+  D-Link Forums
|-+  D-Link amPLiFi» DIR-645» DIR-645 losing connection wired/wireless
Username:
Password:
Pages: [1] 2 3
  Print  
Author Topic: DIR-645 losing connection wired/wireless  (Read 8483 times)
TheTech
Level 1 Member
*
Posts: 20


« on: January 14, 2012, 03:42:47 PM »

I have a new DIR-645 that at night when we are sleeping looses connection with the cable modem. I have a older DIR-655 that works flawless. I was getting the new modem to get better wireless reception which it does, but i need the network to keep connected 24/7. Any help would be appreciated.
Logged
FurryNutz
Poweruser
  ▲
▲ ▲
*****
Posts: 27127


D-Link Global Forum Moderator


WWW
« Reply #1 on: January 14, 2012, 03:47:01 PM »

What Firmware version is currently loaded? Found on routers web page under status.

What ISP Modem do you have? Stand Alone or built in router?
What ISP Modem make and model do you have?
If this modem has a built in router, it's best to bridge the modem. Having 2 routers on the same line can cause connection problems.


Some things to try:
Ensure DNS IP addresses are being filled in under Setup/Internet/Manual? You can find these under Status/Device Info/Wan section.
Turn off ALL QoS (DIR only) GameFuel (DGL only and if ON.) options. Advanced/QoS or Gamefuel.
Turn off Advanced DNS Services if you have this option under Setup/Internet/Manual.
Turn on DNS Relay under Setup/Networking.
Setup DHCP reserved IP addresses for all devices on the router. Setup/Networking
Ensure devices are set to auto obtain an IP address.
Set Firewall settings to Endpoint Independent for TCP and UDP.

What wireless modes are you using?
Try single mode G or mixed G and N?
What security mode are you using? Preferred security is WPA-Personal. WPA2/Auto TPIK and AES.
What wireless devices do you have connected?
Any cordless house phones?
Any other WiFi routers in the area? Use InSSIDer to find out.
Turn off Short GI and Extra Wireless Protection if you have it. Under Advanced/Advanced Wireless.

Turn off all anti virus and firewall programs on PC while testing. 3rd party firewalls are not generally needed when using routers as they are effective on blocking malicious inbound traffic.

Check cable between Modem and Router, swap out to be sure. Cat6 is recommended.
Logged

Cable:50mb/3Mb>Motorola SB6180>DGL-5500>HP 24pt Gb Switch. 3x4500s,DGL-5500,DIR-857,835,827,880L,868L,865L,826L,810L,685,657,3x655,645,601,DNS-345,DCS-933L and a Boxee.
Go Here>Router Troubleshooting
TheTech
Level 1 Member
*
Posts: 20


« Reply #2 on: January 14, 2012, 04:36:13 PM »

Hi
version is 1.00
Stand alone Modem
Cox cable-Motorola SB6120
We have a laptop,netbook,3 android phones and an android tablet a WII and Xbox360, not all connected at the same time though.

I checked all other settings you mentioned and the only thing I had to change was the endpoint independent and added the IP's to the reserved list

I haven't ran into this with any other router I have setup I am beginning to think it is a compatibly issue with the modem.
Logged
FurryNutz
Poweruser
  ▲
▲ ▲
*****
Posts: 27127


D-Link Global Forum Moderator


WWW
« Reply #3 on: January 14, 2012, 04:42:06 PM »

Shouldn't be, I have 657 and have testing it on a 6120, 21 and now on a 80. There the same platform as far as FW goes.

Swap cables out to be sure? Cat 6 is recommended.
Logged

Cable:50mb/3Mb>Motorola SB6180>DGL-5500>HP 24pt Gb Switch. 3x4500s,DGL-5500,DIR-857,835,827,880L,868L,865L,826L,810L,685,657,3x655,645,601,DNS-345,DCS-933L and a Boxee.
Go Here>Router Troubleshooting
TheTech
Level 1 Member
*
Posts: 20


« Reply #4 on: January 14, 2012, 05:10:16 PM »

Done we'll see what happens.
Logged
FurryNutz
Poweruser
  ▲
▲ ▲
*****
Posts: 27127


D-Link Global Forum Moderator


WWW
« Reply #5 on: January 14, 2012, 05:11:28 PM »

Maybe someone can review your router settings with you using teamviewer.
Logged

Cable:50mb/3Mb>Motorola SB6180>DGL-5500>HP 24pt Gb Switch. 3x4500s,DGL-5500,DIR-857,835,827,880L,868L,865L,826L,810L,685,657,3x655,645,601,DNS-345,DCS-933L and a Boxee.
Go Here>Router Troubleshooting
TheTech
Level 1 Member
*
Posts: 20


« Reply #6 on: January 14, 2012, 06:19:46 PM »

Ok sounds good
Logged
TheTech
Level 1 Member
*
Posts: 20


« Reply #7 on: January 14, 2012, 07:34:07 PM »

Hey how does the 6180 compare to the 6120? My main reason for getting the 645 was to get better coverage. Maybe I should check into the 657 as well but I do like that the 645 has a firewall.
« Last Edit: January 14, 2012, 07:37:23 PM by TheTech » Logged
FurryNutz
Poweruser
  ▲
▲ ▲
*****
Posts: 27127


D-Link Global Forum Moderator


WWW
« Reply #8 on: January 14, 2012, 07:56:15 PM »

the 80 and 8 channel bonding. 20 and 21 are 4.

All routers have firewalls.
Logged

Cable:50mb/3Mb>Motorola SB6180>DGL-5500>HP 24pt Gb Switch. 3x4500s,DGL-5500,DIR-857,835,827,880L,868L,865L,826L,810L,685,657,3x655,645,601,DNS-345,DCS-933L and a Boxee.
Go Here>Router Troubleshooting
TheTech
Level 1 Member
*
Posts: 20


« Reply #9 on: January 14, 2012, 08:09:20 PM »

Oh Sorry I was reading on OfficeDepot http://www.officedepot.com/a/products/636313/D-Link-DIR-657-HD-Media/and the specs said it didn't.
Logged
FurryNutz
Poweruser
  ▲
▲ ▲
*****
Posts: 27127


D-Link Global Forum Moderator


WWW
« Reply #10 on: January 14, 2012, 08:11:04 PM »

http://support.dlink.com/Emulators/dir657/100/adv_dmz.html
Logged

Cable:50mb/3Mb>Motorola SB6180>DGL-5500>HP 24pt Gb Switch. 3x4500s,DGL-5500,DIR-857,835,827,880L,868L,865L,826L,810L,685,657,3x655,645,601,DNS-345,DCS-933L and a Boxee.
Go Here>Router Troubleshooting
FurryNutz
Poweruser
  ▲
▲ ▲
*****
Posts: 27127


D-Link Global Forum Moderator


WWW
« Reply #11 on: January 14, 2012, 08:12:11 PM »

Thats faults advertising LOL
Logged

Cable:50mb/3Mb>Motorola SB6180>DGL-5500>HP 24pt Gb Switch. 3x4500s,DGL-5500,DIR-857,835,827,880L,868L,865L,826L,810L,685,657,3x655,645,601,DNS-345,DCS-933L and a Boxee.
Go Here>Router Troubleshooting
TheTech
Level 1 Member
*
Posts: 20


« Reply #12 on: January 14, 2012, 08:14:05 PM »

Yep LOL Thanks for the link to clarify. Can you teamview and check settings?
Logged
FurryNutz
Poweruser
  ▲
▲ ▲
*****
Posts: 27127


D-Link Global Forum Moderator


WWW
« Reply #13 on: January 14, 2012, 08:15:38 PM »

not at the moment, playing xbox. I can later or sometime tomorrow if you like.
Logged

Cable:50mb/3Mb>Motorola SB6180>DGL-5500>HP 24pt Gb Switch. 3x4500s,DGL-5500,DIR-857,835,827,880L,868L,865L,826L,810L,685,657,3x655,645,601,DNS-345,DCS-933L and a Boxee.
Go Here>Router Troubleshooting
TheTech
Level 1 Member
*
Posts: 20


« Reply #14 on: January 18, 2012, 06:39:09 PM »

I am going to return the router. I am a computer tech and have looked through all settings. there isn't anything that should make it loose connection.
Logged
Pages: [1] 2 3
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Theme by webtechnica.com.