• November 17, 2019, 11:36:40 AM
  • Welcome, Guest
Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

News:

This Forum Beta is ONLY for registered owners of D-Link products in the USA for which we have created boards at this time.

Author Topic: HELP PLEASE MW3 strict nat  (Read 7560 times)

jawad23q

  • Level 1 Member
  • *
  • Posts: 3
HELP PLEASE MW3 strict nat
« on: November 11, 2011, 03:36:29 AM »

i really need help i have a d link router dir-655 and i bought mw3 yesterday and my nat type is on strict :( my ps3 connects wireless and i have a nat type 2 i have upnp on help ASAP plz!
Logged

FurryNutz

  • Poweruser
  •   ▲
    ▲ ▲
  • *****
  • Posts: 47908
  • D-Link Global Forum Moderator
    • Router Troubleshooting
Re: HELP PLEASE MW3 strict nat
« Reply #1 on: November 11, 2011, 07:02:25 AM »

What Hareware version is your router? Look at sticker under router.
What Firmware version is currently loaded? Found on routers web page under status.

What ISP Service do you have? Cable or DSL?
What ISP Modem do you have? Stand Alone or built in router?
What ISP Modem make and model do you have?
If this modem has a built in router, it's best to bridge the modem. Having 2 routers on the same line can cause connection problems.

Ensure DNS IP addresses are being filled in under Setup/Internet/Manual? You can find these under Status/Device Info/Wan section.
Turn off ALL QoS (DIR only) GameFuel (DGL only and if ON.) options.
Turn off Advanced DNS Services if you have this option under Setup/Internet/Manual.
Turn on DNS Relay under Setup/Networking.
Setup DHCP reserved IP addresses for all devices on the router.
Ensure devices are set to auto obtain an IP address.
Set Firewall settings to Endpoint Independent for TCP and UDP.

Review the following:
Gaming and QoS for XBL
« Last Edit: December 02, 2013, 10:17:45 AM by FurryNutz »
Logged
Cable:200mb/10Mb>NetGear C7800>DIR-882>DGS-1100>HP 24pt Gb Switch. COVR-3902/2202/1203,DIR-2680,890L,882,880L,868L,DNR-202L,DNS-345x2,DCS-933L,936L and 960L.
Go Here>Router Troubleshooting

jawad23q

  • Level 1 Member
  • *
  • Posts: 3
Re: HELP PLEASE MW3 strict nat
« Reply #2 on: November 11, 2011, 08:59:00 PM »

hardware version : B1
firmware version: 2.00
cable
stand alone modem
motorola modem
Logged

Hard Harry

  • Guest
Re: HELP PLEASE MW3 strict nat
« Reply #3 on: November 12, 2011, 02:12:10 AM »

1. Turn on PS3 and get it online.

2. Open up a browser on your PC and go to 192.168.0.1. Either use the PW you set, or User: admin PW: <blank>

3. Setup > Network Settings > ADD DHCP RESERVATION

4. Click enable, choose your PS3 from the drop down menu, click save.Save settings and reboot if required.

5. Fallow these instructions. .

That "should" work, but from my findings, it usually doesn't fix the NAT problem with the game. If it doesn't work, you probably need to wait for a patch from Sledgehammer Games, which will probably be a while. Until then the current work around is to put in the MW2 disk, and enter a match. If your NAT is open there, then everything is set up right, and you should be able to eject the disk (DON'T RESTART) and put in MW3 and it should also have Open NAT. Let us know how it goes.
Logged

jawad23q

  • Level 1 Member
  • *
  • Posts: 3
Re: HELP PLEASE MW3 strict nat
« Reply #4 on: November 12, 2011, 07:33:06 AM »

ok ill let u know in a few days if the mw2 trick worked but so far ive followed ur other instructions and still on strict lol
Logged

Hard Harry

  • Guest
Re: HELP PLEASE MW3 strict nat
« Reply #5 on: November 12, 2011, 08:07:24 AM »

Yea, its basically a MW3 glitch.

What is your PS3's NAT type though? Like what to you see when you go to XMB > Settings > Network Settings > Network Connection Test? If Type2 or below, then you may try this trick.

**WARNING** Be sure to back up your data. I haven't tried this myself, but it's similar to a suggestion on the XBL forums for MW3.

Go to XMB > Game > Game Data Utility > Find MW3 > Triangle > Delete. This should only delete the local files (updates, patches, and most importantly network cache), but since I have never tried it with MW3 you may want to try it with a new user on your PS3 just in case.
Logged