+  D-Link Forums
|-+  D-Link Wireless N150 / N300» DIR-615» Router suddenly stopped working!!
Username:
Password:
Pages: [1]
  Print  
Author Topic: Router suddenly stopped working!!  (Read 1715 times)
Brodie05
Level 1 Member
*
Posts: 3


« on: December 06, 2011, 04:47:41 PM »

Hello

I have a Dlink Dir-615 router and a Motorola SB6120 Modem.  For some reason the router suddenly says it's receiving internet access from the modem.  It has worked for several months beforehand.  I tried another Dlink modem and got the same results.  I have my computer hooked directly to the modem hence the ability to make this post.  Anyone have any idea what the problem is?

Thanks
Logged
FurryNutz
Poweruser
  ▲
▲ ▲
*****
Posts: 26983


D-Link Global Forum Moderator


WWW
« Reply #1 on: December 06, 2011, 07:33:15 PM »

Have you done a factory reset on the router?

What Hardware version is your router?
What Firmware version is currently loaded?
Logged

Cable:50mb/3Mb>Motorola SB6180>DGL-5500>HP 24pt Gb Switch. 3x4500s,DGL-5500,DIR-857,835,827,880L,868L,865L,826L,810L,685,657,3x655,645,601,DNS-345,DCS-933L and a Boxee.
Go Here>Router Troubleshooting
Brodie05
Level 1 Member
*
Posts: 3


« Reply #2 on: December 06, 2011, 08:12:04 PM »

Hardware Version: B2  Firmware Version: 2.23
Logged
FurryNutz
Poweruser
  ▲
▲ ▲
*****
Posts: 26983


D-Link Global Forum Moderator


WWW
« Reply #3 on: December 06, 2011, 08:54:50 PM »

Can you get access to the routers web page when connected wired to the router?

Have you powered off the modem and router, then powered on the modem and let it sync, the power on the router? You can check the status of the router if you can access the routers web page and go to Status/Device Info and see if it's connecting or not.

There is more resent FW out there. 2.25.
Logged

Cable:50mb/3Mb>Motorola SB6180>DGL-5500>HP 24pt Gb Switch. 3x4500s,DGL-5500,DIR-857,835,827,880L,868L,865L,826L,810L,685,657,3x655,645,601,DNS-345,DCS-933L and a Boxee.
Go Here>Router Troubleshooting
Brodie05
Level 1 Member
*
Posts: 3


« Reply #4 on: December 07, 2011, 06:08:43 AM »

I can access the routers webpage and I have reset the router multiple times. The creator I have also unplugged everything and plugged it back in to let everything resync. Is it possible to update the routers firmware without Internet access?
Logged
FurryNutz
Poweruser
  ▲
▲ ▲
*****
Posts: 26983


D-Link Global Forum Moderator


WWW
« Reply #5 on: December 07, 2011, 07:16:15 AM »

It is possible to update the FW with out Internet and if you have a wired connection to the router and can access the web page. Let do some trouble shooting first before updating as doing any FW updates might not resolve the problem. We can definately update if we can narrow down the problem. Can you check the Status/Device Info/Wan section and let us know if you see IP addressing there for WAN, Gateway and DNS?

What ISP Service do you have? Cable or DSL?
What ISP Modem do you have? Stand Alone or built in router?
What ISP Modem make and model do you have?
If this modem has a built in router, it's best to bridge the modem. Having 2 routers on the same line can cause connection problems.

Some things to try:
Ensure DNS IP addresses are being filled in under Setup/Internet/Manual? You can find these under Status/Device Info/Wan section.
Turn off ALL QoS (DIR only) GameFuel (DGL only and if ON.) options. Advanced/QoS or Gamefuel.
Turn off Advanced DNS Services if you have this option under Setup/Internet/Manual.
Turn on DNS Relay under Setup/Networking.
Setup DHCP reserved IP addresses for all devices on the router. Setup/Networking
Ensure devices are set to auto obtain an IP address.
Set Firewall settings to Endpoint Independent for TCP and UDP.

Maybe someone can review your router settings with you using teamviewer.
Logged

Cable:50mb/3Mb>Motorola SB6180>DGL-5500>HP 24pt Gb Switch. 3x4500s,DGL-5500,DIR-857,835,827,880L,868L,865L,826L,810L,685,657,3x655,645,601,DNS-345,DCS-933L and a Boxee.
Go Here>Router Troubleshooting
Pages: [1]
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Theme by webtechnica.com.