• October 24, 2014, 10:33:08 PM
  • Welcome, Guest
Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

News:

This Forum Beta is ONLY for registered owners of D-Link products in which we have created boards at this time.

Author Topic: Setup DIR 652  (Read 2776 times)

amag98

  • Level 1 Member
  • *
  • Posts: 3
Setup DIR 652
« on: August 17, 2011, 12:43:57 AM »

Hi,
I'm as you can see new to setting up network and I suspect maybe I have bought the wrong equipment for what I would like to do :(. But before I go out and do new mistakes I would like to see if what I would like to do is possible and if it could be done with what I have... I have tried to search the net for solutions, but I haven't found anything useful (probably I don't know the correct search terms)...
I have a network coming in to my house via a Thomson TG784 with two ports occupied by television output and thus two ports left for data. One of these is connected to my stereo and one should be connected to my office on the second floor. The TG784 also have WiFi (let's call it WiFi1). In the office I would like to connect one stationary workstation, one NAS and from time to time a laptop, but I also need to extend the WiFi range. For this I bought a DIR-652 and it sort of works, but not as I would like, since the office network becomes a separate network (or subnet?) from the one on the first floor with the stereo and WiFi1, with a new WiFi net (WiFi2). I now can't connect the NAS to the stereo and when I use wireless devices it depends on which WiFi I am connected to if I can access the NAS or the Stereo (via AirPlay).
Is there a way to configure DIR-652 so that I get three new wired connections and an extended range of WiFi1 in my office on the same network (subnet?) as if it was connected directly to the TG784 (as if the TG784 would have had more wired ports and a stronger WiFi)? If so, please be as specific as possible on how to do it... If not, what equipment would I need to set it up the way I want it?
Best regards
Anders
Logged

FurryNutz

  • Poweruser
  •   ▲
    ▲ ▲
  • *****
  • Posts: 28192
  • D-Link Global Forum Moderator
    • New DGL-5500 Gaming Router with StreamBoost™ Technology
Re: Setup DIR 652
« Reply #1 on: August 17, 2011, 10:34:01 AM »

The DIR series of routers are mainly meant for stand alone router usage. The Thomson I presume has a built in router and wifi already. Having 2 routers on the same line can cause connection issues and wifi issues. If your looking to extend or relay WiFi, I would recommend getting extenders or relay access point devices vs routers as they are designed better for this application. It's preferred for those ISP modems that have built in routers to put them into a bridge mode, effectively turning off the router and wifi functions and let the external routers connected do all of the traffic management as these routers usually have more and better features then ISP modems. I would recommend that if you don't decided to do this to your modem, get a network switch to connect to the back end of the ISP modem, connect all devices to the switch and get a AP device to help extend the wifi signal. Dlink has a few of these.
Logged
Cable:50mb/3Mb>Motorola SB6180>DIR-868L>HP 24pt Gb Switch. 3x4500s,DGL-5500,DIR-857,835,827,815,880L,868L,865L,826L,810L,685,657,3x655,645,601,DNS-345,DCS-933L and a Boxee.
Go Here>Router Troubleshooting

amag98

  • Level 1 Member
  • *
  • Posts: 3
Re: Setup DIR 652
« Reply #2 on: August 18, 2011, 01:13:06 AM »

Thank's for the answer! It more or less verifies what I suspected... I don't think I would like to do too much with the ISP modem, since it handles the phone line and TV signals as well (if I break that my wife will not be happy...), so I think it is probably better to connect a switch and a AP. To minimize the new equipment, is there a way to configure DIR 652 so that it works either as a switch or a AP? Or is there a device that can work as both AP and switch?
Logged

Sammydad1

  • Level 5 Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 721
Re: Setup DIR 652
« Reply #3 on: August 18, 2011, 05:55:40 AM »

Forgive me, but what is the dir-652 ??
Logged
DIR-655 A2, FW: 1.35NA

JavaLawyer

  • Poweruser
  • Level 15 Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 11267
  • D-Link Global Forum Moderator
    • DNS-343
Re: Setup DIR 652
« Reply #4 on: August 18, 2011, 06:30:12 AM »

Forgive me, but what is the dir-652 ??

Wireless N Gigabit Home Router
Logged
Find answers here: D-Link ShareCenter FAQ I D-Link Network Camera FAQ
There's no such thing as too many backups

Sammydad1

  • Level 5 Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 721
Re: Setup DIR 652
« Reply #5 on: August 18, 2011, 06:46:54 AM »

Most important part of this thread... Do Not
Piss Off the Wife!!!
Logged
DIR-655 A2, FW: 1.35NA

FurryNutz

  • Poweruser
  •   ▲
    ▲ ▲
  • *****
  • Posts: 28192
  • D-Link Global Forum Moderator
    • New DGL-5500 Gaming Router with StreamBoost™ Technology
Re: Setup DIR 652
« Reply #6 on: August 18, 2011, 07:04:17 AM »

http://amplifi.dlink.com/products/DAP-1525

I see this has additional 4 ports on the back. This may or may not work for you depending on how much additional devices you need to connect. If you have a lot or only have a few however you think you might grow in the future, I would think about a stand alone switch to allow for growth.


I had a few people that have 651's and 652 routers some to this board since they are close in features and UI to the 655 and there isn't a specific forum for them. They were posting over on the 615 forum which wasn't getting watched much.
« Last Edit: August 18, 2011, 07:13:46 AM by FurryNutz »
Logged
Cable:50mb/3Mb>Motorola SB6180>DIR-868L>HP 24pt Gb Switch. 3x4500s,DGL-5500,DIR-857,835,827,815,880L,868L,865L,826L,810L,685,657,3x655,645,601,DNS-345,DCS-933L and a Boxee.
Go Here>Router Troubleshooting

amag98

  • Level 1 Member
  • *
  • Posts: 3
Re: Setup DIR 652
« Reply #7 on: August 19, 2011, 12:38:43 AM »

The DAP-1525 looks like the one I should have bought to begin with, I also like the design... If I understand this correctly it would take the WiFi signal from the primary router and boost it and also provide four wire connetions and everything will be on the same subnet, handled by the primary router? What about performance if the WiFi signal is a bit weak where I need to place the booster? One problem is also that I can't find anyone selling DAP-1525 in Sweden yet, but I suppose it will come soon.
Logged

FurryNutz

  • Poweruser
  •   ▲
    ▲ ▲
  • *****
  • Posts: 28192
  • D-Link Global Forum Moderator
    • New DGL-5500 Gaming Router with StreamBoost™ Technology
Re: Setup DIR 652
« Reply #8 on: August 19, 2011, 07:08:36 AM »

You'll need to probably refer to documentation on placement and distances from the main router. Yes it will take the main router signal and relay it and extend it out farther. Maybe you can buy online?
Logged
Cable:50mb/3Mb>Motorola SB6180>DIR-868L>HP 24pt Gb Switch. 3x4500s,DGL-5500,DIR-857,835,827,815,880L,868L,865L,826L,810L,685,657,3x655,645,601,DNS-345,DCS-933L and a Boxee.
Go Here>Router Troubleshooting