up", and basically resubmit the SSID & passkey for my router.

A PIA, but it has worked for me everytime.
It seems Win7 has an issue with the stored wireless networks, and after connecting to different ones, they somehow get corrupted and windows will choke when trying to use one again.

Hope this helps.  8)
Logged

FurryNutz

  • Poweruser
  •   ▲
    ▲ ▲
  • *****
  • Posts: 27975
  • D-Link Global Forum Moderator
    • New DGL-5500 Gaming Router with StreamBoost™ Technology
Re: DIR-615 Low Wireles Signal Quality
« Reply #9 on: March 05, 2012, 01:57:07 PM »

Someone also mentioned that disabling the HOME GROUP services also helps. Not sure if this will or not. Worth a try.
Logged
Cable:50mb/3Mb>Motorola SB6180>DIR-645>HP 24pt Gb Switch. 3x4500s,DGL-5500,DIR-857,835,827,815,880L,868L,865L,826L,810L,685,657,3x655,645,601,DNS-345,DCS-933L and a Boxee.
Go Here>Router Troubleshooting