+  D-Link Forums
|-+  D-Link Wireless N150 / N300» DIR-615» DIR-615 wont stay connected
Username:
Password:
Pages: [1]
  Print  
Author Topic: DIR-615 wont stay connected  (Read 2595 times)
kwhit1708
Level 1 Member
*
Posts: 3


« on: December 17, 2011, 05:31:31 PM »

I just got a new 2011 Toshiba Sattelite L755 laptop with Wondows 7, I also have a 2006 Compaq Presario with the original Windows Vista. We use a DIR-615 router for WIFI connection on both. The old Compaq will keep a connection with no problem and never looses a connection. The new Toshiba will keep 3 bars of signal but will not keep a constant connection to the internet. Do I need to upgrade my router, which I bought the one I have about 3-4 years ago, or could it possibly be a problem with my new computer?
Logged
FurryNutz
Poweruser
  ▲
▲ ▲
*****
Posts: 27139


D-Link Global Forum Moderator


WWW
« Reply #1 on: December 18, 2011, 01:49:31 AM »

What Hardware version is your router? Look at sticker under router.
What Firmware version is currently loaded? Found on routers web page under status.

What wireless modes are you using?
Try single mode G or mixed G and N?
What security mode are you using? Preferred security is WPA-Personal. WPA2/Auto TPIK and AES.
What wireless devices do you have connected?
Any cordless house phones?
Any other WiFi routers in the area? Use InSSIDer to find out.
Turn off Short GI and Extra Wireless Protection if you have it. Under Advanced/Advanced Wireless.

Is your WiFi adapter drivers up to date as well on the PCs?

What ISP Service do you have? Cable or DSL?
What ISP Modem do you have? Stand Alone or built in router?
What ISP Modem make and model do you have?


Logged

Cable:50mb/3Mb>Motorola SB6180>DGL-5500>HP 24pt Gb Switch. 3x4500s,DGL-5500,DIR-857,835,827,880L,868L,865L,826L,810L,685,657,3x655,645,601,DNS-345,DCS-933L and a Boxee.
Go Here>Router Troubleshooting
kwhit1708
Level 1 Member
*
Posts: 3


« Reply #2 on: December 19, 2011, 01:08:11 PM »

It is Hardware version B2 and Firmware version 2.29. My security settings have all been changed with no change in connection. No cordless phones in my house. I am getting the wireless signal from the dsl at the house next door to my house (with permission). There is one other wifi router that picks up but its not a strong signal and does not always come in. ISP is Windstream DSL stand alone router, i dont not have the make and model of router. Also yes my driver is up to date it is brand new computer and it has also been checked by tech support to make sure it is the newest version.
Logged
FurryNutz
Poweruser
  ▲
▲ ▲
*****
Posts: 27139


D-Link Global Forum Moderator


WWW
« Reply #3 on: December 19, 2011, 01:11:33 PM »

Try single mode G

It's possible the Windstream MODEM has a router built in. One way to find out is to look at the Status/Device Info/Wan section of the 615 routers page and see if the WAN ip address is a 192.168 or a ##.##.###.### address.
Logged

Cable:50mb/3Mb>Motorola SB6180>DGL-5500>HP 24pt Gb Switch. 3x4500s,DGL-5500,DIR-857,835,827,880L,868L,865L,826L,810L,685,657,3x655,645,601,DNS-345,DCS-933L and a Boxee.
Go Here>Router Troubleshooting
kwhit1708
Level 1 Member
*
Posts: 3


« Reply #4 on: December 19, 2011, 04:54:59 PM »

Im about 65yards from the router will it reach to where I am?
Logged
FurryNutz
Poweruser
  ▲
▲ ▲
*****
Posts: 27139


D-Link Global Forum Moderator


WWW
« Reply #5 on: December 19, 2011, 11:24:52 PM »

You might need a range extender to reach that far. Thats well beyond what these routers can to for range.
 
« Last Edit: December 19, 2011, 11:27:05 PM by FurryNutz » Logged

Cable:50mb/3Mb>Motorola SB6180>DGL-5500>HP 24pt Gb Switch. 3x4500s,DGL-5500,DIR-857,835,827,880L,868L,865L,826L,810L,685,657,3x655,645,601,DNS-345,DCS-933L and a Boxee.
Go Here>Router Troubleshooting
Pages: [1]
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Theme by webtechnica.com.