• October 23, 2019, 05:01:34 AM
  • Welcome, Guest
Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

News:

This Forum Beta is ONLY for registered owners of D-Link products in the USA for which we have created boards at this time.

Author Topic: DIR-815 New firmware 1.01 is not XBOX LIVE compatible. What gives?  (Read 7872 times)

SavageWolv

  • Level 2 Member
  • **
  • Posts: 29

Hi everyone, I am new to these forums and I have upgraded from firmware 1.00 on the DIR-815 to the 1.01 firmware and once I upgraded, I can log into Xbox, but cant host party chats or host game rooms. I also noticed that any and all messages sent from friends didnt show until I rebooted my console. Something is SERIOUSLY WRONG here and would like a MOD to comment on this.
Logged

FurryNutz

  • Poweruser
  •   ▲
    ▲ ▲
  • *****
  • Posts: 47844
  • D-Link Global Forum Moderator
    • Router Troubleshooting
Re: DIR-815 New firmware 1.01 is not XBOX LIVE compatible. What gives?
« Reply #1 on: October 24, 2011, 10:52:50 AM »

Please review the DGL-4500 forum sticky regarding XBL and set up of the router.
What ISP Service do you have? Cable or DSL?
What ISP Modem do you have? Stand Alone or built in router?
What ISP Modem make and model do you have?
If this modem has a built in router, it's best to bridge the modem. Having 2 routers on the same line can cause connection problems.

Let us know if you need more help. Were here for ya.  ;)
Logged
Cable:200mb/10Mb>NetGear C7800>DIR-882>DGS-1100>HP 24pt Gb Switch. COVR-3902/2202/1203,DIR-2680,890L,882,880L,868L,DNR-202L,DNS-345x2,DCS-933L,936L and 960L.
Go Here>Router Troubleshooting

SavageWolv

  • Level 2 Member
  • **
  • Posts: 29
Re: DIR-815 New firmware 1.01 is not XBOX LIVE compatible. What gives?
« Reply #2 on: October 24, 2011, 10:59:19 AM »

Please review the DGL-4500 forum sticky regarding XBL and set up of the router. ----(I run 2 xboxs so that dont work, I owned the 4300 and everytime I setup static Ip on console and opened the ports within the router I would sometimes get strict, moderate, open nat.... It was never consistent and I tried it on 2 different types of comcast cable and local DSL... auto assigning ip is the only way to get constant open nat with most routers)
What ISP Service do you have? Cable or DSL?-----(Comcast Cable)
What ISP Modem do you have? Stand Alone or built in router?-----(Stand alone Docsis 3.0 Arris cable Modem)
What ISP Modem make and model do you have? ----( already answered)
If this modem has a built in router, it's best to bridge the modem. Having 2 routers on the same line can cause connection problems.----- (already answered)

Let us know if you need more help. Were here for ya.  ;)
« Last Edit: October 24, 2011, 11:02:09 AM by SavageWolv »
Logged

FurryNutz

  • Poweruser
  •   ▲
    ▲ ▲
  • *****
  • Posts: 47844
  • D-Link Global Forum Moderator
    • Router Troubleshooting
Re: DIR-815 New firmware 1.01 is not XBOX LIVE compatible. What gives?
« Reply #3 on: October 24, 2011, 11:04:21 AM »

I have 3 xboxes running on my 825 using the information in the sticky and it works very well.
Setting up static IPs should be done on the router, NOT the boxes, leave them at Automatic.

Let us know if you need help. Maybe someone can use teamviewer.com and review your router settings with you.
Logged
Cable:200mb/10Mb>NetGear C7800>DIR-882>DGS-1100>HP 24pt Gb Switch. COVR-3902/2202/1203,DIR-2680,890L,882,880L,868L,DNR-202L,DNS-345x2,DCS-933L,936L and 960L.
Go Here>Router Troubleshooting

SavageWolv

  • Level 2 Member
  • **
  • Posts: 29
Re: DIR-815 New firmware 1.01 is not XBOX LIVE compatible. What gives?
« Reply #4 on: October 24, 2011, 11:08:37 AM »

If you dont setup the xboxes on static there is no way that it will know which IP to point to. I know that most of the time that the machine will grab the IP in auto most of the time but sometimes that can change. I'm very advanced in router config. I am just reporting a major issue with the firmware, no one should have to adjust a router that is label as xbox compatible outta the box.
Logged

FurryNutz

  • Poweruser
  •   ▲
    ▲ ▲
  • *****
  • Posts: 47844
  • D-Link Global Forum Moderator
    • Router Troubleshooting
Re: DIR-815 New firmware 1.01 is not XBOX LIVE compatible. What gives?
« Reply #5 on: October 24, 2011, 11:14:47 AM »

Ok man, just trying to help you out here. That sticky is proven and works well. There IS router set up that has to be done to effect XBL for gaming regardless of any router. Same goes with PSN gaming system.

Were offering the solution and free help here. IF your not willing to listen or take the advice then I would recommend you call Dlink and get help there.
Logged
Cable:200mb/10Mb>NetGear C7800>DIR-882>DGS-1100>HP 24pt Gb Switch. COVR-3902/2202/1203,DIR-2680,890L,882,880L,868L,DNR-202L,DNS-345x2,DCS-933L,936L and 960L.
Go Here>Router Troubleshooting

SavageWolv

  • Level 2 Member
  • **
  • Posts: 29
Re: DIR-815 New firmware 1.01 is not XBOX LIVE compatible. What gives?
« Reply #6 on: October 24, 2011, 12:01:39 PM »

This thread was meant to let DLink know that they are having issues with the newest firmware, I would like for them to fix this issue. I thank you for your help :) but Forwarding ports to a ip address that isnt static can change. No offence. :) I will look over the link you provided me but DLink NEEDS to get on the ball and fix these issues.

I do have a question, Is there a custom firmware ( I know it would void the warranty) but I would like to know if there is something out there that we could try?
Logged

FurryNutz

  • Poweruser
  •   ▲
    ▲ ▲
  • *****
  • Posts: 47844
  • D-Link Global Forum Moderator
    • Router Troubleshooting
Re: DIR-815 New firmware 1.01 is not XBOX LIVE compatible. What gives?
« Reply #7 on: October 24, 2011, 12:07:31 PM »

This is not a HW or FW issue or bug. This is a configuration issue and needs to be addressed on the router. The configurations listed in the sticky will get you online, Open NAT and gaming very well. I would recommend walking through the sticking and giving it a try. Others are using it and it works very well. I just set up a DIR-655 last Friday for another user here.

The other issues we have seen with routers is the fact that Arris modems have some incompatibility with external routers, specially if they have internal routers and also service VoIP. Yours does not seem to be the case here if you are sure that the ISP modem is stand alone only.

The solution is very easy and does have to be configured on the router for gaming to work. I would recommend giving it a try and if need be, We can help you out on Teamviewer.com.
Logged
Cable:200mb/10Mb>NetGear C7800>DIR-882>DGS-1100>HP 24pt Gb Switch. COVR-3902/2202/1203,DIR-2680,890L,882,880L,868L,DNR-202L,DNS-345x2,DCS-933L,936L and 960L.
Go Here>Router Troubleshooting

Hard Harry

  • Guest
Re: DIR-815 New firmware 1.01 is not XBOX LIVE compatible. What gives?
« Reply #8 on: October 24, 2011, 12:24:57 PM »

This thread was meant to let DLink know that they are having issues with the newest firmware, I would like for them to fix this issue.

If all you wanted to do is report, then that is done, and you can leave. Your talking to the closest thing these forums have to MODs. This forum isn't monitored by Dlink in any real way.

As for "not needing to adjust the router", no. Those labels are pure marketing, nothing more. Its like a printer that says "Vista compatible" Like all you have to do is plug it in and your done. You don't want to set static IP's on your LAN that are inside the routers DHCP range without DHCP reservation or else you will get IP conflicts.

Last, you never actually answered what model modem you have. The name of the modem isn't the model. I could say I have a D3 Motorola modem and there are like...4-5 modems it could be. Not that it really matters, since you don't want help, just saying for future reference.
Logged

FurryNutz

  • Poweruser
  •   ▲
    ▲ ▲
  • *****
  • Posts: 47844
  • D-Link Global Forum Moderator
    • Router Troubleshooting
Re: DIR-815 New firmware 1.01 is not XBOX LIVE compatible. What gives?
« Reply #9 on: October 24, 2011, 01:36:07 PM »

And to the person reporting "Rude Person". I do believe we are only stating facts and asking valid questions regarding the issue here. Be it blunt or tactfully. If some one is unwilling to try some of the suggestions for the issue, and not willing to provide the technical feed back to questions we present, then we can't help you to resolve the problems. We are here of our own accord and willing and motivated to help you and others out to gain a better experience with your router. This problem is easily solved however people seem to think they know more then others and are not willing to listen to others. Please call Dlink for help.

Help us help you.
Logged
Cable:200mb/10Mb>NetGear C7800>DIR-882>DGS-1100>HP 24pt Gb Switch. COVR-3902/2202/1203,DIR-2680,890L,882,880L,868L,DNR-202L,DNS-345x2,DCS-933L,936L and 960L.
Go Here>Router Troubleshooting

SavageWolv

  • Level 2 Member
  • **
  • Posts: 29
Re: DIR-815 New firmware 1.01 is not XBOX LIVE compatible. What gives?
« Reply #10 on: October 24, 2011, 01:47:58 PM »

On no way should anyone have to adjust settings like that inside a router to just get it to work with a simple service that is so popular like Xbox Live. Its the most used service out there. I had better luck with Belkin and I am going to take this back to the store and get a refund... Never again will I buy into a router because it states that its Compatible with a service that its REALLY NOT. Thanks for your time..
Logged

SavageWolv

  • Level 2 Member
  • **
  • Posts: 29
Re: DIR-815 New firmware 1.01 is not XBOX LIVE compatible. What gives?
« Reply #11 on: October 24, 2011, 01:49:22 PM »

And... I dont need anyones rude comments... The product speaks for itself. Worthless. Just like the 4300 was.
Logged

FurryNutz

  • Poweruser
  •   ▲
    ▲ ▲
  • *****
  • Posts: 47844
  • D-Link Global Forum Moderator
    • Router Troubleshooting
Re: DIR-815 New firmware 1.01 is not XBOX LIVE compatible. What gives?
« Reply #12 on: October 24, 2011, 01:57:25 PM »

Nobody need rude comments from users like you either. Regardless of what you think. All routers have this issue and needs configuration to work well on all gaming services. There are many factors and variables to make routers do everything that you want them to do. However the Mfrs give users the ability to customize and configure the routers in every way to work as needed. If you were a "Advanced Router Config" as you put it, then you would realize this and use the advanced and great features these routers have to offer. However dealing with you today and proved other wise. Your 4300 probably works great, just needs configuration. As I said before, I and everyone on her use the settings listed in the sticky and game very well, even with multiple consoles. Your unwilliness to listen and take action on suggestions presented to you does not help you or any one else. Good look in your new adventures with what ever router you get. You'll be missing out on what Dlink has to offer and can provide you. We enjoy ours. This issue is now considered a user configuration problem (PEBKAC) and not HW or FW related. This thread is now closed.

Update:
The problem was user configuration as the OP retracted statements and apologized and had me help him review the router configuration.

Also users need to update to the latest FW available. I've ran this model router with XBL and gaming and it works well for single gaming configurations.
« Last Edit: September 25, 2015, 07:23:49 AM by FurryNutz »
Logged
Cable:200mb/10Mb>NetGear C7800>DIR-882>DGS-1100>HP 24pt Gb Switch. COVR-3902/2202/1203,DIR-2680,890L,882,880L,868L,DNR-202L,DNS-345x2,DCS-933L,936L and 960L.
Go Here>Router Troubleshooting